two questions about wave strike


Rules Questions


1. Can you use wave strike in a charge full round action?

2. Can you use a light melee weapon thrown (such as a dagger) with wave strike? I believe the description just says melee weapon and not melee attack.


Wave Strike wrote:


Prerequisite: Weapon expertise class feature or Quick Draw, Bluff 1 rank.

Benefit: If on your first turn of combat you draw a melee weapon to attack an opponent within your reach, you can spend a swift action to make a Bluff check to feint against that opponent.

1. Yes, because you can draw a weapon as part of a charge (although it limits your charge distance).

2. Feinting itself only works with melee attacks. So although you technically could draw the dagger and feint as a swift action, throwing the dagger wouldn't benefit from your feint. (Although if you drew another weapon and made a melee attack on your second round, the feint would actually benefit that attack).


gourry187 wrote:
1. Can you use wave strike in a charge full round action?

Wave Strike (Combat): "If on your first turn of combat you draw a melee weapon to attack an opponent within your reach, you can spend a swift action to make a Bluff check to feint against that opponent."

Charge: "If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1."

Swift Actions: "You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action."

Free Action: "You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally."

So by RAW, if you Charge and have BAB+1 or better and choose to draw your weapon during the charge, then because you can take a free action during a full-round action, you can also take a swift action during the full-round action and make the bluff check to feint.

gourry187 wrote:
2. Can you use a light melee weapon thrown (such as a dagger) with wave strike? I believe the description just says melee weapon and not melee attack.

As long as you throw it at someone within your reach, it should work. This will often provoke, though.

Wave Strike isn't written very well, as I would assume the point is to feint before your attack lands, but it sort of requires you to declare your intent to attack when you draw the weapon which enables you to use the feat.


Since wave strike requires quickdraw, you should be able to move your full move movement with a charge as drawing the weapon is free right?


gourry187 wrote:
Since wave strike requires quickdraw, you should be able to move your full move movement with a charge as drawing the weapon is free right?

If you mean double move, yes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / two questions about wave strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.