Q about powerattack + cleave


Rules Questions


so cleave is a standard action, and i dont see anything online saying if if a powerattack modifies an attack like that. so does this mean i can move, then do a powerattack cleave all in 1 turn?


Powerattack modifies any melee attack that you make that is not a touch attack unless specifically stated otherwise. Power Attack is not an action, it is part of any other attack.

Summary: Move and then Cleave+Power attack is fine.

- Gauss


Another question. If my bab gives me 2 attacks, if I don't move can I make 2 power attack cleaves?


lance greene wrote:
Another question. If my bab gives me 2 attacks, if I don't move can I make 2 power attack cleaves?

No, you could either take a your two attacks using a full-attack action (which is a full-round action) OR cleave (which is a standard action) and take a move action.

Sovereign Court

The difference between using Cleave against two adjacent foes w/in your reach vs splitting your iterative attacks in a Full-Attack Action is the Cleave allows you to use your highest attack bonus against both targets (providing you hit the first). Splitting your Full attack means you have less of a chance to hit the second target.

In either case Power Attack does not require any action by itself, it's either on or off.

--Schoolhouse Vrock


Actually, doesn't Power Attack modify all attacks you take that round?

"You must choose to use this feat before making an attack roll, and its effects last until your next turn. "

It would apply to the main attack, any iterative attacks, any Cleave attacks, and any AoOs you take until your next turn.

Sovereign Court

Yes Power Attack modifies all attacks, but you do have to turn it on during your turn. You can't activate it for a AoO, for example.


Out of curiosity, why couldn't you activate for an AoO? It just says before making an attack roll. Which end up doing as part of an AoO.

Sovereign Court

Well color me incorrect... it seems the intent behind PA has changed from 3.5 to PF. The wording is a little vague in the feat, but it seems the designers say you can activate PA at anytime you wish to make an attack.

I'm not a huge fan of that ruling, but it was clarified by Sean K Reynolds.

That ruling really confuses Furious Focus now though?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Q about powerattack + cleave All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions