Sea Witch (archetype) - patron spells question


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi,

Considering the sea witch archetype for my next character (from Ultimate Magic). It contains the following:

***

Spells

A sea witch replaces some of her patron spells with the following: 2nd—touch of the sea [APG], 4th—gust of wind, 6th—water breathing, 8th—control water, 10th—cloudkill, 12th—control winds, 14th—control weather, 16th—vortex [APG], 18th—tsunami [APG].

***

How do you interpret the "some of her patron spells" part of this text? Does this mean that anytime your patron spell is different than that listed here, you use the sea witch spell instead of your patron's spell? Or at each even level, you choose which spell your familiar now knows (either your patron's original spell or the one on this list)?

Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

You use the sea witch list rather than your patron list unfortunately. It'd be really REALLY nice if you did get to choose but alas, such is not the case.


Yes, that was my guess - it was just that the wording was a little ambiguous. Thanks.


Pai Twistletrinket wrote:
Yes, that was my guess - it was just that the wording was a little ambiguous. Thanks.

Agreed. It's really much more like "All of your spells". Even if you replace it with the same thing, you can still call that a replacement.

And since as far as I can tell, the only thing that you get from your patron is spells and roleplaying hooks (not even a name for them!), and this archetype replaces all your spells, it seems like it really should just be a separate patron with a requirement on the archetype that you select that patron. Or, if the list is too good to open to all witches (which is not my impression), just say it's a new patron as part of the sea witch archetype.

Liberty's Edge

Your probably going to already have some of those spells on your orignal patron list, and as such are not replasing that spell. If that makes sense.

But yes, I noticed this last week thought it was weird as well.


Sorry for the old thread bump, but in a couple months I'll have a player with this archetype for Skull & Shackles. It would be great if we could get some FAQ clicks on the first post. Is the archetype meant to replace "some" of the patron spells as the text says, implying some kind of picking and choosing, or is it meant to replace all? If so, it seems like it should say "This spell list replaces your patron." or something to that effect. Thanks.


I hit the button, although I don't expect it to ever get answered.


It says "some" because every Witch archetype that modifies Patron bonus spells says "some." Its a copy-paste error, that's all.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, that's why I don't expect it to be answered. It's just that because it changes everything you get from your patron, my preferred fix would be to have text explicitly added to say that it just replaces your patron too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sea Witch (archetype) - patron spells question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions