| Borthos Brewhammer |
There is nothing official stating you can coup de grace with a firearm.
So far in print it only says melee attack or bow or crossbow. However, these are core rules.
You can infer, then. Remember, the core rules covers everything in core, so it wouldn't address firearms. But, if you can make a CDG with ranged weapons in core, you can do it with any non-core ranged weapons as well.
| AerynTahlro |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
You also can't technically coup de grace with a cannon (siege weapon), but I'm fairly certain that if you stick a helpless creature's head into the barrel and fire, there won't be much left.
Seems to me that the Coup de Grace rules need to be updated to allow for any weapon to be used, provided you are adjacent to the target.
| Umbranus |
Rogar Stonebow wrote:You can infer, then. Remember, the core rules covers everything in core, so it wouldn't address firearms. But, if you can make a CDG with ranged weapons in core, you can do it with any non-core ranged weapons as well.There is nothing official stating you can coup de grace with a firearm.
So far in print it only says melee attack or bow or crossbow. However, these are core rules.
Can you CDG with a sling?
Can you with a ray spell?The rules don't say you can so we can not just assume that you can do it with every non core weapon, because you can't do it with every core weapon.
LazarX
|
Can you CDG with a sling?
Can you with a ray spell?
Absolutely, you want to blow your spell slots on CDG? Be my guest. You want to spend forever while you do wit with Cantrips? Delighted.
If you are in a hurry and you blow your maneuvers because you're trying to be inventive, cute, or otherwise ridculous, it's your lookout.
| Grick |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Umbranus wrote:AbsolutelyCan you CDG with a sling?
Can you with a ray spell?
If you can perform a Coup de Grace with any weapon, why would the rules limit it to specific weapons?
As for your house rule about using spells, how does that work with casting time? Does it only work for standard action spells? Do you provoke three times (once for performing a CdG, once for casting a spell, and once for making the ranged touch attack)? Can you use a spell with a full-round casting time, and if so, does that extend the action needed to CdG?
| Skylancer4 |
gourry187 wrote:unfortunately daggers do not cdg for x4Xd12 damage... just saying.Borthos Brewhammer wrote:It's an auto-crit, I'd rule no misfire chance.There is always a chance for misfire in my option.
Personally, bullets are expensive and its easier to buy a dagger to CdG.
If you're really concerned about a CDG, you'd probably be carrying something more effective than a dagger and that would work RAW, just saying.
| Grick |
If you're really concerned about a CDG, you'd probably be carrying something more effective than a dagger and that would work RAW
Like a Scythe (2d4x4, 8-32 damage) or a Tetsubo (1d10x4, 4-40 damage). Neither of which has the top-end of a Musket (1d12x4, 4-48 damage) but it's close, and rules legal.
| Rogar Stonebow |
Skylancer4 wrote:If you're really concerned about a CDG, you'd probably be carrying something more effective than a dagger and that would work RAWLike a Scythe (2d4x4, 8-32 damage) or a Tetsubo (1d10x4, 4-40 damage). Neither of which has the top-end of a Musket (1d12x4, 4-48 damage) but it's close, and rules legal.
Unless you have the feat quick draw, you won't be able to CDG because if you have a non-approved cdg weapon equipped, switching to a legal one will prevent you from doing a Full attack that is required to complete a CDG.
| Grick |
Unless you have the feat quick draw, you won't be able to CDG because if you have a non-approved cdg weapon equipped, switching to a legal one will prevent you from doing a Full attack that is required to complete a CDG.
It's a full-round action, not a full attack, but yes. It's likely you're not wielding a musket when adjacent to the foe either, so in the same move action you take to approach (so you can CdG next round) you could also draw a normal weapon. A heavy pick in that instance is nice so you don't have to drop or sheathe your musket.
At any rate, building a character around performing a coup de grace with a firearm is not a very good idea for PFS.
| Rogar Stonebow |
Rogar Stonebow wrote:Unless you have the feat quick draw, you won't be able to CDG because if you have a non-approved cdg weapon equipped, switching to a legal one will prevent you from doing a Full attack that is required to complete a CDG.It's a full-round action, not a full attack, but yes. It's likely you're not wielding a musket when adjacent to the foe either, so in the same move action you take to approach (so you can CdG next round) you could also draw a normal weapon. A heavy pick in that instance is nice so you don't have to drop or sheathe your musket.
At any rate, building a character around performing a coup de grace with a firearm is not a very good idea for PFS.
I agree, but I also believe in being prepared for everything. Failing to plan is the same as planning to fail. This way I can be assured of my actions ahead of time if something were to come up.