Can you Bullrush a prone target?


Rules Questions


Title says it all. When my Maneuver Master monk picks up Greater Bullrush to go with Improved Ki Throw, she'd love to be able to trip an opponent, then play shuffleboard with it past all her martial allies, giving them AoOs against a prone target. Nothing in the prone condition gives immunity to bullrushing, but I'm having trouble with the visual. In my mind, bullrushing is knocking a person off balance so they back up a few (or more) steps, not the above-mentioned shuffleboard metaphor. Maybe 1d4 points of dungeon-burn damage?

For that matter, being prone inflicts a -4 penalty to AC versus melee attacks. A lot of penalties to AC also apply to CMD.


Nazard wrote:
Can you Bullrush a prone target?

I don't see why not. But I've also seen a GM balk at this exact situation. Expect table variation.

Nazard wrote:
A lot of penalties to AC also apply to CMD.

Combat Maneuver Defense: "Any penalties to a creature's AC also apply to its CMD."

Liberty's Edge

Grick wrote:
I don't see why not. But I've also seen a GM balk at this exact situation. Expect table variation.

Sure, I can see why it would not work...but it's not in the rules.

I cannot logically see a medium creature successfully bull rushing a prone medium target. Pathfinder defines a prone creature as one that is lying on the ground. To push someone backwards, you need to overcome their center of gravity. You either set the target off-balance so that they 'walk' themselves backwards or you apply enough force to 'lift' the target off the ground enough to physically move the creature back. Applying a bull rush maneuver to a prone medium creature would effectively press them into the ground (all be it at an angle).

I can see the possibility of a creature bull rushing a prone target if the target is two or more sizes larger since there would be enough of a target to bull rush.

It's a bit of a fringe case, so different GMs may rule differently.


RedDogMT wrote:
Sure, I can see why it would not work...but it's not in the rules.

So you're saying that, by the rules, it works? Or the opposite?

RedDogMT wrote:
I can see the possibility of a creature bull rushing a prone target if the target is two or more sizes larger since there would be enough of a target to bull rush.

Bull Rush: "You can only bull rush an opponent who is no more than on size category larger than you."


Grick, he's wondering about the intent of the bull rush combat maneuver. As we all know, sometimes that differs from those silly little letters written on paper that make up the CRB.


Grick wrote:
Bull Rush: "You can only bull rush an opponent who is no more than on size category larger than you."

Hey, a typo.

Anyone have a CRB PDF handy, and can see if that's an error in the PDF or just on the PRD?


PRD.


It was my understanding that forced movement (such as from a bull rush) does not provoke attacks of oppertunity.


gourry187 wrote:
It was my understanding that forced movement (such as from a bull rush) does not provoke attacks of oppertunity.

Bull Rush: "An enemy being moved by a bull rush does not provoke an attack of opportunity because of the movement unless you possess the Greater Bull Rush feat."

Greater Bull Rush (Combat): "Whenever you bull rush an opponent, his movement provokes attacks of opportunity from all of your allies (but not you)."

Liberty's Edge

Grick wrote:
RedDogMT wrote:
Sure, I can see why it would not work...but it's not in the rules.
So you're saying that, by the rules, it works? Or the opposite?

If you read my explanation, you would not be asking the question.

Grick wrote:
RedDogMT wrote:
I can see the possibility of a creature bull rushing a prone target if the target is two or more sizes larger since there would be enough of a target to bull rush.
Bull Rush: "You can only bull rush an opponent who is no more than on size category larger than you."

Well then, there you go. I would be one of those GMs Grick mentioned that would rule that you cannot bull rush a prone opponent. While the rules as written do not deny you from trying, logic tells me that it would not work.


It also came up in the situation where my Maneuver Master was in a 5-foot wide corridor with two baddies in a line in front of her, both prone. On their turn, the one right in front of her stood (provoking), while the other stayed down for various reasons. Then on her turn, she wanted to advance down the corridor 5-feet. Ideally, she would attempt a bull rush, -4 penalty against the second guy to move them both, and then she would advance, but with the guy on the ground...

It seems to me that some guy lying on the ground behind the person you're trying to knock off balance and backwards would make said exercise easier, not harder! :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you Bullrush a prone target? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions