Magus question


Advice


I was reading some of the abilities, and I understand that spell combat does not work with a 2H weapon. But there is no such restriction listed for spell strike. Does this mean that you may, in fact, use spell strike with a 2H weapon? Thank you in advance.


You can totally "hold" the 2HW in one hand cast the spell then re-grip it to a "wield" with both hands when you attack


from how i interpreted it, yes you can, but you will only get one attack that round, as performing a spellstrike takes up your standard action

so when your BAB gets to +6 and beyond you will lose out on extra attacks, before then its superior to using a one handed weapon


Well at level 2 you can get two attacks with spell combat, so I guess only at level 1 is this a good idea?


you can use spellstrike with a 2 handed weapon, but you can't spell combat without a free hand. So can cast a touch spell in the first round and hold the charge, then in a later round swing with your spell charged 2H weapon. An easier way to do it is just wield a one-handed weapon and use two hands on it whenever you're not casting (via spell combat or otherwise).


A lot of people get this confused.

All Spell Strike allows you to do is deliver touch spells with a weapon. That's it.

If you want to attack and cast a spell all in the same round you have to use spell combat. If you want to use a weapon to relieve that spell you just cast, you can sub in a weapon attack, instead of a touch attack, with Spell Strike.

Want to repeat this, as a lot of people get this wrong.
Spell Strike only allows you to deliver touch spells with a weapon. Nothing else. No where in it's description does it say anything about casting spells. If you want to attack and cast a spell in the same round, you have to use spell combat. If that spell you cast is a touch spell, you can then use spell strike to deliver that spell with a weapon.


I want to use a reach weapon though. Cuts down on some of the squishiness.


then you might want to take 2 levels of alchemist for vestigal arm, or a level of synthesist summoner


Cast Enlarge on yourself. :-)

I think every reach weapon requires 2hands to wield. So if using a reach weapon you can't spell combat. Which is the bread and butter of the magus class.


Another choice is picking up the hair hex from a magus archetype. Not sure how that works but a number of people on the forums think it's very good.


Darigaaz the Igniter wrote:
then you might want to take 2 levels of alchemist for vestigal arm, or a level of synthesist summoner

Does that actually work? I know I'd let it work in my games, but I've seen a lot of people claim the following quote outright forbids a two-handed weapon even if the Magus has a completely free hand.

Spell Combat wrote:
while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand.


Matt2VK wrote:

Cast Enlarge on yourself. :-)

I think every reach weapon requires 2hands to wield. So if using a reach weapon you can't spell combat. Which is the bread and butter of the magus class.

Whip. One hand. Reach.

Need a feat (or a level of bard) for the proficiency? Sure.

Damage? Nothing on pretty much all two-handed martial weapons.

I guess you have to decide how much you want the one-handed reach weapon?


Or you could be a hobgoblin - gets Whip prof for free...


If 3rd party material is an option, Shaft and Shield would do the trick. (Note that while the feat was designed primarily for hoplite types with spear and shield, the actual feat itself has nothing to do with shields directly.

Shadow Lodge

Matt2VK wrote:

A lot of people get this confused.

All Spell Strike allows you to do is deliver touch spells with a weapon. That's it.

If you want to attack and cast a spell all in the same round you have to use spell combat.

this is actually wrong, the description of "touch spells" says you may "touch" the target as a free action.

spell strike says "At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell"

so a magus may ...
* cast a spell
* move up to the target
* use spell strike to get a free attack with the weapon
* if the attack fails the spell is not wasted

this allows for a very unique barbarian type of character. i loved playing my 2 handed magus, although 10d6 + 1.5 strength + power attack at level 5 didnt make my gm very happy.


Unless you cast the spell in a previous round, I'm pretty sure that doesn't work. You can touch (or in a Magus' case, smack) an opponent as part of casting a touch spell, but if you're casting it and THEN moving, I'm relatively sure you can no longer make that free touch/attack.

On the following round you could go ahead and full attack with the first swing to hit delivering the spell though.

EDIT: with the possible exception of a 5ft step, you could probably insert a 5ft step between the casting and the free touch/smack.

Shadow Lodge

yes you can. if you read the touch spell section of the CRB, all those rules still apply the only thing that spell strike does is " allows you to make a free attack with the weapon instead"

i bolded the important section, if you choose not to believe me then that your choice.

oh actually here is a link for you that squashes this disagreement.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/magus


Huh, you're right.

"In the same round that you cast the spell" is how it reads, which lets you Cast -> Move -> Touch/Smack.

I always remembered it as something along the lines of "As part of casting the spell" but apparently I've been mistaken.

Shadow Lodge

in 3.5 it was like that if im remembering correctly.

it was cast then immediately touch or you have to use a standard on your next turn which also provoked an AOO.


Bigtuna wrote:
Or you could be a hobgoblin - gets Whip prof for free...

Yeah... but then you have to play a hobgoblin, and take all that entails.

I'm not knocking the whip option. Basically it subs in for a cheap Reach Metamagic feat, only you can start using it at level one. Opens up the possibility of tons of Whip feats (mastery, disarm, trip), but that'll end up being a heavy feat tax on poor feat-starved Magus. You'll probably want those slots for things like Combat Casting, Spell Focus, Toughness, etc.

But, if your thing is a high-dex finesse Magus, the whip might help keep your enemies at arm's length until the armor goodies start to kick in.


So I can use spell strike, just not spell combat?


HAs an official faq come out on the 2h matter? because i personally still hold to the fact that specifying that you must cast before or after your attack sequence has no purpose other than letting you fight while 2hing. In addition, one of the magus archetype uses spell combat with a bow, witch is widely known as being a 2h weapon.


That Archetype changes how Spellstrike works, normally it has to be a one handed melee weapon.


Byrdology wrote:
So I can use spell strike, just not spell combat?

Spell Combat is a Full Round action. This full round action allows you to make your normal, full BAB attacks at a -2 to hit. Cast a spell and if this spell requires a to hit roll, you make that roll at a -2 to hit. Plus take a 5 foot step using the 5 foot step rule.

Requirements: Use a light or one handed weapon and one hand free for a whole round, ie. you need a free hand till the start of your next turn.

where this gets confusing is if you have multiple limbs.

Spell Strike: Allows you to deliver a Touch Spell with a melee weapon attack. Doing melee weapon damage with the melee threat range, plus spell effect. If that Touch spell has multiple charges, whenever you hit with the melee weapon, a charge goes off.


can you realy cast a spell with a 2handed weapon in one hand? if so it would be nice up to lvl 6 because when you get your second attack spellcombat just becomes to powerfull.

what some forget is that is you use spellstrike with you free touch atack from your spell is that you can still miss! if so your next attack can stil deliver the spell. and at lvl 6 thats 2 attacks. Losing 2 atacks to just use a 2hander is absurd!


Darkflame wrote:
can you realy cast a spell with a 2handed weapon in one hand?

You can but you can not use spell combat while holding that 2handed weapon. As spell combat has a requirement of light or 1handed weapon only.

There are some exceptions to this rule. Most exceptions have to do with different magus archetypes.


joeyfixit wrote:
Bigtuna wrote:
Or you could be a hobgoblin - gets Whip prof for free...

Yeah... but then you have to play a hobgoblin, and take all that entails.

You can do half-orc, there is an alternate racial for that. With 1/2orc you can put your stat into STR rather than DEX.

TheSideKick wrote:

in 3.5 it was like that if im remembering correctly.

it was cast then immediately touch or you have to use a standard on your next turn which also provoked an AOO.

No, the wording is exactly the same I believe.

You can even take the free action in the middle of your move..

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Magus question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice