Help me on this


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Can a rogue knife master throw both his daggers at the same time and get 2 sneak attacks out of it in the same action?

the rogue has the 2 weapon fighting feat also

thanks for your help on this


Typically precision damages such as sneak attack only count for the first thrown/ranged projectile.

Two weapon fighting just gives you an extra attack with your off hand weapon when you take a full round attack action with less penalties than without the feat, therefore you would not truly be throwing them at the same time.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Lantern Lodge

Morbidsoul40 wrote:

Typically precision damages such as sneak attack only count for the first thrown/ranged projectile.

Two weapon fighting just gives you an extra attack with your off hand weapon when you take a full round attack action with less penalties than without the feat, therefore you would not truly be throwing them at the same time.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

that is how i take it also,


I would say it depends on the situation. If they're flanking an opponent or the opponent is flat-footed, i'd let all their attacks have sneak attack damage since it doesn't say under sneak attack that only the first attack has the precision damage. If they're using the stealth skill though, i'd say only the first dagger gets the precision damage since after that they kinda know that you're over there in the shadows throwing daggers at them.


Morganstern wrote:
If they're flanking an opponent or the opponent is flat-footed, i'd let all their attacks have sneak attack damage since it doesn't say under sneak attack that only the first attack has the precision damage.

Flat-footed, then yes. The opponent remains flat-footed until they act, assuming they were not made flat-footed by something with more restrictions. Thus, all attacks made against that target are against a flat-footed target, granting sneak attack.

Flanking, no. Flanking only applies to melee attacks, not ranged attacks. You can't gain sneak attack with a thrown weapon even if your target is threatened on his opposite side.

Liberty's Edge

If each attack qualifies for sneak, then both attacks get sneak dice. Examples would include opponent being flat footed, having ran, climbing, or similar.

If the condition that resulted in qualifying for sneak ends with the first attack, the second doesn't get it. An example would be breaking invisibility or stealth.

Whether it is the same action doesn't matter. However, precision damage in what is commonly referred to as a volley attack often is seen as only applying to one attack in the volley. This may be a carry over from 3.5; I haven't been following things enough to know if this has been demonstrated in PF. Examples of volley fire would include a CL7 scorching ray with two rays.

Two weapon fighting doesn't impact how many attacks can be made, only what the penalties are. Anyone can fight with two weapons.

The rogue would have to have two daggers already drawn or otherwise be able to draw the second thrown action and still have the full attack action, such as with Quickdraw.

(Most of this, has already been covered...call this a summary.)

Dark Archive

What about a double-barrel pistol firing two shots as a standard action from invisibility?


If they qualify for sneak attack then sneak attack damage is dealt.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Help me on this All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.