sorting out creature attacks


Rules Questions


I am a little confused about a creatures attacks.

Here is how the attack reads.

Melee 4 claws +34 (2d6+14/19–20) and bite +29 (3d6+9)

Does this mean that every time I can

A. make 4 attacks at +34 and roll 2d6 +14 and 1 attack at +29 and roll 3d6+9
B. make 4 attacks at +34 and roll 8d6 + 48 and 1 attack at +29 and roll 3d6 + 9
C. make 1 attack at +34 and roll 2d6 + 14 and 1 attack at +29 and roll 3d6 + 9
D. make a full attack and get the 4 claws with separate rolls and damages, and a bite.


4 claw attacks at +34 to-hit and 2d6+14 damage with a 19-20 crit threat range.

1 bite attack at +29 to-hit and 3d6+9 damage with a 20 crit threat range.

You need to make a full attack to get all those attacks. If you do so, you're making 5 attack rolls. Four for the claws, one for the bite.


4 claw attacks at +34 to-hit and 2d6+14 damage with a 19-20 crit threat range.

1 bite attack at +29 to-hit and 3d6+9 damage with a 20 crit threat range.

You need to make a full attack to get all those attacks. If you do so, you're making 5 attack rolls. Four for the claws, one for the bite.


also, I'd recommend rolling them separately. I don't really think it saves time because you have to gather more dice to roll simultaneously, and if two attacks down someone, then you need to switch it to someone else or just call off the attacks.


Cheapy wrote:

4 claw attacks at +34 to-hit and 2d6+14 damage with a 19-20 crit threat range.

1 bite attack at +29 to-hit and 3d6+9 damage with a 20 crit threat range.

You need to make a full attack to get all those attacks. If you do so, you're making 5 attack rolls. Four for the claws, one for the bite.

So your actually only attacking with 1 claw?


Thrillba wrote:
So your actually only attacking with 1 claw?

Usually it's one attack per limb.

A creature with four claw attacks generally has four limbs, each limb has some claws. It attacks four times, one for each claw attack.

Think of "Claw" as a claw attack, not an individual shaft of bone sticking out of a paw. A paw might have four claws, but usually it's one swipe with that limb to deliver a claw attack.

Whatever monster you mentioned above has four claw attacks and one bite attack.


Grick wrote:
Thrillba wrote:
So your actually only attacking with 1 claw?

Usually it's one attack per limb.

A creature with four claw attacks generally has four limbs, each limb has some claws. It attacks four times, one for each claw attack.

Think of "Claw" as a claw attack, not an individual shaft of bone sticking out of a paw. A paw might have four claws, but usually it's one swipe with that limb to deliver a claw attack.

Whatever monster you mentioned above has four claw attacks and one bite attack.

That is correct, its a girallon,

So I attack with 4 claws, and get a separate attack roll and damage roll for each?


that is correct. Also a separate roll for the bite as well.

And not sure, but he might also have rend. If he does, then I believe as long as two claws hit a target, you get to roll rend damage.


Thrillba wrote:
So I attack with 4 claws, and get a separate attack roll and damage roll for each?

Yes. Only when performing a full-attack. (Or pounce or other weirdness)

If he makes a standard action attack, he only gets one attack. (A single claw, or a bite)


Thank you every one.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / sorting out creature attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions