Standard actions combo allowable?


Rules Questions


Can a chacter with two attacks (due to level) do a Throat Punch (as the feat) followed by a grapple since the two are standard attacks? This is of course if the character does not move in the round.


No. You can do only one standard action per round.


The reason I ask is that RAW say that an attack is a standard action. When a character has two attacks, is that not two standard actions? If not, what should they be called? Or is it that the two attacks are considered one standard action?


I'm not familiar with Throat Punch as a feat, but the key is how the ability is worded. Starting a grapple is, barring some other feat/special ability, a standard action and so cannot be combined with another standard action. Disarm, as a counter-example, is made "in place of a melee attack" and so if you have multiple attacks you could replace one or more with disarm.

In any case, when you make more than one attack in a round, that is not a standard action, but rather a full-round action (called a "full attack"). See the Actions In Combat table in the combat section.


One attack is a standard action. If you have more attacks you use a full attack action, which is a full-round action.
Throat Punch is specifically a standard action.


Gotcha. Thanks guys.


mewnknight (hah, clever name!), using two attacks is a Full Attack Action, and is not the same as two Standard Actions.

A Full Attack Action is a type of Full-Round Action that lets you make multiple attacks (and one other option, but ignore that for now). You can't replace the attacks from a Full Attack Action with Standard Actions (or feats and abilities that require Standard Actions [or even more confusingly, Attack Actions which are a specific action that's a subset of Standard Action], such as Vital Strike).

Note the capitalization, and if you have any other questions, make sure to ask! It's a confusing topic.


Thanks Cheapy!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Standard actions combo allowable? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions