Maneuvers and Attacks of Opportunity


Rules Questions


When you use a maneuver as your attack of opportunity do you still provoke an attack of opportunity from your target?


Yes. Do remember that only combat manuevers tha can be done as an attack can be done as an attack of opportunity opportunity

Yes:

Disarm, Sunder, trip,

No: (assuming no feats that speed it up beyond a standard action)

grapple, bull rush,

Reposition, Steal, dirty trick. (from the APG)


arvernian wrote:
When you use a maneuver as your attack of opportunity do you still provoke an attack of opportunity from your target?

If the maneuver provokes yes. You would then go from the last AoO provoked and work back to the initial ability.

If you went to grapple someone without the feat and they tried to disarm you without the feat as an AoO, you would get an AoO on them, the disarm would be resolved (and if successful the weapon would be removed from your grapple check) for their AoO and then the grapple would be resolved.


So if a creature with a bow attempts a ranged attack from a square you threaten and you respond by sundering his bow, he would be able to make an AoO against you with an unnarmed attack only since he has no melee weapon ready? Assuming that he doesn't have improved unnarmed does this count as the same opportunity for or do you get the extra AoO with combat reflexes?

Also if you attempt a trip on a caster, the spell would be lost if they choose to take their AoO yes?


arvernian wrote:

So if a creature with a bow attempts a ranged attack from a square you threaten and you respond by sundering his bow, he would be able to make an AoO against you with an unnarmed attack only since he has no melee weapon ready? Assuming that he doesn't have improved unnarmed does this count as the same opportunity for or do you get the extra AoO with combat reflexes?

If a creature with a bow attempts a ranged attack from a square you threaten, it provokes an AoO from you. If you do a sunder combat maneuver and don't have Improved Sunder or something similar, you provoke an AoO from him if he is threatening you. If he doesn't have Improved Unarmed Strike and has no melee weapon readied, he's not threatening your square and can't take the AoO granted by your sunder combat maneuver.

Quote:


Also if you attempt a trip on a caster, the spell would be lost if they choose to take their AoO yes?

No. If a creature provokes an AoO from you by casting a spell in a square you threaten (without casting defensively), you can do a trip combat maneuver. If you don't have Improved Trip or something similar, you provoke an AoO from him as long as he's threatening your square. He takes his AoO, then you attempt to trip him, then he makes whatever the GM decides is an appropriate Concentration check for being tripped (probably 10 or 15 + spell level, concentration for trip isn't clearly defined), then he possibly casts his spell.


BigNorseWolf wrote:

Do remember that only combat manuevers tha can be done as an attack can be done as an attack of opportunity opportunity

Yes:

Disarm, Sunder, trip

Note that by the rules, Sunder can only be done during the attack action, not in place of any attack.

Sunder: "You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack."

It must be both in place of a melee attack and as part of an attack action, which is a standard action. No AoO sunders or sundering in a full attack.

Since the staff marked the FAQ thread as 'no reply required' we're forced to assume the intent is as it's written.


WRoy wrote:
arvernian wrote:

So if a creature with a bow attempts a ranged attack from a square you threaten and you respond by sundering his bow, he would be able to make an AoO against you with an unnarmed attack only since he has no melee weapon ready? Assuming that he doesn't have improved unnarmed does this count as the same opportunity for or do you get the extra AoO with combat reflexes?

If a creature with a bow attempts a ranged attack from a square you threaten, it provokes an AoO from you. If you do a sunder combat maneuver and don't have Improved Sunder or something similar, you provoke an AoO from him if he is threatening you. If he doesn't have Improved Unarmed Strike and has no melee weapon readied, he's not threatening your square and can't take the AoO granted by your sunder combat maneuver.

Quote:


Also if you attempt a trip on a caster, the spell would be lost if they choose to take their AoO yes?
No. If a creature provokes an AoO from you by casting a spell in a square you threaten (without casting defensively), you can do a trip combat maneuver. If you don't have Improved Trip or something similar, you provoke an AoO from him as long as he's threatening your square. He takes his AoO, then you attempt to trip him, then he makes whatever the GM decides is an appropriate Concentration check for being tripped (probably 10 or 15 + spell level, concentration for trip isn't clearly defined), then he possibly casts his spell.

Technically, since an AoO occurs before the action that triggers it, he doesn't have to make a concentration check, assuming he's fine to cast from prone.


Weables wrote:


Technically, since an AoO occurs before the action that triggers it, he doesn't have to make a concentration check, assuming he's fine to cast from prone.

I was assuming a GM would apply either the "vigorous motion" or "violent motion" requirement to a caster who was tripped while casting, considering taking damage from an AoO while casting requires a concentration check. Either is arguably applicable.


WRoy wrote:
arvernian wrote:

So if a creature with a bow attempts a ranged attack from a square you threaten and you respond by sundering his bow, he would be able to make an AoO against you with an unnarmed attack only since he has no melee weapon ready? Assuming that he doesn't have improved unnarmed does this count as the same opportunity for or do you get the extra AoO with combat reflexes?

If a creature with a bow attempts a ranged attack from a square you threaten, it provokes an AoO from you. If you do a sunder combat maneuver and don't have Improved Sunder or something similar, you provoke an AoO from him if he is threatening you. If he doesn't have Improved Unarmed Strike and has no melee weapon readied, he's not threatening your square and can't take the AoO granted by your sunder combat maneuver.

Quote:


Also if you attempt a trip on a caster, the spell would be lost if they choose to take their AoO yes?
No. If a creature provokes an AoO from you by casting a spell in a square you threaten (without casting defensively), you can do a trip combat maneuver. If you don't have Improved Trip or something similar, you provoke an AoO from him as long as he's threatening your square. He takes his AoO, then you attempt to trip him, then he makes whatever the GM decides is an appropriate Concentration check for being tripped (probably 10 or 15 + spell level, concentration for trip isn't clearly defined), then he possibly casts his spell.

Now that I think about it the logic of your first post should also apply to the second unless the wizard is wielding a dagger or some such in one hand while casting (or another caster wielding an appropriate weapon).

In the case of the bow is there a feat available in one of the supplements that allows a character to use a ranged weapon to make a melee attack against adjacent enemies for the purpose of threatening square? Should a character armed with a bow and arrow threaten adjacent squares since he can use the ammo to make a melee attack (or do improvised weapons not count)?


arvernian wrote:


Now that I think about it the logic of your first post should also apply to the second unless the wizard is wielding a dagger or some such in one hand while casting (or another caster wielding an appropriate weapon).

Correct. I didn't want to repeat myself more than necessary.

Quote:
In the case of the bow is there a feat available in one of the supplements that allows a character to use a ranged weapon to make a melee attack against adjacent enemies for the purpose of threatening square? Should a character armed with a bow and arrow threaten adjacent squares since he can use the ammo to...

Snap Shot.

And no, you don't threaten with your ammo as an improvised weapon unless you take the appropriate action to ready the arrow as an improvised weapon. Drawing an arrow with a free action to use as ammunition for a bow is different than readying it in your hand to stab someone as an improvised weapon.

An object readied as an improvised weapon, however, does let you threaten squares because at that point you count as armed.


WRoy wrote:
And no, you don't threaten with your ammo as an improvised weapon unless you take the appropriate action to ready the arrow as an improvised weapon.

I would avoid the term "ready" and instead use "wield."

Ready is a game mechanic that requires a standard action and messes with the initiative order. Changing an item from held to wielded is a free action you can take on your turn. (Like deciding if you threaten with your gauntlet or the sword it's holding)


Grick wrote:


I would avoid the term "ready" and instead use "wield."

Good point and sorry for the sloppy verbage.


Back up a little. Say there is a cleric casting a spell and wielding a mace. A PC with combat reflexes uses a trip as an AoO to attempt to knock the cleric over. The cleric then uses his AoO to disarm the PC. Does the PC get another AoO because of combat reflexes or does the cleric's AoO count as part of the same opportunity?


arvernian wrote:
A PC with combat reflexes uses a trip as an AoO to attempt to knock the cleric over. The cleric then uses his AoO to disarm the PC. Does the PC get another AoO because of combat reflexes or does the cleric's AoO count as part of the same opportunity?

If the cleric's disarm attempt provokes, the PC is entitled to another AoO if he can (and chooses to) make one.

They are not the same opportunity, as the first was caused by the cleric casting, the second was caused by an untrained disarm attempt.


OK let's say a PC has improved trip, disarm or sunder but NOT improved unnarmed combat. If he attempts a trip, disarm or sunder bare handed does that allow an AoO for the unarmed attack?


arvernian wrote:
OK let's say a PC has improved trip, disarm or sunder but NOT improved unnarmed combat. If he attempts a trip, disarm or sunder bare handed does that allow an AoO for the unarmed attack?

While attacking unarmed provokes an attack of opportunity from the character you attack, and while a combat maneuver is an attack, the feat (Improved Disarm for example) specifically overrides that by stating "You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing a disarm combat maneuver."


Grick wrote:
While attacking unarmed provokes an attack of opportunity from the character you attack, and while a combat maneuver is an attack, the feat (Improved Disarm for example) specifically overrides that by stating "You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing a disarm combat maneuver."

To pile on to Grick's statement, without Improved Unarmed Strike you only provoke when you make an Unarmed Srike.

You would provoke an Attack of Opportunity by the Combat Maneuver rules for simply attempting a Combat Maneuver (let's use Grick's Disarm example) without the proper training (feats), in this case Improved Disarm.

Making a combat maneuver unarmed is not an unarmed strike, it is a combat maneuver. Wonky rules, but true.


Grick wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:

Do remember that only combat manuevers tha can be done as an attack can be done as an attack of opportunity opportunity

Yes:

Disarm, Sunder, trip

Note that by the rules, Sunder can only be done during the attack action, not in place of any attack.

There is no "attack action". I don't know why they added that terminology at all.

Quote:

Since the staff marked the FAQ thread as 'no reply required' we're forced to assume the intent is as it's written.

That's ridiculously circular. Edit: Looking at it again I'm not saying you're wrong, but as written it says x they haven't said it doesn't so it says X is circular if we're discussing whether it says x or y.


BigNorseWolf wrote:


There is no "attack action". I don't know why they added that terminology at all.

Under Standard Actions in combat, the first thing listed is, "Attack." That is an attack action. Everything between that and the next type of standard action (Activate Magic Item) are further explanations of the subsets and nuances of the attack action.

The whole argument presented in the sunder thread that everything listed under the Standard Action, Move Action, etc headers are just options for an action seems a bit strained and even goes against text:

PRD, Action Types>Standard Action: wrote:
A standard action allows you to do something, most commonly to make an attack or cast a spell. See Table: Actions in Combat for other standard actions.

It doesn't say go look at a table to see options for your standard action. "Attack," is a standard action... the attack action.

Quote:


That's ridiculously circular. Edit: Looking at it again I'm not saying you're wrong, but as written it says x they haven't said it doesn't so it says X is circular if we're discussing whether it says x or y.

It's not necessarily circular unless every stated assumption on these boards after debate that ends with differing opinions only being given a, "no reply required," response is circular.

When the, "no reply required," flag shows up it usually means they don't consider the terminology ambiguous. Applying that logical assumption to the sunder wording means the variance from disarm and trip's wording is probably intentional. Taking a strict reading of that intentionally different wording would mean that you can only sunder when using the attack standard action in melee... not with a ranged attack standard action, not as an AoO, and not with iterative attacks as part of a full-attack action.

Not saying that I agree with that change to sunder from 3.5... but it's a much more logical interpretation of, "no reply required," than to say they got their sunder text so obviously wrong that they felt no clarification was necessary.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Maneuvers and Attacks of Opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions