Multiple hands + double barrel pistols.


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If for example, you have a creature with 6 arms, and 6 double barrel pistols, with rapid shot, and say a bab of 7 or higher, how many total rounds can you fire off with a full round attack?
6? or 12? Just curious.


CptTylorX wrote:
If for example, you have a creature with 6 arms, and 6 double barrel pistols, with rapid shot, and say a bab of 7 or higher, how many total rounds can you fire off with a full round attack?

Three? Or four if you use Two-Weapon Fighting. (Not sure if that works since the firearms lack the 'shoot with each hand as if TWF' text)

Capacity: "A firearm's capacity is the number of shots it can hold at one time. When making a full-attack action, you may fire a firearm as many times in a round as you have attacks, up to this limit, unless you can reload the weapon as a swift or free action while making a full-attack action. In the case of early firearms, capacity often indicates the number of barrels a firearm has. In the case of advanced firearms, it typically indicates the number of chambers the weapon has."

I think this covers the more crude wording of the Double-Barreled Pistol description.

Firing both barrels "at once with the same action" would be two separate attacks as part of the full attack action.


Grick wrote:
CptTylorX wrote:
If for example, you have a creature with 6 arms, and 6 double barrel pistols, with rapid shot, and say a bab of 7 or higher, how many total rounds can you fire off with a full round attack?

Three? Or four if you use Two-Weapon Fighting. (Not sure if that works since the firearms lack the 'shoot with each hand as if TWF' text)

Capacity: "A firearm's capacity is the number of shots it can hold at one time. When making a full-attack action, you may fire a firearm as many times in a round as you have attacks, up to this limit, unless you can reload the weapon as a swift or free action while making a full-attack action. In the case of early firearms, capacity often indicates the number of barrels a firearm has. In the case of advanced firearms, it typically indicates the number of chambers the weapon has."

I think this covers the more crude wording of the Double-Barreled Pistol description.

Firing both barrels "at once with the same action" would be two separate attacks as part of the full attack action.

By that reasoning, there would be no reason to ever fire both barrels at once. You gain no extra attacks, and both shots are at -4.


blahpers wrote:
Grick wrote:
CptTylorX wrote:
If for example, you have a creature with 6 arms, and 6 double barrel pistols, with rapid shot, and say a bab of 7 or higher, how many total rounds can you fire off with a full round attack?

Three? Or four if you use Two-Weapon Fighting. (Not sure if that works since the firearms lack the 'shoot with each hand as if TWF' text)

Capacity: "A firearm's capacity is the number of shots it can hold at one time. When making a full-attack action, you may fire a firearm as many times in a round as you have attacks, up to this limit, unless you can reload the weapon as a swift or free action while making a full-attack action. In the case of early firearms, capacity often indicates the number of barrels a firearm has. In the case of advanced firearms, it typically indicates the number of chambers the weapon has."

I think this covers the more crude wording of the Double-Barreled Pistol description.

Firing both barrels "at once with the same action" would be two separate attacks as part of the full attack action.

By that reasoning, there would be no reason to ever fire both barrels at once. You gain no extra attacks, and both shots are at -4.

True that, except for one thing (that in the OP's case doesn't apply) a BAB of 5 or less (only one attack even on a full attack action)

but with a "creature" with multi weapon fighting, I'd say all of them at once, both barrels blasting. It would get -4 from double-barrel shooting, and -2 i think from multi weapon fighting (assuming DBP is a light weapon)

For a PC with 6 arms and 6 DBP. not sure, i think it would be double barrel shot from MH, then 1 double barrel shots from OH, all at -6 or so (assuming 2 weapon fighting multi weapon fighting at DM's discretion, -4 from DB shot, and -2 for TWF/MWF)


More arms doesn't always = more attacks.

Following the rules of characters using manufactured weapons, if they have a BAB of +7, they get 2 attacks plus an additional attack if they choose to TWF.

So at maximum they would be able to discharge 3 of the equipped guns in one round, taking heavy penalties.


This same sort of ruling is why rogues can no longer be polymorphed into octopi and get 8 sneak attacks per round.

At least I hope thats right.


Stynkk wrote:

More arms doesn't always = more attacks.

Following the rules of characters using manufactured weapons, if they have a BAB of +7, they get 2 attacks plus an additional attack if they choose to TWF.

So at maximum they would be able to discharge 3 of the equipped guns in one round, taking heavy penalties.

How does a marilith get an extra attack for each offhand, then? Multiweapon mastery doesn't grant that ability.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Adamantine Dragon wrote:

This same sort of ruling is why rogues can no longer be polymorphed into octopi and get 8 sneak attacks per round.

At least I hope thats right.

I think you're gonna be disappointed on that.

Edit:

PRD (Polymorph) wrote:
In addition to these benefits, you gain any of the natural attacks of the base creature, including proficiency in those attacks.
PRD (Natural attacks) wrote:
You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks).

Still have to be flanking or otherwise not reveal yourself on the first attack, though.


blahpers wrote:
By that reasoning, there would be no reason to ever fire both barrels at once. You gain no extra attacks, and both shots are at -4.

Pistol, Double-Barreled: "This pistol has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be fired independently as a separate action, or both can be shot at once with the same action."

So, what action are you taking?

A) Full-round action to full attack: You can fire one barrel, or you can fire both barrels at the same target at -4 if you can take more than one attack (via high BAB, Haste, or other non-TWF means).

B) Standard action: You can fire one barrel.

P,DB: "If both barrels are shot at once, they must both target the same creature or object, and the pistol becomes wildly inaccurate, imparting a –4 penalty on each shot."

When firing both barrels, each shot is a separate attack. In order to take both of those attacks, you must be able to take more than one attack.

So a guy with BAB +6/+1 with a single DBP can attack action for one shot at +6, or he can take a full attack and fire both barrels at the same target, one at +2, the other at -3.

If that guy has two DBPs, he can take a single shot from each of them, at +6 and +1.

If that guy has two DBPs and he's using TWF, he can fire one pistol with both barrels (2 attacks, both at -4 and TWF penalties) and one pistol with one barrel (no penalty other than TWF).

If the guy has six arms, and six DBPs, he could still only get three attacks, but he could use a different pistol for all three, not taking any -4 penalty for the 2nd barrel.


blahpers wrote:
Stynkk wrote:
More arms doesn't always = more attacks.
How does a marilith get an extra attack for each offhand, then? Multiweapon mastery doesn't grant that ability.

That is the question posed by this FAQ request.

-edit-
The answer to which might change my answers in the posts above! If each arm grants another off-hand weapon, then the guy with six arms and six DBPs can make six attacks, one shot from each barrel of each pistol, with only normal TWF(or MWF) penalties.


Grick wrote:
blahpers wrote:
By that reasoning, there would be no reason to ever fire both barrels at once. You gain no extra attacks, and both shots are at -4.

Pistol, Double-Barreled: "This pistol has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be fired independently as a separate action, or both can be shot at once with the same action."

So, what action are you taking?

A) Full-round action to full attack: You can fire one barrel, or you can fire both barrels at the same target at -4 if you can take more than one attack (via high BAB, Haste, or other non-TWF means).

B) Standard action: You can fire one barrel.

P,DB: "If both barrels are shot at once, they must both target the same creature or object, and the pistol becomes wildly inaccurate, imparting a –4 penalty on each shot."

When firing both barrels, each shot is a separate attack. In order to take both of those attacks, you must be able to take more than one attack.

So a guy with BAB +6/+1 with a single DBP can attack action for one shot at +6, or he can take a full attack and fire both barrels at the same target, one at +2, the other at -3.

If that guy has two DBPs, he can take a single shot from each of them, at +6 and +1.

If that guy has two DBPs and he's using TWF, he can fire one pistol with both barrels (2 attacks, both at -4 and TWF penalties) and one pistol with one barrel (no penalty other than TWF).

If the guy has six arms, and six DBPs, he could still only get three attacks, but he could use a different pistol for all three, not taking any -4 penalty for the 2nd barrel.

I follow somewhat your strict adherence to the rules, but this is clearly not the intent of the gun's description...

you only incur the "-4 on each" when "shot at once"...

It is clear you are supposed to be able to shoot both barrels as a single standard action.

It's probably unintentional that if combined with a free action reload this can also be interpreted to mean "per attack of a full attack action".
Most GMs would probably disallow this (perhaps allowing a single "double shot"(at -4) followed by single shot reloads per full attack).

I'll admit the language isn't 100% clear, but I don't think even the TWF double shot is disallowed by RAW. (4 attacks)

To answer the OP

Quote:

If for example, you have a creature with 6 arms, and 6 double barrel pistols, with rapid shot, and say a bab of 7 or higher, how many total rounds can you fire off with a full round attack?

6? or 12? Just curious.

As discussed, this depends more on how many offhands you have rather than attacks per se...

Full Attack - 4 bullets from 2 guns (7/2 --> 3/3 / -2/-2)
Full Attack w/ a Vestigial Limb used to TWF(specifically allowed in it's description) - 6 bullets from 3 guns (5/5/0 --> 1/1/1/1 / -4/-4)

Depending on whether an arm is specifically compatible with additional attacks (TWF or otherwise), you may be able to add more. (I'm thinking ITWF/GTWF here)
Otherwise, you will have to spend an action to reload.
Whether you can spend 2 actions to reload before you fire again is up to your GM.

Edit:
Further, I'd like to define some things.
If MultiWeapon Fighting with 6 arms (5 offhands), it is like TWF. This means with a BAB of 6+ you get 2 iterative and 5 extra(offhand) attacks for a total of 7.
Assuming every gun is fully loaded, this should equate to 13 or 14 bullets depending on how your GM runs things. (but you're right, expect table variation to as few as 7 shots.)


I'd like to thank the OP for giving me the idea to put the party against a marilith gunslinger. At least, if I want the party to die a horrible death.

Once again, I am reminded of Sixshooter from the Puppetmaster movies.


Grick wrote:
blahpers wrote:
Stynkk wrote:
More arms doesn't always = more attacks.
How does a marilith get an extra attack for each offhand, then? Multiweapon mastery doesn't grant that ability.

That is the question posed by this FAQ request.

-edit-
The answer to which might change my answers in the posts above! If each arm grants another off-hand weapon, then the guy with six arms and six DBPs can make six attacks, one shot from each barrel of each pistol, with only normal TWF(or MWF) penalties.

I agree grick. I took a look at the case mentioned and initially I thought like you did, but the bestiary is clear that the creature with many arms gets many offhands and this applies only to weapons in hand slots.

I'm not sure I like this ruling (especially for eidolons) but at the very least there should be some clarification on why you can generate so many offhanded attacks with the arm limbs wieling extra weapons and not with other things like multiple blade boots.

Dark Archive

I'm asking, as Im building a multi-class synthesis summoner / gunslinger, and I also have added a cowgirl gunslinger marilith to a home game... ^_^


Apologies for the necro.

Now normally if I'm just using iterative attacks I can attack with a weapon in each hand at no penalty as long as I don't get an extra attack, correct?

Therefore, with +10/+5 attacks and I have two pistols and I shoot one at +10 and one at +5. Out of ammo go home.

Now with double barreled pistols I can fire both barrels with the same attack action with a -4 on those two shots.

So does that mean:

+6/+6 right hand and +1/+1 left hand

Or

+6/+6 right hand and +5 left hand as I'm only firing one shot with the left so -4.

Again just using iterative attacks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Lemartes wrote:

Apologies for the necro.

Now normally if I'm just using iterative attacks I can attack with a weapon in each hand at no penalty as long as I don't get an extra attack, correct?

Therefore, with +10/+5 attacks and I have two pistols and I shoot one at +10 and one at +5. Out of ammo go home.

Now with double barreled pistols I can fire both barrels with the same attack action with a -4 on those two shots.

So does that mean:

+6/+6 right hand and +1/+1 left hand

Or

+6/+6 right hand and +5 left hand as I'm only firing one shot with the left so -4.

Again just using iterative attacks.

No, the double barreled weapons have been errata'd so that you shoot both barrels at once only when you take the standard action to do so. Using them on a full attack only does one shot per attack now.


Ah thanks much appreciated!


Yep, they changed it so that it's much less crazy now.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple hands + double barrel pistols. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions