Does 'Two Weapon Fighting' still need a Full Round Action?


Rules Questions


When you have the Two Weapon Fighting feat, and you want to attack with both weapons (main hand & off hand), do you get to do both as a standard action (because of the feat), or does that still require a full round action (like without the feat)? Is the feat just to reduce the penalties on your attack rolls?


seiken wrote:
When you have the Two Weapon Fighting feat, and you want to attack with both weapons (main hand & off hand), do you get to do both as a standard action (because of the feat), or does that still require a full round action (like without the feat)? Is the feat just to reduce the penalties on your attack rolls?

The Two-Weapon Fighting feat does nothing other than reduce penalties.

Anyone can fight with two weapons to gain an extra attack.

In order to do so, you must use the full attack action, which is a specific full-round action.

Full Attack: "If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough (see Base Attack Bonus in Classes), because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon, or for some special reason, you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks."


Just reduces penalties. Still requires a full round action.


seiken wrote:
When you have the Two Weapon Fighting feat, and you want to attack with both weapons (main hand & off hand), do you get to do both as a standard action (because of the feat), or does that still require a full round action (like without the feat)? Is the feat just to reduce the penalties on your attack rolls?

Need to full attack it reduces penalties and gives you the ability to get further twf feats.


A two-weapon fighter can, at ninth level get what you are looking for

doublestrike wrote:

At 9th level, a two-weapon warrior may, as a standard action, make one attack with both his primary and secondary weapons. The penalties for attacking with two weapons apply normally.

This ability replaces Weapon Training 2.

This is an exception, not the norm. Normally you can only use that second weapon during a full round attack or on a pounce (also a full round action).


Thanks, everyone!


not a problem. Enjoy!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does 'Two Weapon Fighting' still need a Full Round Action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.