Crit Threat vs. Opponent's AC


Rules Questions


I have a question regarding making a critical threat vs an opponent's AC. If, for example, a weapon is enhanced to have a crit threat of 15-20 and the character is making a full attack, on their last attack they roll within their crit threat but the total does not meet their opponent's AC do they still get a potential crit or do they have to hit the AC to make it count as a hit? I'm also looking for specific rules that support the responses. Many thanks!!!


If it's not a natural 20, it has to still hit the AC to be a crit.


That's what I thought but it was brought up that if the natural roll falls within the threat range they automatically get to roll to confirm the crit, even if the total didn't meet the AC.

Scarab Sages

RevanKrell wrote:
That's what I thought but it was brought up that if the natural roll falls within the threat range they automatically get to roll to confirm the crit, even if the total didn't meet the AC.

Whoever told you that was not correct. Cheapy's answer is the right one.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Obirandiath wrote:
RevanKrell wrote:
That's what I thought but it was brought up that if the natural roll falls within the threat range they automatically get to roll to confirm the crit, even if the total didn't meet the AC.
Whoever told you that was not correct. Cheapy's answer is the right one.

In practice, though, if you're rolling within your weapon's threat range but not hitting the target's AC, you're probably boned.


RevanKrell wrote:
That's what I thought but it was brought up that if the natural roll falls within the threat range they automatically get to roll to confirm the crit, even if the total didn't meet the AC.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Attack-Roll

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Critical-Hits

Quote:

Increased Threat Range

Sometimes your threat range is greater than 20. That is, you can score a threat on a lower number. In such cases, a roll of lower than 20 is not an automatic hit. Any attack roll that doesn't result in a hit is not a threat.

This took me 20 seconds.


Rasmus Wagner wrote:
RevanKrell wrote:
That's what I thought but it was brought up that if the natural roll falls within the threat range they automatically get to roll to confirm the crit, even if the total didn't meet the AC.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Attack-Roll

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Critical-Hits

Quote:

Increased Threat Range

Sometimes your threat range is greater than 20. That is, you can score a threat on a lower number. In such cases, a roll of lower than 20 is not an automatic hit. Any attack roll that doesn't result in a hit is not a threat.

This took me 20 seconds.

Thanks for this - I will be sure to bring it to our group's attention.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crit Threat vs. Opponent's AC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions