| havok hiro |
My character has a giant frog animal companion. I had a few questions that I needed clarifaction on before we start to play. 1) Does the frog get a -20 cmd if the creature he grabbed is not adjacent to him? 2) Does the frog have the option to pull the creature straight to him (as per grab) or does he have to pull him 5 ft at a time with pull? 3) Can he use the tounge as an aoo to grapple? 4) If the crature is more then 5 ft from the frog can the grappled creature attack the tongue, if so would it have the same ac? Sorry for all of the questions I would rather figure it out now then tie up the game. Thanks
| Are |
1. No.
(The -20 penalty is only for conducting a grapple without gaining the grappled condition, which the tongue ability specifically says it doesn't gain. If the frog grapples with the bite, then it would have to take a -20 penalty if it doesn't want to gain the grappled condition. There are few situations where that would be beneficial, though.)
2. I believe so. The ability to grab and the ability to pull are separate.
3. Yes.
4. No.
| Grick |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
1) Does the frog get a -20 cmd if the creature he grabbed is not adjacent to him?
No. I assume you're thinking of the 'hold' option, which imposes a -20 penalty on the CMB check to make and maintain a grapple. Tongue (Ex) does not cause the giant frog to gain the grappled condition, so you don't really have any reason to use the 'hold' option.
2) Does the frog have the option to pull the creature straight to him (as per grab) or does he have to pull him 5 ft at a time with pull?
It's not an option, it just happens as part of a grapple.
Grapple: "If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)."
3) Can he use the tounge as an aoo to grapple?
Giant Frog: "Reach 5 ft. (15 ft. with tongue)"
"Tongue (Ex) A giant frog's tongue is a primary attack with reach equal to three times the frog's normal reach (15 feet for a Medium giant frog). A giant frog's tongue deals no damage on a hit, but can be used to grab. A giant frog does not gain the grappled condition while using its tongue in this manner."
It's a primary attack (natural weapon) with 15' reach. It does threaten that space, since it can make a melee attack into that space. If he hits with the AoO, Grab will trigger.
However, the Grab ability allows you to start a grapple as a free action, and since you cannot normally take free actions outside your turn, some GMs may rule that you cannot Grab as part of an AoO taken outside your turn. (Others may rule that since the Grab is granted from making the attack, that it specifically grants you the free action, regardless of when the attack is made)
4) If the crature is more then 5 ft from the frog can the grappled creature attack the tongue, if so would it have the same ac?
You cannot target the limbs or weapons of a creature unless you are able to reach the creature itself. (Barring a few rare feats/abilities) That said, if the creature is grappled, it's automatically moved to an adjacent space, so it's unlikely to come up.
| BaconBastard |
Lakesidefantasy wrote:Can you sunder the tongue?Sunder: "You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent..."
I imagine that you would be able to sunder the tongue when you consider that you can sunder a hydra's heads (at least I believe that's how it works).