dehydrating touch


Rules Questions


why is there no save for tis instant kill ability? am i too take it that the developers intended for a sorcere to be able too kill something above their cr in one hit? true strike + mirror image and i one shot a treant at level 3?

Shadow Lodge

So Everyone knows what we are talking about:

prd wrote:
Dehydrating Touch (Sp): Starting at 1st level, you can make a melee touch attack as a standard action that inflicts 1d6 points of nonlethal damage + 1 for every two sorcerer levels you possess and sickens the target for 1 round. Oozes, plants, and creatures with the aquatic or water subtypes suffer lethal damage instead. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier.

How is this a instant kill? At first level it deals 1d6 non-lethal to regular creatures and 1d6 lethal to Oozes, plants, and creatures with the aquatic or water subtypes. A Treat has 114 hitpoints. You could use all 7 of your uses per day (assuming 18 cha) and deal at most 42 points of lethal damage to it.


It deals 1d6 nonlethal per turn until the target can eat or drink. So there could be situations in which it kills someone.
And the specialty about this ability: If someone drops unconcious from this nonlethal it is nearly over because being unconcious keeps him from eating/drinking.


where does it say per turn?


never mind i am such atool and misread that. just woke up and decided lethal meant insta kill

Shadow Lodge

Yeah, we have all been there. Its all good.


IejirIsk wrote:

where does it say per turn?

I mixed it up with this ability:

wasting ray:

At 1st level, as a standard action, you can impose either starvation or thirst upon a living creature you can see within 30 feet. This requires the creature to make a Constitution check each round (DC 10 + 1 for each previous check) to avoid taking 1d6 points of nonlethal damage. The creature must continue to make these checks until, as a full-round action, it quenches its thirst or sates its hunger (see starvation and thirst). You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier, but can only apply it once every 24 hours to any given creature. Creatures that do not need to eat are immune to this effect.


that... is rather rude...

does that actually function as starve/thirst?


I guess so. Situational but rather strong for a first level ability. Hit someone on the street with it and he will most likely die before he manages to get something to eat or drink (except high level guys or those alwasy packing lunch when they go for a walk)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / dehydrating touch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.