Is using a double weapon in one hand allowed?


Rules Questions


I can use a double weapon to make two attacks as if one end is an off-hand weapon. I can also use it in two hands as if it were a two-handed weapon. But can I use it in one hand as a one-handed weapon if I choose (using only one end of the weapon, obviously)?

Peet


No. It always requires two hands.

Grand Lodge

Actually yes.

Quote:

Double Weapons: Dire flails, dwarven urgroshes, gnome hooked hammers, orc double axes, quarterstaves, and two-bladed swords are double weapons. A character can fight with both ends of a double weapon as if fighting with two weapons, but he incurs all the normal attack penalties associated with two-weapon combat, just as though the character were wielding a one-handed weapon and a light weapon.

The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed, attacking with only one end of it. A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.

It is what lets you arcane bond a staff and still wield it and have a hand free for spell casting.

Silver Crusade

No! A double weapon sized for you remains a two-handed weapon. It requires both hands to use just as much as a greatsword requires two hands to use!

It can be used to TWF, and in this case one end counts as a light off-hand weapon and the other counts as a one-handed weapon, but you still require two hands to use it this way!

The only way you can use a double weapon in one hand is if it is sized for a creature one or two sizes smaller than you. It is a one-handed weapon for you if it is sized for a creature one size smaller than you, and it is a light weapon for you if it is sized for a creature two sizes smaller than you. Just as if it were a greatsword.

But wait! I could use two small double-axes, one in each hand, and get loads of attacks! Right?

No. That's why it says:-

Quote:
A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.

Grand Lodge

Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

No! A double weapon sized for you remains a two-handed weapon. It requires both hands to use just as much as a greatsword requires two hands to use!

It can be used to TWF, and in this case one end counts as a light off-hand weapon and the other counts as a one-handed weapon, but you still require two hands to use it this way!

The only way you can use a double weapon in one hand is if it is sized for a creature one or two sizes smaller than you. It is a one-handed weapon for you if it is sized for a creature one size smaller than you, and it is a light weapon for you if it is sized for a creature two sizes smaller than you. Just as if it were a greatsword.

But wait! I could use two small double-axes, one in each hand, and get loads of attacks! Right?

No. That's why it says:-

Quote:
A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.

Your mistaken. You can wield a double weapon in one hand and if you do so, you can attack with one of the weapon side of your choice (not BOTH...so wielding two double weapons in each hand would do nothing other then give you an extra -2 to attack really).

Silver Crusade

Two-handed weapons require two hands to use.

A double weapon sized for you is a two-handed weapon.

Nothing in the rules on double weapons allows you to use a double weapon sized for you one handed!

Grand Lodge

Other then this exception you mean?

Quote:
A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.

If you can't really use it one handed at ALL, that last half of this statement wouldn't be needed. You can use a double weapon one handed and attack with one of the head if you so choose.


Cold Napalm wrote:

Other then this exception you mean?

Quote:
A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can't use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.
If you can't really use it one handed at ALL, that last half of this statement wouldn't be needed. You can use a double weapon one handed and attack with one of the head if you so choose.

A medium creature could use a small double weapon in one hand.


Jason bulmahn has a post or three about this. You guys should look it up. If you don't find anything, search for staff magus or quarterstaff mastery.


http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2m8r8?Quarterstaff-Master-Am-I-missing-somethin g#24

Hah, knew I wasn't going mad!

You can't wield it normally in one hand. mplindustries is right that you'd need to use a smaller sized one to do so. You can read Owen K.C. Stephens' post above Jason's in that thread for a good point on why this is the case.


Link fixed

Silver Crusade

I can't create a link for all the tea in china, but I can cut and paste like the wind!

Quote:

Jason Bulmahn Lead Designer

May 12, 2011, 06:24 PM | FLAG | LIST
| FAQ | REPLY
5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. 3 people marked this as a favorite. +

Hey there folks,

You cannot normally use a double weapon in one hand unless it is sized smaller than you. This feat allows you to get around that restriction.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

The 'this feat' part was the subject of that thread. For those who believed that you could use a DW sized for you in one hand, the feat made no sense at all, because the feat let you do just that!

JB made it absolutely clear that you cannot use a DW sized for you in one hand, and that's why the feat in question exists (Staff Magus, IIRC), to allow you to do what you normally cannot!

EDIT: thanks for the link! The feat is called 'Quarterstaff Master'.


From PRD:
Quarterstaff Master (Combat)
You can wield a quarterstaff as either a two-handed or one-handed weapon.
Prerequisites: Weapon Focus (quarterstaff), base attack bonus +5.
Benefit: By employing a number of different stances and techniques, you can wield a quarterstaff as a one-handed weapon. At the start of your turn, you decide whether or not you are going to wield the quarterstaff as a one-handed or two-handed weapon. When you wield it as a one-handed weapon, your other hand is free, and you cannot use the staff as a double weapon. You can take the feat Weapon Specialization in the quarterstaff even if you have no levels in fighter.

EDIT: I think the more interesting question is, if you wield a DW sized one size smaller than you in two hands (which you can do with a one-handed weapon), can you then use both ends to fight with?

Liberty's Edge

So... you're telling me that every Pathfinder Wizard who is walking around with a staff and casting spells is doing it wrong unless they have that feat?

Silliness.


No? Wield means to attack with. Strange, but it's true. You can hold it just fine in one hand. You just can't attack with it one-handed without that feat.

Dark Archive

You have to concenctrate on your spell, thus unless you are playing Magus class, you are not using your Quarterstaff to attack while casting spell. Magus players can cast through their spell and attack at the same turn when they reach about level 4.

I'm not sure about the spells which are cast by Quickened Spell metamagic feat.


Zhane wrote:
So... you're telling me that every Pathfinder Wizard who is walking around with a staff and casting spells is doing it wrong unless they have that feat?

If it's not a bonded object, then it doesn't matter. Hold it, drop it, whatever.

If it is a bonded object, and you want to cast without the concentration check, then you're sort of hosed.

Only sort of, since the intent was to change the rule so you only need to hold the object, not wield it.

Arcane Bond: "staves, wands, and weapons must be wielded. If a wizard attempts to cast a spell without his bonded object worn or in hand..."

SKR: "obviously you can't wield the weapon and cast a spell in the same round, so we'll change the text in the arcane bond section so it says 'held in hand' rather than 'wielded.'"


Zhane wrote:

So... you're telling me that every Pathfinder Wizard who is walking around with a staff and casting spells is doing it wrong unless they have that feat?

Silliness.

I think the real question you should ask is, what type of action is it to change the grip of a weapon?

Can a fighter using a longsword with 4 attacks, make the first 2 with one hand and then for the last 2 switch to a two hand grip? If yes, then the feat is unnecessary since you could cast, holding the staff with one hand, and then switch to two hands for attacks of opportunity.


Wittkyrd wrote:
Magus players can cast through their spell and attack at the same turn when they reach about level 4.

Level 1, and they still need a hand free.


For an item bon: staff, you must wield the staff.
But a staff doesn't need to be a quaterstaff, so two-handed. A staff may be just a staff and not a weapon, so you just need to wield it with one hand.


Defraeter wrote:

For an item bon: staff, you must wield the staff.

But a staff doesn't need to be a quaterstaff, so two-handed. A staff may be just a staff and not a weapon, so you just need to wield it with one hand.

It has to be a specific item. If you want something like a staff that's not two-handed, then it's a club, and you just call it a staff. It doesn't work like a magic staff, and it doesn't do anything a quarterstaff could do, it's just a club.

Iconic wizard Ezren does this with his cane, which is a club.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Fighter: Why do you always hold your crotch when casting spells?
Wizard: Well, in order to do my magic correctly, I have to wield a staff and ...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is using a double weapon in one hand allowed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions