
![]() |

I am also curious on this.
Extracts are like potions, but different. For example, it takes a move action to retrieve a potion, and than standard to drink it (both of which can provoke AoO), while an extract takes a standard to both draw and drink.
Personally in a game that I ran, I would be okay with the alchemist "combat Casting" extracts, but I cannot find a good reason to stop them from doing the same with normal potions.

spindlethin |
I have a character I'm working on that is a Alchemist/Drunken Brute Barbarian. The text on the Brute's Raging Drunk power is as follows
"While raging, the drunken brute can drink a potion, or a tankard of ale or similar quantity of alcohol, as a move action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity...."
It goes on to talk about quaffing booze, but it seems that as long as you already have the extract in your hand or can otherwise not spend an action drawing it, you could drink it as a move without Aoo's.
Mind you, you lose a level and you have to be raging; high price to pay for something that can almost always be accomplished with a 5' step.

Danny Kessler |

I just re-read the section about extracts in the alchemist's class abilities, and it's not at all clear to me that drinking an extract provokes AoOs in the first place. In fact, my group and I had always assumed that it did not provoke. Was this clarified at some point, or am I missing something obvious from the rules?

Grick |

i remember reading that it was a standard action to pull and drink extract but i cant seem to find it in the book now
FAQ - Alchemist: What kind of action is it to use an extract, mutagen, or throw a bomb?
It is a standard action to use an extract, mutagen, or throw a bomb. This action includes retrieving the necessary materials from the alchemist's supplies, in the same manner as retrieving a material component is included in the act of spellcasting.
—Sean K Reynolds, 09/01/10
"While raging, the drunken brute can drink a potion, or a tankard of ale or similar quantity of alcohol, as a move action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity...."
FAQ - Alchemist: Does the Accelerated Drinker feat from Cheliax, Empire of Devils allow a character to drink an alchemist extract as a move action?
No.
—Sean K Reynolds, 10/09/10
This sets precedent that being able to drink a potion faster does not let you drink an extract faster. And because an extract isn't alcohol, the brute ability would not apply. (Accelerated Drinker)