Fist as bonded weapon?


Rules Questions


Could a monk/wizard who loses his bonded item cast masterwork transformation on his fist and make is fist (which is a weapon) his replacement bonded item?

That would give him the ability to enchant it as if he had the craft arms and armor feat.

Grand Lodge

No.


Which part doesn't work? The masterwork transformation or making it a bonded item?

RAW the monk's fist is a weapon, so the masterwork transformation should work.
And if you have a masterwork weapon you can make it your bonded item.

I guess myself that it isn't RAI. But what makes it not work RAW?


Both parts do not work.

Masterwork trasnformation transforms an item, a fist is not an item it is a PART of you. No I would not let it change all of you either since you are not an item.

A bonded item is an object your fist is not an object. Making it your fist takes away the ability to strip you of your bonded object (which is the one weakness of a bonded object).

Scarab Sages

Ughbash wrote:

Both parts do not work.

Masterwork trasnformation transforms an item, a fist is not an item it is a PART of you. No I would not let it change all of you either since you are not an item.

A bonded item is an object your fist is not an object. Making it your fist takes away the ability to strip you of your bonded object (which is the one weakness of a bonded object).

I'm trying to find the quote, but Sean K. Reynolds weighed in on this in a previous post and specifically noted that MWT could not be used on an unarmed strike since there is no masterwork equivalent of your body parts.


I wouldn't let you cast masterwork transformation on an unarmed strike, mainly because there is no "masterwork equivalent" for a unarmed strike, which means the spell would have no effect.


At least a better answer than just: No


You could not do it as a monk/wizard, but a monk/paladin could designate his unarmed strike as the weapon for his divine bond. That ability does not mention 'item' or 'masterwork'; it only specifices a 'weapon', which unarmed strike is.

Master Arminas


I would totally let you bond your fist . All you have to do is cut off your hand tie it to a cord and put it around your neck !

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fist as bonded weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions