Does my wizard need to do a roll if she writes scrolls?


Rules Questions


So I told my wizard that if she doesn't want to run out of spells in dungeons she needs to start writing scrolls. I assume this is how wizards deal with long dungeon journeys. I understand the cost of scrolls, etc.

Only question is, is there a special roll to see if one work? It seems a bit complicated.

Grand Lodge

Collin S. wrote:

So I told my wizard that if she doesn't want to run out of spells in dungeons she needs to start writing scrolls. I assume this is how wizards deal with long dungeon journeys. I understand the cost of scrolls, etc.

Only question is, is there a special roll to see if one work? It seems a bit complicated.

If a wizard uses a scroll of a spell that's beyond her caster level, i.e. a 3rd level wizard using a 10th level scroll of Fireball, she needs to make a caster level check to see if it works. The DC being the caster level of the scroll itself.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

However, seeing as your wizard is going to write scrolls for her own use at a later time, she will be able to use them without making any check. You're basically saying, I have some down time today and spells I can cast. I'm going to write these down so I can use them on another day when I have a lot more going on.

Grand Lodge

Just keep in mind that while you are in the wilderness or are adventuring your effective "down time" is halved. And that only factors in time in which you're not marching or exploring.


A wizard using the scrolls she creates wouldn't require any rolls to activate, as she would meet the requirements. (caster level, have the spell on her list, and an ability score high enough to cast it)

Scribing them in the first place, however, does require a roll. Its either a Spellcraft, Profession (Scribe), or Craft (Calligraphy) check against a DC of 5 + the scrolls caster level.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It should be noted, though, that if you're in a situation where you can craft, you're in a situation where you can take 10 on the craft roll. So for scribing scrolls, so it's entirely likely an actual roll is unnecessary.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

@MacGurcules : +1

For scrolls, the roll to create is almost always an autosuccess (the exception being maybe the creation of a scroll with several metamagic feats the caster does not have, as it increase the difficulty of the test by +5 for each feat the caster does not possess).


Also remember (this is forgotten by alot of people) that you can only make one magic item a day no matter how much time it takes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does my wizard need to do a roll if she writes scrolls? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.