| Oladon |
(Note: quote "authors" are links to the original text.)
You can make a bull rush as a standard action or as part of a charge, in place of the melee attack. You can only bull rush an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. A bull rush attempts to push an opponent straight back without doing any harm. If you do not have the Improved Bull Rush feat, or a similar ability, initiating a bull rush provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver.
If your attack is successful, your target is pushed back 5 feet. For every 5 by which your attack exceeds your opponent's CMD you can push the target back an additional 5 feet. You can move with the target if you wish but you must have the available movement to do so. If your attack fails, your movement ends in front of the target.
An enemy being moved by a bull rush does not provoke an attack of opportunity because of the movement unless you possess the Greater Bull Rush feat. You cannot bull rush a creature into a square that is occupied by a solid object or obstacle. If there is another creature in the way of your bull rush, you must immediately make a combat maneuver check to bull rush that creature. You take a –4 penalty on this check for each creature being pushed beyond the first. If you are successful, you can continue to push the creatures a distance equal to the lesser result. For example, if a fighter bull rushes a goblin for a total of 15 feet, but there is another goblin 5 feet behind the first, he must make another combat maneuver check against the second goblin after having pushed the first 5 feet. If his check reveals that he can push the second goblin a total of 20 feet, he can continue to push both goblins another 10 feet (since the first goblin will have moved a total of 15 feet).
(Emphasis mine.) Clearly you have to be within melee range in order to attempt a bull rush. However, there are ways of making melee attacks without being adjacent to the target; namely, via reach (whether natural or with a reach weapon).
Disarm, sunder, and trip are normally the only kinds of combat maneuvers in which you’re actually using a weapon (natural weapons and unarmed strikes are considered weapons for this purpose) to perform the maneuver...
For other maneuvers, either you’re not using a weapon at all, or the weapon is incidental to making the maneuver and its bonuses shouldn’t make you better at attempting the maneuver...
Additionally, the polearm master fighter archetype (Advanced Player’s Guide 106) has an ability called sweeping fend that allows the fighter to use any spear or polearm to make bull rush or trip maneuvers. For the bull rush, this is a specific exception that overrides the general rule of "weapon bonuses don’t apply on bull rushes."
(Emphasis in original.)
Can you bull rush with reach? Nowhere (that I can find) does it say that you have to be adjacent, yet it's called out as one of the maneuvers that doesn't normally use a weapon (whether natural or manufactured). At the same time, it's in place of the melee attack (on a charge or standard action)...
Is this one of the cases where the weapon is just incidental to making the maneuver? I can sortof see that -- if you're trying to chase someone backward by waving your longaxe at them, it's not going to make a difference whether it's a super-sharp axe or just a sharp axe. I can see this interpretation.
However, the wording of the clarification about the Polearm Master archetype's ability seems to indicate that you normally can't use a weapon to perform a bull rush (in which case you'd have to be adjacent). At the same time, the second sentence seems to indicate that you can use a weapon for a bull rush, you just don't apply the bonuses.
Could someone point me to any arguments I'm missing either way, or a ruling if there has been one?
Edit: I realized that I neglected to mention the Dwarven Boulder Helmet (ARG).
This heavy, reinforced helmet can be used to make melee attacks. The wearer may also use the helmet when attempting bull rush maneuvers, granting a +2 circumstance bonus on the check, but after completing the maneuver (whether successful or not), the wearer is staggered until the end of his next turn... It occupies the head slot and is made of metal, not stone, meaning that it can be crafted from unusual materials as a metal weapon. A dwarven boulder helmet can be enchanted as a weapon (not as armor, despite providing some protection).
Here we have a weapon that can be used with bull rush. However, does this provide:
a) a specific precedent for a weapon being used with bull rush, OR
b) a specific allowance, showing that normally weapons can't be used with bull rush?
Nightskies
|
This statement "If your attack fails, your movement ends in front of the target." presupposes a single condition.... In order to perform a bull-rush you must enter the target's square.
No. Any creature with reach does not need to move up to a creature to bull rush it.
You do not have to enter the target's square to initiate a bull rush. When adjacent to the opponent, no movement is required. Likewise, an ogre does not have to move adjacent to a creature to grapple it, but they must become adjacent when grappled. Using the Polearm Master's Sweeping Fend, you can use bull rush at reach with a spear or pole arm with reach. You cannot use such a weapon against an adjacent opponent except as an improvised weapon. The line "If your attack fails, your movement ends in front of the target", suggests you can bull rush when not adjacent, as upon a failure you do have to move up to them.
Nightskies
|
Fixed, and regarding the edited questions... it is defiantly not a precedent, but a specific quality of the helmet, like many other weapons possess. The ruling that a +5 sap applies to a dirty trick maneuver to hit a sensitive spot is a precedent. As written, it does not suggest the helmet has the bull rush special weapon quality, which does not exist, suggesting it only gets the +2 circumstance bonus. But because of this important blog post, in its precedence, this seems to be an instance where the DM should adjudicate a +1 helmet should give a +1 enhancement bonus on the bull rush in addition to the circumstance bonus. It specifically says the helmet is used, and is not incidental at all to the bull rush.
For the polearm master, if the use of the weapon is entirely incidental, then the Sweeping Fend effectively does nothing for the polearm master with regard to bull rushes. As written, it does not suggest the use of the weapon is incidental at all. This seems another instance where the weapon gains a phantom bull rush special weapon quality.
IMO, the polearm master archetype is weak enough as is, this ability does not need to be interpreted as non-functional.
| thundercade |
I would rule it like this:
A bull rush is pushing someone back, so you need to be close enough to initiate that type of thing. I would say, a medium size PC needs to be adjacent to do this. Bull rush doesn't require a weapon, but can be done while holding one. Beyond that, it doesn't involve the weapon at all.
So, you need to be adjacent to Bull Rush IMO. If you happen to be holding a weapon that you couldn't make a melee attack with from that square, it doesn't really matter - you could make a melee attack from the adjacent square, just not with the reach weapon. I think this was the intent of the "instead of a melee attack" language - just to make it clear that you're not melee attacking AND bull rushing on your action (and therefore no weapon damage, etc.).
| StreamOfTheSky |
You can't normally make a bull rush with a weapon. Barbarian's Knockback rage power and some other things would allow you to, in which case you could bull rush from reach.
Note in PF, you do not even have to move with the foe to move them more than 5 ft; in D&D 3E you had to move with them generally, though some options (like the Knockback feat) had you stay in place.
| Oladon |
That's how I read Knockback as well, but let's look at it:
Benefit: Once per round, the barbarian can make a bull rush attempt against one target in place of a melee attack. If successful, the target takes damage equal to the barbarian's Strength modifier and is moved back as normal. The barbarian does not need to move with the target if successful. This does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
Doesn't say anything about using a weapon... which leads me to believe you either can use a weapon regularly, or you can't use one regularly and you can't use one with Knockback either.
| Ravingdork |
If you're using natural reach, wouldn't that be an unarmed strike (a weapon) with reach?
Nope. It would be a bull rush. Like all melee attacks, you can make combat maneuvers against anyone within your threatened squares. If you were a troll, for example, you could attempt a grapple from ten feet away, and not even provoke an attack of opportunity if you were not also in their threatened squares.
To my knowledge, there is nothing in the rules that changes or prohibits this.
After all, a bull rush doesn't necessarily mean "shoulder rush" or "full body tackle." It could just as easily be represented by a simple shove with one's hands.
Moving with the target is totally optional.
| Oladon |
Like all melee attacks, you can make combat maneuvers against anyone within your threatened squares.
... except squares you threaten with a weapon?
After all, a bull rush doesn't necessarily mean "shoulder rush" or "full body tackle." It could just as easily be represented by a simple shove with one's hands.
If it's a shove with the hands, how would that not count as using your unarmed strike "weapon"?
Moving with the target is totally optional.
Not sure why you brought this up, as it was never in question.
| DeltaOneG |
When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver.
As you are not using the weapon for the bull rush you do not get the bonus of reach.
If you're just big your reach would fall under 'any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects'. It wouldn't be a bonus from the unarmed strike weapon, but a base bonus. (racial, size, similar to base attack bonus.)
At least that's how I read it.
Mind you, "Base attack" isn't a thing that I'm aware of so it's not a RAW by any means.
I guess what I mean is natural reach is incorporated into Base Attack and should be applied at anything a BAB is applied to.
| Ravingdork |
Ravingdork wrote:Like all melee attacks, you can make combat maneuvers against anyone within your threatened squares.... except squares you threaten with a weapon?
Are you really alluding that you cannot perform a combat maneuver against someone within your reach?
