Can you take wildblooded bloodlines with Eldritch Heritage?


Rules Questions


15 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

Topic says it all. Only interested in RAW, not RAI. Please click FAQ as it would be nice to get a developer ruling on this to lay any debate to rest. (Right... cause developer rulings do that, right? ;) )


As far as I know, yes. I figure this because the Sage (wildblooded arcane) bloodline still lists the 1st level power as triggering of Cha, while the arcana changes evertything to Int-based. So if you take the bloodline, you end up using the ability based on Int, while if you take Eldritch Heritage - Sage you end up using Cha for the power.


No, as the wildblooded bloodlines are not available to non-wildblooded sorcerers.

Grand Lodge

This is already being debated on a separate thread.
My opinion: A bloodline, is a bloodline, wildblooded or not.


I know it was in a separate thread, BBT. I put this thread up as someone complained of thread jacking so I thought I would make it a separate topic.

DM Barcas: Is that just personal opinion or do you have anything to back it up?


Eldritch Heritage:

You are descended from a long line of sorcerers, and some portion of their power flows in your veins.

Prerequisites: Cha 13, Skill Focus with the class skill of bloodline selected for this feat (see below), character level 3rd.

Benefit: Select one sorcerer bloodline. You must have Skill focus in the class skill that bloodline grants to a sorcerer at 1st level (for example, Heal for the celestial bloodline). This bloodline cannot be a bloodline you already have. You gain the first-level bloodline power for the selected bloodline. For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level –2, even if you have levels in sorcerer. You do not gain any of the other bloodline abilities.

Wildblooded:
A wildblooded sorcerer has a mutated version of a more common bloodline,with one arcana and at least one bloodline power that are different from those of an unmutated bloodline. When creating a wildblooded sorcerer, select an existing bloodline, then select one of the following mutated bloodlines associated with that bloodline. Use the normal bloodline’s class skill,bonus spells,and bonus feats, and the mutated bloodline’s bloodline arcana. Use the normal bloodline’s bloodline powers,except when the mutated bloodline replaces one of those powers.

Wildblooded is not a bloodline, but rather a change to an existing bloodline. If you could select it as a discrete bloodline, then you could use Eldritch Heritage to gain access to the powers you traded in from the associated bloodline. Had they made them into normal bloodlines rather than archetype, it would be fine.

That said, it wouldn't be OP to allow as an easy houserule.


Wildblooded is not a bloodline. The bloodlines therein are though. It even calls it a bloodline in the part you quoted. Unless there is something stating otherwise?


wildblooded is just like the subdomains of cleric domains---ie you could pick the subdomain instead of the major cleric domain if you took a level in cleric


Except the Wild blooded part is a distinct Archetype or sorcerer whereas the Sub domains specifically call out that anyone with a domain can take them.


Stikye wrote:
Except the Wild blooded part is a distinct Archetype or sorcerer whereas the Sub domains specifically call out that anyone with a domain can take them.

No they don't actually, an FAQ specifically called out that anyone with a domain could take them, not the rules for subdomains.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you take wildblooded bloodlines with Eldritch Heritage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions