What is the reach of a Medium character with a Large Whip?


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge

I was coming up with a baddie for characters in a game I GM and I stumbled across an interesting build, leading me to this question.

What is the reach of a Medium sized character wielding a Large Whip?

Is it different compared to if he was wielding a Medium Whip or the same?

Cheers.

Grand Lodge

Same a medium whip.

Shadow Lodge

Certain?

Grand Lodge

Absolutely.

Your medium PC can also wield a small whip, and it has the same reach.

Reach is more based off your reach and size, not the weapon's.

Shadow Lodge

Understood, thanks.


Though the arguement can also be made that a whip fails to function off of the reach rules as standard as its text is listed. So that anyone who uses it simply gets 15ft added to their reach regardless of the size.

Grand Lodge

Two handing a Large Scorpion whip is better, by the way.

Or a Huge Scorpion Whip.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Absolutely.

Your medium PC can also wield a small whip, and it has the same reach.

Reach is more based off your reach and size, not the weapon's.

I have to disagree, a small whip will have a shorter reach which would be 10ft since it's shorter than a medium whip which would be 15ft, and a large whip would be a 30ft reach, because large monsters don't use medium weapons unless they are trying to hide something. Since the weapon is bigger it would have a larger reach.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Disagree all you want, RAW disagrees with you.

Small PCs can wield whips with 15ft. reach.


Nope if you read the Whip is says you can attack out to 15ft period.

Also reach weapons for small creatures have to be longer not shorter as the reach is the same 10ft a medium creature gets meaning that the halfling must be using a longer spear than the human.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Jacobs wrote:
Gauss wrote:

James:

Two questions about reach (I know you answered Lunes questions but mine, while related are different or restated for clarification purposes):

CRB p141 wrote:
Reach Weapons: Glaives, guisarmes, lances, longspears, ranseurs, and whips are reach weapons. A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren’t adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder’s natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

Please note the bolded section for the following questions.

1) A tiny or smaller creature has a reach of zero. Double of zero = zero.
1A) What is the reach of a tiny or smaller creature with a longspear? 1B) If greater than zero can the tiny or smaller creature attack in his own square or adjacent squares?

2) A Small or Medium creature using a Whip has a reach of 15'. This is not 'double natural reach' but is in fact triple the natural reach.
2A) What is the reach of a Large creature with a natural reach of 10 when using a whip? (20feet is double, 30feet is triple)
2B) What is the reach of a Huge creature with a natural reach of 15 when using a whip? (30feet is double, 45feet is triple)
2C) What is the reach of a Tiny or smaller creature with a natural reach of 0 when using a whip? (0feet is double, 0 feet is triple, see question 1)

Thanks for your time as always and welcome back!

- Gauss

First off... all of these situations are strange corner cases that the rules don't specifically address, really, but here's how I'd answer all of them:

1) Giving a tiny or smaller creature a reach weapon allows it to attack adjacent foes as if it were a Small or Medium creature.

2) Small is a weird size category that, for the purposes of reach weapons, works identically to Medium because that makes it easier and more balanced for Small PC races. And whips are unusual weapons in that they grant a much larger reach than normal.

2A) 30 feet.
2B) 45 feet.
2C) 10 feet.

These would be the answers to Small Whips and Large Whips

Shadow Lodge

Wizards, i'm afraid your interpretation of that quote isn't immediately obvious to me- I agree that it sets out nicely rules for using whips as a large creature and as a creature using a small whip, but how does it apply to Medium creatures using Large whips?


1) Whips defy normal Size Category rules re: Reach,
so it's pretty much just YOUR normal Reach + 15', period. Feel free to house-rule though.

2) When using weapons that use normal/Reach reach rules for their Size,
I will hilight an additional line of the rules that I find highly relevant:

Quote:
Most reach weapons double the wielder’s natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

Note that last bit about appropriate size.

AKA Reach Weapons are designed to double the Reach of their INTENDED wielders.

So for cases where 'appropriate size' weapons aren't being used,
What I do is figure out how much Reach is being added (+X') for the 'appropriate sized' user,
and add that on to the Reach of the actual user...
i.e. a Giant using a Human sized Reach Weapon will not have as big a Reach as a Giant using a Giant sized Reach Weapon.


The large whip has a 20 foot reach in the hands of a medium character.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks, Wizards- if I could impose on your a bit more, could you specify the exact parts of Jacobs' speech which say that? I like citing verse and page when I get called on things like this.

Also, Quandary, thanks for your input but again this isn't about when weapons are appropriately sized.

Dark Archive

8 Red Wizards wrote:
The large whip has a 20 foot reach in the hands of a medium character.

That's not true. That's like saying someone who wields a large longsword has a 10 foot reach.


Weapon size doesn't change reach. Only character size. Nothing in any book says changing the size of a weapon changes the reach it gives.

If you're using a large 12' bastard sword it still only threatens your natural 5' reach. If you're a medium character using a tiny longspear in one hand as a light weapon, you get the 10' reach in one hand (at the -4 to attack for inappropriate size).

It's silly and may get stuff thrown at you, but it seems to be RAW.


Mergy wrote:
8 Red Wizards wrote:
The large whip has a 20 foot reach in the hands of a medium character.
That's not true. That's like saying someone who wields a large longsword has a 10 foot reach.

Actually, it's more like saying a medium character wielding a large lucerne hammer has a 10 foot reach.

Sovereign Court

Okay, after reading JJ's comment it seems pretty clear that a reach weapon doubles your natural reach with the exception that whips triple your natural reach. Also, another caveat is that tiny or smaller creatures threaten 5ft away with a reach weapon and 10ft away with a whip. The size of weapons have no bearing on this.

A medium creature can wield a large whip and it would only get a 15ft reach because whips only triple your natural reach. On the other hand a medium creature can wield a small whip and get a reach of 15ft because again, a whip only triples your natural reach. There is no way around this, increasing the size of the weapon only increases the damage and gives you a penalty to hit.

Dark Archive

mdt wrote:
Mergy wrote:
8 Red Wizards wrote:
The large whip has a 20 foot reach in the hands of a medium character.
That's not true. That's like saying someone who wields a large longsword has a 10 foot reach.
Actually, it's more like saying a medium character wielding a large lucerne hammer has a 10 foot reach.

A medium character can't wield a large two-handed weapon.

As has been said above, increasing or decreasing weapon size doesn't increase or decrease the reach of said weapon. Character size determines reach. Weapon size determines what type of weapon it is to the wielder: light, one-handed, two-handed, or unwieldable.


Jotungrip

EDIT : And note, I didn't say I agreed with either side on the reach. I just pointed out that your comment was a strawman. You picked a non-reach weapon for your comment, which was not a valid argument. The valid argument would be the one I provided. Whether the whip retains the larger size reach when wielded by smaller people or not is up to the GM since strict RAW says it doesn't, but common sense says RAW are idiotic.

EDIT Redux : Fixed a typo

Dark Archive

Jotungrip doesn't let you wield a larger-than-two-handed weapon.

mdt wrote:
EDIT : And note, I didn't say I agreed with either side on the reach. I just pointed out that your comment was a strawman. You picked a non-reach weapon for your comment, which was not a valid argument. The valid argument would be the one I provided. Whether the whip retains the larger size reach when wielded by smaller people or not is up to the GM since strict RAW says it does, but common sense says RAW are idiotic.

I don't believe I provided a strawman argument. 8 Red Wizards erroneously stated that increasing the weapon size of a whip to large would increase the reach by 5 feet. This is fallacious, because if that were so, then why wouldn't wielding any large sized weapon result in increased reach?

If it were as 8 Red Wizards states, your large lucerne hammer would have a 15 foot reach in the hands of a medium creature (should he somehow have a way to wield it, and no, Jotungrip doesn't work that way); the example I introduced which you called a strawman was merely an extrapolation. If increasing the size of a whip to large gives it 5 feet more reach, then a large longsword must have a 10 foot reach.


Cult of Vorg wrote:

Weapon size doesn't change reach. Only character size. Nothing in any book says changing the size of a weapon changes the reach it gives.

If you're using a large 12' bastard sword it still only threatens your natural 5' reach. If you're a medium character using a tiny longspear in one hand as a light weapon, you get the 10' reach in one hand (at the -4 to attack for inappropriate size).

It's silly and may get stuff thrown at you, but it seems to be RAW.

There is a large difference between a bastard swords and a whip. Bastard Swords aren't reach weapons mainly.

Think about it this way a Giant isn't going to use a medium size 15 foot whip when he can use a 20 foot appropriately sized to him whip. A large whip is still longer than the medium whip.

Giants have a 10ft reach, and a Giant with a large whip has a 30ft reach, and since the large whip has triple the giants reach if you put it into a medium size creatures hand it doesn't get smaller to match his size it just gets harder to use so he takes the appropriate minus's.

Giving a Medium Whip to a Giant doesn't turn it from 15ft reach into a 30ft reach. So why would a large Whips reach lower to a medium size just because it switched hands giants only have a 10ft reach.

Dark Archive

8 Red Wizards wrote:
Cult of Vorg wrote:

Weapon size doesn't change reach. Only character size. Nothing in any book says changing the size of a weapon changes the reach it gives.

If you're using a large 12' bastard sword it still only threatens your natural 5' reach. If you're a medium character using a tiny longspear in one hand as a light weapon, you get the 10' reach in one hand (at the -4 to attack for inappropriate size).

It's silly and may get stuff thrown at you, but it seems to be RAW.

There is a large difference between a bastard swords and a whip. Bastard Swords aren't reach weapons mainly.

Think about it this way a Giant isn't going to use a medium size 15 foot whip when he can use a 20 foot appropriately sized to him whip. A large whip is still longer than the medium whip.

Giants have a 10ft reach, and a Giant with a large whip has a 30ft reach, and since the large whip has triple the giants reach if you put it into a medium size creatures hand it doesn't get smaller to match his size it just gets harder to use so he takes the appropriate minus's.

Giving a Medium Whip to a Giant doesn't turn it from 15ft reach into a 30ft reach. So why would a large Whips reach lower to a medium size just because it switched hands giants only have a 10ft reach.

Because this is a rules forum. The wielder's size determines reach, not the weapon's size. If this were a houserules forum, things would be different.


Actually, i was thinking of Massive Weapons, but rereading it, it doesn't seem to allow two-handed large weapons (I don't do barbarians much).

Either way, it was a strawman, because you picked a non-reach weapon for your argument. If you want to make the argument, then use the same type of weapon, reach weapon.

Again, I am not saying that RAW isn't on your side of the argument, it is. It's stupid and idiotic RAW, but that's how it's written. RAW says if you managed to wield a two-handed lucerne hammer as a medium creature, that even though it reaches 20 feet out for a large creature, it only reaches out 5 for you. That's idiotic. But it is RAW.


Mergy wrote:
8 Red Wizards wrote:
Cult of Vorg wrote:

Weapon size doesn't change reach. Only character size. Nothing in any book says changing the size of a weapon changes the reach it gives.

If you're using a large 12' bastard sword it still only threatens your natural 5' reach. If you're a medium character using a tiny longspear in one hand as a light weapon, you get the 10' reach in one hand (at the -4 to attack for inappropriate size).

It's silly and may get stuff thrown at you, but it seems to be RAW.

There is a large difference between a bastard swords and a whip. Bastard Swords aren't reach weapons mainly.

Think about it this way a Giant isn't going to use a medium size 15 foot whip when he can use a 20 foot appropriately sized to him whip. A large whip is still longer than the medium whip.

Giants have a 10ft reach, and a Giant with a large whip has a 30ft reach, and since the large whip has triple the giants reach if you put it into a medium size creatures hand it doesn't get smaller to match his size it just gets harder to use so he takes the appropriate minus's.

Giving a Medium Whip to a Giant doesn't turn it from 15ft reach into a 30ft reach. So why would a large Whips reach lower to a medium size just because it switched hands giants only have a 10ft reach.

Because this is a rules forum. The wielder's size determines reach, not the weapon's size. If this were a houserules forum, things would be different.

In the case of Whips and pole-arms you are wrong flat out just wrong, because if a giant picked up a medium whip he wouldn't receive a 30ft reach, because that whip couldn't offer that length and the giant only has a 10ft reach. A whip triples the reach of the user, and a medium whip doesn't grow long just because a giant picks it up. Although a giant whip is 20 ft long we are assuming by some madness a medium character could use such a whip the whip doesn't reduce it's size just like a large bastard sword doesn't change to a medium bastard sword when someone smaller picks it up.

Edit (to make it simpler): Whips Triple the reach of the user the Large Whip was made for a Large user so it's a 30 foot reach. So if that large weapon got picked up by a medium character it's still a 20 foot reach weapon.

Edit 2: What do you think the reach would be if a Medium character could picked up a huge whip as impossible as that would be I'd say 35 foot reach, but I'm guessing you'd say 15 foot still.

Shadow Lodge

Glad that we have some debate here, but I would request that things stay focused around the reach of whips only as I am not too fussed by reach of other weapons, or the viability of wielding Large other weapons.

Shadow Lodge

Had a thought occur to me.

The Scorpion Whip is a Light weapon. Thus it would be conceivably possible to wield a huge Scorpion Whip as a two-handed weapon.

If a Large whip wouldn't increase reach, any chance a Huge one would?

Dark Archive

Arkwright wrote:

Had a thought occur to me.

The Scorpion Whip is a Light weapon. Thus it would be conceivably possible to wield a huge Scorpion Whip as a two-handed weapon.

If a Large whip wouldn't increase reach, any chance a Huge one would?

Nope.

8 Red Wizards, you're wrong. You have no rules backing your point up, so I would point you towards the houserules forum.

Shadow Lodge

Understood.

Thanks for your help fellows.

Liberty's Edge

Just to make sure I understand how it would work in a game:

Medium character with a large whip:
- has a 15' reach
- must wield it two-handed
- takes a -4 penalty to attacks for inappropriately sized weapon.

EDIT: wait, because a medium whip is "light", would a large one be considered "one-handed" for a medium creature? I have to say, for some reason, I have trouble wrapping my mind around the inappropriately sized weapon stuff.

EDIT 2: Ahhhhhh. The normal whip is MEDIUM and the SCORPION whip is light...ok, I think I'm finally there now. ;)

Shadow Lodge

Sounds correct, yes.

Alternatively, the Scorpion whip is a Light weapon thus he could wield a large one as a one-handed weapon.

Liberty's Edge

Arkwright wrote:

Sounds correct, yes.

Alternatively, the Scorpion whip is a Light weapon thus he could wield a large one as a one-handed weapon.

HA! I was editing while you were writing. Thanks for the response!

Dark Archive

HangarFlying wrote:

Just to make sure I understand how it would work in a game:

Medium character with a large whip:
- has a 15' reach
- must wield it two-handed
- takes a -4 penalty to attacks for inappropriately sized weapon.

-2 penalty, but other than that you've got it.

To all those saying "that doesn't make sense": make a house rule so it makes sense to you. However, when someone on the rules forum asks a question, don't answer it with the way you think things should be, or the way you'd do it if you had a chance to rewrite the rules.

Liberty's Edge

Mergy wrote:
HangarFlying wrote:

Just to make sure I understand how it would work in a game:

Medium character with a large whip:
- has a 15' reach
- must wield it two-handed
- takes a -4 penalty to attacks for inappropriately sized weapon.

-2 penalty, but other than that you've got it.

To all those saying "that doesn't make sense": make a house rule so it makes sense to you. However, when someone on the rules forum asks a question, don't answer it with the way you think things should be, or the way you'd do it if you had a chance to rewrite the rules.

Gotcha! I looked back at it and saw the -4 for non-proficiency and thought that was it. So, -2 if you are proficient, -6 if you are not proficient.


Arkwright wrote:
The Scorpion Whip is a Light weapon. Thus it would be conceivably possible to wield a huge Scorpion Whip as a two-handed weapon.

The AA Scorpion Whip is one-handed, it's basically exactly like a whip but deals lethal damage, doesn't get stopped by armor, and has a bigger damage die.

The UC/UE Scorpion Whip is light, yes. But it also doesn't have reach (or trip or disarm). Unless you're using it as a whip, in which case it might work like a whip (granting it reach, trip, nonlethal, etc.), or it might only allow you to use it proficiently, depending on who you ask. (JJ implies the latter)

Here's a Scorpion Whip FAQ Request if you're interested in finding out how they actually work.


Mergy wrote:
HangarFlying wrote:

Just to make sure I understand how it would work in a game:

Medium character with a large whip:
- has a 15' reach
- must wield it two-handed
- takes a -4 penalty to attacks for inappropriately sized weapon.

-2 penalty, but other than that you've got it.

To all those saying "that doesn't make sense": make a house rule so it makes sense to you. However, when someone on the rules forum asks a question, don't answer it with the way you think things should be, or the way you'd do it if you had a chance to rewrite the rules.

Here's a better answer. State what is RAW, and then state that RAW in this case is idiotic. This provides both the RAW, and the fact that the RAW is idiotic. The reason being, that perhaps the DEVs may read the posts, see just how idiotic it is, and issue an FAQ to clarify.


mdt wrote:
perhaps the DEVs may read the posts, see just how idiotic it is, and issue an FAQ to clarify.

Why would they clarify a rule they think is idiotic? Wouldn't they either change the rule so it's not idiotic, or leave it vague so people can rule however they want?


mdt wrote:
perhaps the DEVs may read the posts, see just how idiotic it is, and issue an FAQ to clarify.

Why would they clarify a rule they think is idiotic? Wouldn't they either change the rule so it's not idiotic, or leave it vague so people can run it how they like?


Mergy wrote:
Arkwright wrote:

Had a thought occur to me.

The Scorpion Whip is a Light weapon. Thus it would be conceivably possible to wield a huge Scorpion Whip as a two-handed weapon.

If a Large whip wouldn't increase reach, any chance a Huge one would?

Nope.

8 Red Wizards, you're wrong. You have no rules backing your point up, so I would point you towards the houserules forum.

You can call me wrong all day, but reach is a property that provides weapons like whips and polearm there own reach, and a large reach weapon would still provide the reach of a large reach weapon which is 30. I don't have prove anything, because you haven't said anything more than you are wrong with nothing to back up besides comparing it to a bastard sword and if we were talking about bastard swords since those are non-reach weapons than you'd be 100% correct.


8 Red Wizards wrote:
You can call me wrong all day, but reach is a property that provides weapons like whips and polearm there own reach, and a large reach weapon would still provide the reach of a large reach weapon which is 30.

Reach Weapons: "Glaives, guisarmes, lances, longspears, ranseurs, and whips are reach weapons. A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren't adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder's natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away."

Large, Huge, Gargantuan, and Colossal Creatures: "Large or larger creatures using reach weapons can strike up to double their natural reach but can't strike at their natural reach or less."

A large weapon does not provide the reach of a large creature.

A large reach weapon does not provide the reach of a large creature wielding a reach weapon.

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

A couple of FAQ questions, if I may:

1) Is the reach of a whip a static 15', or does it triple the natural reach of the creature wielding it?

2) For creatures using inappropriately sized reach weapons, is their reach the same as if they were using an appropriately sized reach weapon, or is their reach based off of the reach of the intended user of the weapon? (Example 1: a medium creature wielding a Large longspear: is his reach 10' or 15'? Example 2: a medium creature wielding a Large whip: is his reach 15' or 25')?


HangarFlying wrote:
1) Is the reach of a whip a static 15', or does it triple the natural reach of the creature wielding it?

RAW isn't explicit. James said (quoted upthread) a Large creature with a natural reach of 10' wielding a whip has 30' reach. There are written exceptions to that, for instance the Balor is a large creature with 10' reach, but only 20' reach with a whip.

HangarFlying wrote:
2) For creatures using inappropriately sized reach weapons, is their reach the same as if they were using an appropriately sized reach weapon, or is their reach based off of the reach of the intended user of the weapon? (Example 1: a medium creature wielding a Large longspear: is his reach 10' or 15'? Example 2: a medium creature wielding a Large whip: is his reach 15' or 25')?

There are no rules even suggesting that the size of the weapon alters the amount of reach. Reach is always based off the users natural reach.


A large giant wielding a medium whip (as light at -2) has the same reach as a large giant wielding a large whip, and the same reach as large giant wielding a huge whip (as 2handed at -2).

It's certainly something that should be house ruled, but RAW there's no difference.

Dark Archive

mdt wrote:
Here's a better answer. State what is RAW, and then state that RAW in this case is idiotic. This provides both the RAW, and the fact that the RAW is idiotic. The reason being, that perhaps the DEVs may read the posts, see just how idiotic it is, and issue an FAQ to clarify.

That's only the case if the RAW happens to bad for the game. It's not. I don't see any reason to let someone wield an extra-long whip, especially one that isn't sized for them.

Houserule forums are that way. ---------->

Grand Lodge

No, if you are medium, and wielding a large whip, then you can attack 15ft. away.

If someone casts enlarge person on you, then you can attack 30ft. away, with that same whip.

The size category of the weapon has no bearing on the amount of reach it grants you.


There is an axiom that seems to come into play among my friends when we have rules discussions: Logic has no place in a discussion about rules.

Here's a quote that may help clarify things:

James Jacobs wrote:

Weapon sizes are a bit weird.

A weapon's size does not impact reach. Reach merely extends your normal reach, regardless of the size of the weapon. Which is weird and confusing, and a good reason to not go too far down the rabbit hole of using strangely sized weapons in the first place.

Link

Regarding the Balor's 20 ft whip vs James' earlier mention of 30 ft reach (from later in the same thread):

James Jacobs wrote:

You've convinced me that a Large creature's whip should have a reach of 20 feet. Presto, no rules errata needed!

And correct; reach is best handled as being independent from weapon size for game balance reasons, as far as I'm concerned.

Link

Liberty's Edge

Grick wrote:
HangarFlying wrote:
1) Is the reach of a whip a static 15', or does it triple the natural reach of the creature wielding it?

RAW isn't explicit. James said (quoted upthread) a Large creature with a natural reach of 10' wielding a whip has 30' reach. There are written exceptions to that, for instance the Balor is a large creature with 10' reach, but only 20' reach with a whip.

HangarFlying wrote:
2) For creatures using inappropriately sized reach weapons, is their reach the same as if they were using an appropriately sized reach weapon, or is their reach based off of the reach of the intended user of the weapon? (Example 1: a medium creature wielding a Large longspear: is his reach 10' or 15'? Example 2: a medium creature wielding a Large whip: is his reach 15' or 25')?

There are no rules even suggesting that the size of the weapon alters the amount of reach. Reach is always based off the users natural reach.

I don't have a problem with that, but there is debate and figured these two questions sum up the debate fairly well.


HangarFlying wrote:
I don't have a problem with that, but there is debate and figured these two questions sum up the debate fairly well.

Sorry, I thought you skipped over the thread. I think there's mostly cohesion here, but official clarification is always welcome.

Liberty's Edge

blackbloodtroll wrote:

No, if you are medium, and wielding a large whip, then you can attack 15ft. away.

If someone casts enlarge person on you, then you can attack 30ft. away, with that same whip.

The size category of the weapon has no bearing on the amount of reach it grants you.

I think you'd be better off saying that you get enlarged and then pick up a medium whip. As you've stated it, the whip gets enlarged with you and your example leaves an opening for discussion that it is the large whip that gives reach. Not arguing with you, just playing devils advocate.

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What is the reach of a Medium character with a Large Whip? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.