
SOLDIER-1st |

According to the rules: "A wizard may know any number of spells. He must choose and prepare his spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying his spellbook. While studying, the wizard decides which spells to prepare.'
However, what if you don't need to sleep and had the Fast Study discovery?
Could you then cast a spell, take a minute to prepare a new one, and then have the newly prepared one ready to cast?
Also, what if you wanted to "write over" spells that had been prepared but unused? How does that work?
Thanks.

wraithstrike |

You still have to take 15 minutes to prepare the initial spells. If you are asking about the slots you left blank then it should take one minute to prepare the rest of them.
You could cast a spell, and prepare a new one in one minute.
You are still limited to so many castings per day. Not having to sleep does not get around that.

SOLDIER-1st |

Variant Tiefling ability 12 is one example.
Your first and last paragraphs seem to contradict each other. Say I prepare my entire allotment of spells and then subsequently use all of them over the course of the next hour. Can I then sit down and spend 15 mins and prepare an entire allotment of new ones which can then immediately be used?

Grick |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Say I prepare my entire allotment of spells and then subsequently use all of them over the course of the next hour. Can I then sit down and spend 15 mins and prepare an entire allotment of new ones which can then immediately be used?
Nope.
Rest: "If the character does not need to sleep for some reason, he still must have 8 hours of restful calm before preparing any spells."
and
Recent Casting Limit/Rest Interruptions: "If a wizard has cast spells recently, the drain on his resources reduces his capacity to prepare new spells. When he prepares spells for the coming day, all the spells he has cast within the last 8 hours count against his daily limit."

Mabven the OP healer |

Just because you do not need to sleep does not mean that you can prepare an unlimited number of spells per day. Spell slots are still going to be a once-per-day resource. You are still going to be required to do nothing for 8 hours before your initial preparation, no matter how long that takes, you just don't have to sleep during those 8 hours if you don't want. There is precedent for this - in 3.5 elves did not need to sleep, instead they meditated for 4 hours per night, which gave them the benefit other races get from 8 hours sleep. However, elven wizards were still required to do nothing for 4 more hours in order to be able to prepare their spells.
Wizards need their rest, no matter their race.
Edit: Grick was kind enough to actually find the rules I was too lazy to look up, and which I was only obliquely referring to. Thank you, Grick.

quirthanon |

Rest: "If the character does not need to sleep for some reason, he still must have 8 hours of restful calm before preparing any spells."
The Ring of Sustenance can modify that requirement. Though this won't allow the caster to cast more than once per day, it does change the rest required.
Ring of Sustenance: This ring continually provides its wearer with life-sustaining nourishment. The ring also refreshes the body and mind, so that its wearer needs only sleep 2 hours per day to gain the benefit of 8 hours of sleep. This allows a spellcaster that requires rest to prepare spells to do so after only 2 hours, but this does not allow a spellcaster to prepare spells more than once per day. The ring must be worn for a full week before it begins to work. If it is removed, the owner must wear it for another week to reattune it to himself.