AoOs?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Do abilities that great you an AoO (like, Unexpected Strike, CAGM, etc) require Combat Reflexes to work if more that one AoO is provoked?

Sovereign Court

You can only make 1 attack of opportunity (regardless of source) per round unless you have the Combat Reflexes feat. Then you may make an AoO a number of times equal to your Dex modify, but only on unique provocations (triggers).


I understand Combat Reflexes, to expand my question; Unexpected Strike allows you to make a single AoO per rage against an incoming enemy. CAGM against any incoming attack in range.

For example...All on the same round.
You fighting one enemy that attacks you.
...CAGM AoO for attacking.
That enemy moves to another target leaving a threatened square.
...Regular AoO.
A second enemy enters melee with you and attacks.
...Unexpected Strike - for entering a threatened square.
...CAGM AoO for attacking.

Extreme example, but you should get the idea.


Not unless you have combat reflexes.


Not to doubt, but it seems each ability seems to read that it gives you extra AoOs on its own. CR does as well, but only standard AoOs. Is there a passage somewhere that specifically tells you it does not work this way? I thought specific over wrote general?


Delenot wrote:
I thought specific over wrote general?

That's true, but nothing in the specific grants extra attacks of opportunity only that you can make an attack of opportunity when you would not otherwise be able to.


From CAGM,
"but every attack against the barbarian provokes an attack of opportunity from her"

Doesn't this quote mean that for each attack you get an AoO? Even with out Combat Reflexes? Does provoke mean you GET an AoO, or that you are able to take one IF you have that action remaining?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Delenot wrote:

From CAGM,

"but every attack against the barbarian provokes an attack of opportunity from her"

Doesn't this quote mean that for each attack you get an AoO? Even with out Combat Reflexes? Does provoke mean you GET an AoO, or that you are able to take one IF you have that action remaining?

No, it means every attack provokes an attack of opportunity, which is separate from whether someone can respond to that provocation.


Thank you all for the explanations.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nezthalak wrote:
You can only make 1 attack of opportunity (regardless of source) per round unless you have the Combat Reflexes feat. Then you may make an AoO a number of times equal to your Dex modify, but only on unique provocations (triggers).

Nitpick: Combat Reflexes grants additional AoOs equal to your Dex bonus.

Normally you can make 1 AoO.

With Combat Reflexes and Dex 12 you can make 2 AoOs.

With CR and Dex 16 you can make 4 AoOs.

Sovereign Court

Grick wrote:
Nezthalak wrote:
You can only make 1 attack of opportunity (regardless of source) per round unless you have the Combat Reflexes feat. Then you may make an AoO a number of times equal to your Dex modify, but only on unique provocations (triggers).

Nitpick: Combat Reflexes grants additional AoOs equal to your Dex bonus.

Normally you can make 1 AoO.

With Combat Reflexes and Dex 12 you can make 2 AoOs.

With CR and Dex 16 you can make 4 AoOs.

oops. left out the "additional" Thanks for catching that Grick.


Yes. None of those powers grant you extra AoO. They just grant you the option of taking an AoO. So you will need to take combat reflexes. In my opinion, with all the extra AoO a barbarian can take, combat reflexes is a must if you go that route. I sunk a 14 dex to start and then bumped it to a 16 with a belt. This gives you a comfortable 4 AoO a round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoOs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions