
darkkeepr |

I know Wizards have to prepare spells in slots and Wizards don't.
So when it comes to Metamagic feats, if I am reading these rules right I don't have to prepare a spell such as Magic Missle for example to use a metamagic feat or two so long as I know it. However since the casting time is 1 standard action it would instead be 1 fullround action for a sorcerer.
So am I right on this? That's the ups and downs of the metamagic feats basically.
So if the book says it would take a fullround to cast what is the difference with 1-round casting time? Fullround meaning I cast it on my next turn rather than on that same turn and than end my turn?
Sorry I am new playing a arcane user especially one with Metamagic feats.
Thank you for your time.
- D -

bbangerter |

1 round casting means you start casting on your turn, and continue casting until the beginning of your next turn. Spells with 1 round casting time are more susceptible to being interrupted as a result of this since any damage you take till the beginning of your next turn will result in a concentration check needed.
A spell which takes a full round to cast starts at the beginning of your turn and ends at the end of your turn in the same round.
And yes you've got it correct on metamagic feats for sorcerers (and other spontaneous casters).

Speaker for the Dead |

I assume you meant, "Wizards have to prepare spells in slots and Sorcerers don't." Yes
Note that you still have to expend a higher level spell slot as a sorcerer.
Fullround casting means that it's a full round action to cast. Normally a spell (depending on the spell) is a standard action to cast so you could move your base rate then cast the spell.

darkkeepr |

@Speaker, yeah Sorcerers. It's what I get for posting tired.
So what if my higher slots are filled already? What happens to the slot than? The Feat can't be applied? What also happens to the first level slot? Is it automatically freed up?
Also would it apply than for spells known for a sorcerer or spells per day being cast?
Sorry I read it wrong last night and misread it as the sorcerer doesn't use a slot just takes longer to cast.
So does this time penalty only apply to the sorcerer and not the Wizard.

Dasrak |

Also would it apply than for spells known for a sorcerer or spells per day being cast?
Metamagic has no effect on your sorcerer spells known. When you gain the "empower spell" feat, you gain the ability to spontaneously empower any spell you know. Very simple, no effect on the number of spells you can know.
You will use a higher level spell slot. So magic missile normally uses a 1st level spell slot, but when you use the empower metamagic it now uses a 3rd level spell slot.
So does this time penalty only apply to the sorcerer and not the Wizard.
Yes, but a wizard must prepare his metamagic at the start of the day. He must make the decision to apply metamagic to his spells at the time he memorizes them, using the higher adjusted spell level, and cannot change this decision afterwards.

Dasrak |

So does that mean I have to have a 3rd level spell slot free or not? Cause I do have a few spells that will be you using a 3rd level spell slot.
An empowered magic missile consumes a 3rd level spell slot instead of a 1st level spell slot. This does not preclude you from memorizing or casting magic missile without the empower metamagic with a 1st level spell slot.

Dasrak |

Let's demonstrate this with an example:
Let's presume a 6th level Sorcerer with 20 charisma. This character knows one 3rd level spell, and can cast four 3rd level spells per day. For the sake of argument, let's presume his 3rd level spell known is fireball.
He can choose to cast four fireballs in a day. Or he can cast three fireballs and one empowered magic missile. Or he can choose to cast two of each. Or he can choose to cast two fireballs, one empowered magic missile, and one empowered burning hands.