Critcal on a multi-round spell


Rules Questions


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So I've looked around and I can't find any clarification on how crits work for multi-round spells.

My concern is for spells like Corrosive consumption, which does damage as follows:
On the first round, the acid deals 1 point of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15). On the second round, the acid patch grows and deals 1d4 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d4). On the third and final round, the acid patch covers the entire creature and deals 1d6 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d6)

If this spell were to crit, would all 3 rounds do double damage? Or just the first?
If it is all 3 rounds, would that also work with the extend metamagic, to all six rounds?

~Atra

Liberty's Edge

Atracious wrote:

So I've looked around and I can't find any clarification on how crits work for multi-round spells.

My concern is for spells like Corrosive consumption, which does damage as follows:
On the first round, the acid deals 1 point of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15). On the second round, the acid patch grows and deals 1d4 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d4). On the third and final round, the acid patch covers the entire creature and deals 1d6 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d6)

If this spell were to crit, would all 3 rounds do double damage? Or just the first?
If it is all 3 rounds, would that also work with the extend metamagic, to all six rounds?

~Atra

From the core rulebook:

Quote:
Exception: Precision damage (such as from a rogue's sneak attack class feature) and additional damage dice from special weapon qualities (such as flaming) are not multiplied when you score a critical hit.

Based on this exception, our group has always treated successive-round damage as "additional damage dice" and not allowed it to be multiplied on a critical hit.


My reading of the rules does not suggest that this exception applies. This is neither precision damage or a special weapon quality. Thus it would follow the general rule of rolling damage twice and adding together. I don't see any turn limitations; rather, I believe it to be implied that it is the attack that is multiplied. For your corrosive consumption example, all 3 rounds of damage would be rolled twice.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Atracious wrote:

So I've looked around and I can't find any clarification on how crits work for multi-round spells.

My concern is for spells like Corrosive consumption, which does damage as follows:
On the first round, the acid deals 1 point of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15). On the second round, the acid patch grows and deals 1d4 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d4). On the third and final round, the acid patch covers the entire creature and deals 1d6 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d6)

If this spell were to crit, would all 3 rounds do double damage? Or just the first?
If it is all 3 rounds, would that also work with the extend metamagic, to all six rounds?

~Atra

Extend metamagic brings up another good point with corrosive consumption, how much damage would be done on the 4th, 5th and 6th turns? As a gm I would rule that since it's drawing out the spell it would instead do 1/level the first two turns, 1d4/level the second two and 1d6/level on the third turn, but I'd like an actual ruling if possible.

Also, FAQing this because pretty soon the magus in my players will be high enough to use corrosive consumption and he crits on about a fourth of his spells.


DRedSand wrote:
Atracious wrote:

So I've looked around and I can't find any clarification on how crits work for multi-round spells.

My concern is for spells like Corrosive consumption, which does damage as follows:
On the first round, the acid deals 1 point of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15). On the second round, the acid patch grows and deals 1d4 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d4). On the third and final round, the acid patch covers the entire creature and deals 1d6 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d6)

If this spell were to crit, would all 3 rounds do double damage? Or just the first?
If it is all 3 rounds, would that also work with the extend metamagic, to all six rounds?

~Atra

Extend metamagic brings up another good point with corrosive consumption, how much damage would be done on the 4th, 5th and 6th turns? As a gm I would rule that since it's drawing out the spell it would instead do 1/level the first two turns, 1d4/level the second two and 1d6/level on the third turn, but I'd like an actual ruling if possible.

Also, FAQing this because pretty soon the magus in my players will be high enough to use corrosive consumption and he crits on about a fourth of his spells.

I'm not asking about what the damage would be on an extended C.C. there is a separate thread for that, I simply want to know whether they would be doubled by a crit.

thread:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2mkyq?Corrosive-Consumption-Extend-Spell-How-do


The general rule in this case is that everytyhing crits. If there's no specific rule to override that (and I don't believe the rule quoted above applies here) then everything crits.


My take is that since no attack roll is being made in subsequent rounds then you do not have the opportunity to critical on those rounds. Ie: A crit can only occur for the damage directly related to an attack roll (that round).

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Critcal on a multi-round spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.