Nightskies
|
In fact, you shouldn't be able to use a weapon with reach to make a bull rush against an adjacent opponent (if not for the polearm master's other abilities), while using the Sweeping Fend ability. Weapons with reach normally can't be used against adjacent opponents, though the Polearm Master can with a -2 penalty.
Am I the only one finding it entirely nonsensical to use a polearm or spear to bull rush with and incur a -4 penalty and gain nothing for it? Which would be further penalized to -6 for using a reach weapon against the adjacent opponent? (@13th, the polearm master gets a -2 to using a reach weapon against adjacent opponents, if the SRD is accurate.)
"At 13th level, a polearm master can use any spear or polearm to make bull rush maneuvers, though he takes a –4 penalty on combat maneuver checks when making such attempts."
| M_78 |
I can see atleast one historical example of using a weapon to "Bull Rush an opponent, The Joust. You are Forbidden to strike an opponent with anything other than your lance, and so the weapon MUST be used. It is a Weapon and I should think that a magical or Masterwork Lance would be better at hitting no matter what type of attack it is used to make.
Bull Rush is simply a non-damaging Attack. The Lance has reach. Why would you require a Mounted Knight to be adjacent to his opponent in order to use a weapon to strike him, and cause a bull rush, that mechanically can not be used when adjacent to said opponent?
| Bran Towerfall |
i would like to use my reach weapon to bullrush an opponent. i also have the possibility to use the reposistion combat manuever at reach because my weapon(fauchard) has the trip property. paizo faq that trip weapons can be used to reposition and drag. i also took the feat pushing assault to knock back an enemy on a power attack by giving up power attack added damage.
it seems like all these options are replacing damage with the desired effect of pushing an enemy back. i'm not sure why it would be deemed op to push someone 5ft back causing no damage. polearm fighter is lukewarm for reach fight builds. i think there is more options out there.
| thorin001 |
Performing a Combat Maneuver
When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action. Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver. If your target is immobilized, unconscious, or otherwise incapacitated, your maneuver automatically succeeds (treat as if you rolled a natural 20 on the attack roll). If your target is stunned, you receive a +4 bonus on your attack roll to perform a combat maneuver against it.
When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver. The DC of this maneuver is your target's Combat Maneuver Defense. Combat maneuvers are attack rolls, so you must roll for concealment and take any other penalties that would normally apply to an attack roll.
Note that the use of weapons in combat maneuvers is explicitly allowed. There is nothing in Bull Rush that disallows weapon use. Nor is there anything that states you must be adjacent to your target. In fact Shield Slam requires the use of a weapon and nowhere does it state that Bull Rushing with the shield is an exception to the rules, only that you get a free attempt that does not provoke an AOO.
The blog post says normally, thus stating that exceptions to the Disarm, Sunder, and Trip only for weapons exist. And that was written before the Dirty Tricks maneuver complicated things.
| thorin001 |
Oladon wrote:Are you really alluding that you cannot perform a combat maneuver against someone within your reach?Ravingdork wrote:Like all melee attacks, you can make combat maneuvers against anyone within your threatened squares.... except squares you threaten with a weapon?
No, you are.
| Bran Towerfall |
so with my 3 options of moving an enemy away from frontline:
bullrush
repositioning
pushing assault feat
what makes the most sense with a trip weapon? repositioning can be done with a reach trip weapon and states that the last 5ft of your moving enemy can be adjacent to your actual reach. seems even better than bullrush and since you can do it at reach, you could forget or hold off on getting improved reposistion feat.bullrush says you dont have to move with enemy so is'nt that the same?
i think i took pushing assault just because i was worried table gms would not allow reach weapon based bullrush. my current gm allows dirty tricks with reach weapons but shrugged when bullrush was suggested. either way i think i'm covered
pH unbalanced
|
The other advantage to Reposition is that you can reposition in any direction, not only straight back.
No one has mentioned yet that Foehammers of the appropriate level may make a free Bull Rush when they attack with a hammer. So a Foehammer using a Dwarven Longhammer can most definitely Bull Rush with reach.
| Bran Towerfall |
The other advantage to Reposition is that you can reposition in any direction, not only straight back.
No one has mentioned yet that Foehammers of the appropriate level may make a free Bull Rush when they attack with a hammer. So a Foehammer using a Dwarven Longhammer can most definitely Bull Rush with reach.
so between dwarf boulder helmet and foehammer they establish bullrush at reach
nice one