Need help figuring animal companions!


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

My character is a 5th level ranger and I'm about to take one level of druid. If I do this the way I figure it is I should then be able to 2 animal companions of 3rd level. If you combine the effective druid level from both classes wouldnt that apply to both companions? Please help?


You only get a single 3rd level animal companion. The levels stack for hte purpose of the animal companion, but you dont get more then one.


Kolokotroni wrote:
You only get a single 3rd level animal companion. The levels stack for hte purpose of the animal companion, but you dont get more then one.

But I can't find anything that actually says you would not get an additional animal companion.


They are treated as the same ability, and they stack. That makes them a single ability with a higher bonus when combined. The fact that there are also specific archetypes for getting more then one companion should also make it pretty clear you dont get more then one.

Liberty's Edge

Class Level
The character’s druid level. The druid’s class levels stack with levels of any other classes that are entitled to an animal companion for the purpose of determining the companion’s statistics.

If they didn't stack and you did have two, then they would be very weak based on just the class lvl of that class. So in your case a lvl 2 companion and a lvl 1 companion while you are dealing with lvl 6 enemies....

Sczarni

TClifford wrote:

Class Level

The character’s druid level. The druid’s class levels stack with levels of any other classes that are entitled to an animal companion for the purpose of determining the companion’s statistics.

If they didn't stack and you did have two, then they would be very weak based on just the class lvl of that class. So in your case a lvl 2 companion and a lvl 1 companion while you are dealing with lvl 6 enemies....

+1

Thats exactly what I said. =b


No offense but that's seems like an extremely flawed way of thinking. With an archetype you have to take the entire thing. The ranger has an archetype that gives him traps but that doesn't make the hunters traps feats not exist. What if I took levels in paladinand my companion wasn't able to be used as a mount would i just not be allowed to take mount as an option. Doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me.

Liberty's Edge

Paladin Warhorses are not under the same rules as Animal Companions. The ranger companion is. But your logic is still flawed. You want two lvl 3 companions based on stacking the abilities but want them separate so you can have two of them.

Doesn't work that way. Under the rules, it is 1 3rd lvl companion. Now if you can convince your GM that you should have two, then you have a 2nd lvl Ranger companion and a 1st lvl Druid companion.


That wouldn't exactly be stacking then. And yes the paladin mount is treated like a druid animal companion. It says that directly in the text.

Sczarni

I am his GM...and the prob is that he took bon companion and has a level 6 ranger companion now...lol


That's it I'm takin my ball and going home. Things just aren't going my way.

Sczarni

haha Mahgeera will hang out with you.


ossian666 wrote:
I am his GM...and the prob is that he took bon companion and has a level 6 ranger companion now...lol

What's that feat called again? I cant find it.

Anyways ossian666 you are right, your levels stack for determining the power of the animal companion. So you are Ranger 5/Druid 1. that means your lvl 2 ranger companion advances to lvl 3 with a druid level.
The only reasonable alternative (that i would be willing to entertain as a GM) for two pets (without archetypes) is a Lvl 2 Ranger companion and a level 1 Druid companion.
Certainly not two lvl 3 companions.

If using the +3 lvls feat in conjunction with the 2 companion scenario, it is reasonable that this would only apply to your Ranger companion.
IF this feat is NOT ranger specific (if a full druid would be allowed to take the feat), then you might be able to take it again to improve your druid companion (depending on your GM).

If you have one companion with this feat then yes, lvl 6 Ranger/Druid pet.

Liberty's Edge

Take levels in Summoner. Then you will have 2 pets : an Eidolon and an Animal Companion ;-)

Grand Lodge

Boon Companion, from Seekers of Secrets. It isn't ranger-specific, and note the Special text (which I have missed earlier): You may select this feat more than once. The effects do not stack. Each time that you take the feat, it applies to a different animal companion or familiar.

Sczarni

But remember the errata text on SRD for Boon Companion.

His argument is that on page 50 of the PHB it says that levels in another class that grants an animal companion stack, and it doesn't specifically say you can't have another animal companion. So if they stack and he has 2 levels in a ranger and 1 in a druid with animal companion levels, then that is a total of 3 levels his new druid companion should have. It doesn't specifically say you have to split any levels up.


Take the druid Archetype Packlord and its kind of a moot point. He gets his 2 pets at a grand total of... 3rd level druid... that's 1 1st level pet and 1 2nd level pet, or 1 3rd level pet. Throw in boon companion to make up the ranger levels and that gives you... 6th level druid to play with? so 3 2nd level pets, 1 4th level and 2 1st level pets... 2 3rd level pets.


The problem is that i am already a level 5ranger so taking packlord at this point is kinda silly. Essentially that's what I'm doing but in a round about way . 2 level 3 companions is 2 level 3 companions no matter what route you use to achieve them.

Sczarni

But you aren't achieving 2 level 3 companions by being a 5 ranger/1 druid. You'd have your main companion at level 5 due to boon companion and a level 1 druid companion. You can't double dip and gain the same benefits from the ranger class TWICE. Its the same as playing a Ninja/Monk. You don't get a buttload more Ki just because you multiclassed that way. The game wasn't intended to be played with 1 character controlling an entire party.


ossian666 wrote:
But you aren't achieving 2 level 3 companions by being a 5 ranger/1 druid. You'd have your main companion at level 5 due to boon companion and a level 1 druid companion.

Not even that. As others have said, you just add the effective druid level for all of your classes and that is the level of your single animal companion. You don't get two unless a class feature (from an archetype, for instance) specifically tells you that you do. This is well established territory.

Scarab Sages

With the logic of the original post, I should take as many levels in sneak attacking classes as possible, because it says your levels stack for determining the power of sneak attack, but each class provides its own sneak attack progression. So a Rogue/Ninja/Assassin at level 10 should have a 15d6 sneak attack, right?

Nope. Just because the game doesn't say you don't get an additional companion doesn't mean you DO get one. You get what the game gives you, not what it doesn't not give you.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Once again lets look at the actual text from the book. "If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source," . If you can't have more than one companion then why is this text necessary. Also, the boon companion feat from seekers of secrets says you can take the feat multiple times and each time it applies to a different animal companion. I am pretty sure this book preceded any archetype that gave multiple companions. So now that I can back up my argument with material provided by the game makers. Can anyone show me material that says otherwise?


Starfinder Superscriber

Let's see what your DM said, he said no, so that's the answer.

However to quote the Druid's Animal Companion:
"The druid’s class levels stack with levels of any other classes that are entitled to an animal companion for the purpose of determining the companion’s statistics."

Seems pretty straight forward. One animal, level 3 druid stuff.

Also Boon companion:
Your bond with your animal companion or familiar is unusually close.

Prerequisites: Animal companion or familiar class ability.

Benefit: The abilities of your animal companion or familiar are calculated as though your class were four levels higher, to a maximum bonus equal to your character level*. If you have more than one animal companion or familiar, choose one to receive this benefit. If you lose or dismiss an animal companion or familiar, you may apply this feat to the replacement creature.

Special: You may select this feat more than once. The effects do not stack. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a different animal companion or familiar.

Familiar or Companion. You kind of left that part off there. They are saying if you're a wizard/druid you could take this feat twice, once for your animal companion and once for your familiar.


Reread what "bc" says "if you have more than one animal companion OR familiar". Move the word "or" in the text.

Liberty's Edge

Still, even if you can have 2 animal companions, it is still based on that class. So you can have a lvl 5 ranger companion w/ the feat and a lvl 1 Druid companion. You can't split the class levels between the 2 companions and make it 2 lvl 3 companions.

Also, per errata:

"Benefit: The abilities of your animal companion or familiar are calculated as though your class were four levels higher, to a maximum effective druid level of equal to your character level. If you have more than one animal companion or familiar, choose one to receive this benefit."

What this basically does is allow you to say have 4 lvls in Fighter and then take a lvl in Druid, but your animal companion would be based on your classes lvls not just your Druid lvl, making it a lvl 5 animal companion.

Also, just because the feat states you can put it on more than one companion, that just means that if your archype allows more than you, you have to pick which one gets the bonus.

So say your GM says you can have 2 companions. One Ranger and one Druid. You can only apply the boon to one of them, probably the Druid one if you are smart so you have a lvl 2 Ranger companion, and a lvl 5 Druid companion [vs lvl 6 ranger and lvl 1 druid]. Now eventually you could get boon again and get the ranger one up to the same lvl as the Druid one.

Mind you, if to go either route and not take any lvls in ranger again, it will max out at lvl 9 and the druid companion will always be 1 lvl below your class lvl.

Or, you can just stack them like it says and have one animal companion at your class lvl.

Sczarni

At this point as I told him...its a matter of RAW vs. RAI. As written its confusing and can be misleading (to some). As intended its meant to be the PC gets 1 animal companion that can use any levels in an animal companion class to advance its level. Not a way to have each class count for multiple companions...there isn't a class out there that gets to double dip in that fashion.


Thank you! So you can see how I would tend to believe that a second companion would come available. Levels of the companions aside .

Scarab Sages

ossian666 wrote:
At this point as I told him...its a matter of RAW vs. RAI. As written its confusing and can be misleading (to some). As intended its meant to be the PC gets 1 animal companion that can use any levels in an animal companion class to advance its level. Not a way to have each class count for multiple companions...there isn't a class out there that gets to double dip in that fashion.

I actually don't understand how it's confusing. If he gets another animal companion, then my super-multiclassed sneak attacker gets 15d6 sneak attack, right?

Animal Companion is just like Sneak Attack (you know what I mean :P). Levels stack as far as the abilities of your animal companion are concerned, but nowhere does it say you get additional companions.

Also, Jlin, I can quote Boon Companion too:

"Your bond with your animal companion or familiar is unusually close." Notice the lack of plurality.

Sczarni

Yes. Because based on emphasis and reading it could be interpreted the way you say...but it isn't the intended interpretation.

Quote:
If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source, her effective druid levels stack for the purposes of determining the statistics and abilities of the companion.

Thats the phrase you are looking at. They are talking about IF you would. Nothing states that you would most definitely get another companion.

The clearer and more precise description that they were going for would be, "If a character would receive an animal companion from another source, her effective druid levels from all sources stack for the purposes of determining the statistics and abilities of the companion."

Its a matter of poorly chosen language as is seen all over the books. There are subtle language changes all over that need made for clarification and this is one of them. Its meant to be interpreted as, "If you would receive an animal companion from new class levels and already have one from another class, then the new levels taken are just stacked on top of the ones from the previous class." Its a simple if/then statement gone horribly wrong.


If you have multiple animal companions from say...Packlord, then you could also take multiple instances of Boon Companion.

Stop trying to argue with your GM, Rule 0 applies.

Sczarni

I am ALWAYS open to hearing logic on why something should be one way or another and if you can quote the book then cool, but in this scenario its a matter of interpretation and intent. Both I think are skewed.


The intent of the rule is a little shrouded by some less than perfect wording. But what is happening here is the ambiguity in the writing is being twisted into a mechanic that is A: not intended and B: broken (not to mention C: blatant munchkinery)

The rules are written to maintain balance in the game, not to be analyzed from every angle in order to find the loophole that breaks the balance.

In any case:

Xaaon of Korvosa wrote:
Stop trying to argue with your GM, Rule 0 applies.

The GM is always right, even when he is wrong.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Need help figuring animal companions! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions