Brawler No Escape with Step Up & Strike stack


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Is SUaS considered an AoO, or does it just use one of your AoO for the round?

Since only one AoO can be provoked from any single action, would a brawler be able to take his AoO from

No Escape:
No Escape (Ex): At 9th level, taking a 5-foot step out of
the area of a brawler’s menacing stance or moving out of
the area of a brawler’s menacing stance with a withdraw
action provokes an attack of opportunity from the brawler.
This ability replaces weapon training 3 and 4.
and then follow it up with the attack from
Step Up & Strike:
Benefit: When using the Step Up or Following Step feats
to follow an adjacent foe, you may also make a single melee
attack against that foe at your highest base attack bonus.
This attack counts as one of your attacks of opportunity
for the round. Using this feat does not count toward the
number of actions you can usually take each round.

I keep going back and forth with my self on this one and would like some more opinions.


I like this answerof Indrajit from the last thread about this issue

"Hmm, maybe I’m wrong here, but this is the way I’d rule it. They provoke once for moving out of your space for one attack (specifically an AoO). Step Up/Following Step allows you to follow them after they have moved, and Step Up and Strike grants you an attack for performing the action laid out in the prior feat(s). I’d say it is two separate, yet related, triggers to begin with (first trigger: them moving away, second trigger: you following), but beyond that, the second attack doesn't appear to be an AoO to begin with. From a strict reading of the feat, the attack from Step Up and Strike isn't called out as an AoO, although the feat counts it as one for the purposes of AoOs taken."

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pdgv?How-do-menacing-stance-and-no-scape-work# 1

Grand Lodge

Well I guess their search function doesn't look in quoted strings. Because that thread never came up when I searched.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Brawler No Escape with Step Up & Strike stack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions