| 45ur4 |
This thread is a follow up of this one, but considering only this question:
Assuming that you are fighting with a morning star do you do half or all the damage while attacking underwater?
Answers so far:
Jiggy wrote:Its damage is both piercing and bludgeoning, and is therefore bludgeoning. Thus, anything affecting bludgeoning damage will affect it.
Roac wrote:I'm going to have to disagree with Jiggy here.
I would think that it works like DR on monsters. That is to say, if you don't have both types you can't overcome the DR (or in this case do damage). Here's a relevant quote from the Beastiary: "A few other creatures require combinations of different types of attacks to overcome their damage reduction, and a weapon must be both types to overcome this type of damage reduction. A weapon that is only one type is still subject to damage reduction."Mojorat wrote:I think for the budgeoning slashing piercing thing you need to extrapolate logic here.
The majority of bludgeoning and slashing weapons in the game either have to be swung in an arc to use them or in the case of swords have flat blades making them difficult to adjust side to side. Where as most piercing weapons are thrust.
Anyhow i think thats the intent of the rule
Gauss wrote:My take is that manufactured weapons that have an OR should be able to do whatever is most favorable. Manufactured weapons that have an AND should be affected by what is least favorable.
For creatures the main issues are bite and claw attacks. I can see Bite ignoring the half damage penalty but claws are a questionmark in my mind. However, since both bite and claw do all 3 types at once an argument can be made for the AND statement I made in my last paragraph.
James Jacobs wrote:That text is pretty awkwardly written, I'll agree.
My take: Creatures that have the aquatic type don't have to worry about those penalties... but ALL manufactured weapons must abide by these rules, regardless of whether or not the creature wielding them is aquatic.
Discuss here please.
| Trikk |
It's pretty obvious to me that you take whatever is worse when you cannot switch between modes of attack. There was a situation recently where this came up, but I can't remember what it was. Anyway, it's logical that if something works in two ways simultaneously, something that affects the weapon negatively because of one mode will carry over to the other mode as well.
| Gauss |
What did you leave me to discuss? You already posted my response you thief! Hehehe
Rationale for my position on manufactured weapons:
A Morningstar is a big ball with spikes on it. It cannot change between the being just piercing and being a big ball. Because of the 'big ball' it has alot of drag on it if swinging through water than thus will slow down. The spiky part wont improve this.
In the Core Rulebook all other multiple type weapons have a means to switch styles. And it is actually written on page 144 that you can choose between styles if it says OR (it uses either but same thing) then you choose. While choosing P the S or B doesn't matter.
Example: Dagger, I either slash with it or I thrust with it.
Special: The Gnome Hooked Hammer and Dwarven Urgrosh are special cases where one end is one type and the other end is a different type. I would say each end reacts to the water as appropriate to that type.
- Gauss
| 45ur4 |
It's pretty obvious to me that you take whatever is worse when you cannot switch between modes of attack
That's exactly the kind of logic I use: you are both A and B, A says you are Ok but B means you should be restricted, so you are restricted. I admit this is more a MTG kind of logic, so maybe for Pathfinder is invalid reasoning...
Rationale for my position on manufactured weapons:
...
You Gauss have always something to say, even when I stole your words! But seriously, a morning star (leaving a part the fact that can have different styles) is more efficient than an hammer underwater, thanks to spikes and rounded ball (cubic or sharpened objects offer more resistance), so it might stand between full damage and half damage (0.75?)...
| Trikk |
That's exactly the kind of logic I use: you are both A and B, A says you are Ok but B means you should be restricted, so you are restricted. I admit this is more a MTG kind of logic, so maybe for Pathfinder is invalid reasoning...
The logic is the same in Pathfinder. If a penalty is given to elves, you will get it even if you count as both elf and human.
| Sekret_One |
Some weapons say or some say and. I imagine the ands would take the penalty, whilst the or's can pick which type and avoid the negative effects.
I'm just going to assume that natural attacks fall under the 'or' category. Kind of hard to imagine that a shark's bite doesn't do full damage. (note bite's count as s/p/b in the universal monster rules).
| babelbgm |
Can you make a full attack action if underwater while swimming? or do you require to make swim checks and therefore can only make a single attack? [/QUOT
Or do you need to maintain swimming while in combat without movement, if so do you need to make a swim check and at that point, does it take a standard action and therefore can only make one attack action or could still do a full attack action?