Attack Instead of Move Action?


Beginner Box


I was just looking over the character sheet for the Valeros and noticed the section that says "What you can do on your turn."

I noticed that you can do one standard action (attack, move, or use a magic item), one move action (move...), and one free action.

So, if a character can move as a standard action... Can a character attack as a move action? If not, why not?

Thanks.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

No. Standard actions are not replaceable with a move action. Think of it like this, the standard action has a higher value than a move action. You can replace the standard action with a second move action because it costs less, but not vice versa.


OK. Thanks.

That helps.


A standard action takes more effort and time than a move action. That's why they're differentiated. If each could replace the other, the rules would just say "You can take two actions on your turn."


Thank you.

I'm glad that's the answer.

Liberty's Edge

I don't know what limits are in the Beginners Box rules compared to the Core Rules. But you can do a full attack if you don't move (or just take a 5' step). This means that if you are able to attack multiple times in a round because of your level you can actually do that instead of just attacking once.


Beginner box rules intentionally don't get to the level where anyone has iterative attacks. I don't remember if it has two-weapon fighting, though.


If move actions could be used for attacks, everyone could attack twice at 1st level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Paizo Products / Beginner Box / Attack Instead of Move Action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Beginner Box