
Convoluted Character |
4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I've been seeing varying opinions on how Flame Blade operates, so I've decided to consolidate it and see if we can standardize the ruling and possibly get some thing official.
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, DF
Range 0 ft.
Effect sword-like beam
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes
A 3-foot-long, blazing beam of red-hot fire springs forth from your hand. You wield this blade-like beam as if it were a scimitar. Attacks with the flame blade are melee touch attacks. The blade deals 1d8 points of fire damage + 1 point per two caster levels (maximum +10). Since the blade is immaterial, your Strength modifier does not apply to the damage. A flame blade can ignite combustible materials such as parchment, straw, dry sticks, and cloth.
1. Does Flame Blade require scimitar proficiency?
This generally doesn't come up as Druids and followers of Sarenrae already have the proficiency. But what about other characters using this spell? (Sarenrae Bard, Pathfinder Savant etc)
Edit: There is a similar spell, Gozreh's Trident, with text almost identical to Flame Blade but it states "You wield this spear-like bolt as if it were a trident (you are proficient with the bolt)." - Gods and Magic pg 19.
2. What is the crit range?
a) 18-20/x2, just as a scimitar
b) It does actually create a scimitar, just 3-foot long flame, therefore its only x2
3. Does Weapon Focus (Scimitar) Apply?
Yes, since it is wielded as a scimitar. In addition Weapon Specialization and Fighter Training would apply.
4. Can you use Weapon Finesse with it?
a) Yes, its immaterial, no more dificult then waving your hand around.
b) No, its wielded as a scimitar which is one-handed.
5. Can you use a Flame Blade with Dervish Dance?
Yes, however it doesn't get the dex added to its damage.
6. What about Arcane Strike and other feats and spells that enhance weapons?
a) Yes, it is a scimitar made of fire!
b) No, although it is wielded as a scimitar (thus benefiting from weapon focus and the like) it is not an actual weapon but a spell, and can not be imbueded with Arcane Strike. Similarly it cannot be the target of Magic Weapon or Holy Sword.
7. How do metamagic feats interact with Flame Blade?
Metamagic feats apply to every swing. Maximized Spell cause each swing to deal 8+1/2lvl, Dazing Spell has a chance to daze on each hit.
Point out anything I'm missing and I'll add that in.

Hawkson |

#1 Yes
#2 all spells have a x2, unless other wise.
#3 Focus yes, Specialization ? I think I remember reading that feats like that only applied to the 1st attack, don't remember what book, sorry :(
#4 better answer is that it is a touch spell, all of them can use Finesse.
#5 useless feat in this case.
#6 B is my way.
#7 What about Twin Spell (3.5 spell goes off twice, +4 Levels) 2 blades or 2d8 + Full Level ?

Interzone |

My 2c:
1- Yes. I think if it is 'wielded as if it were a scimitar' then any question about anything to do with wielding it should be like a scimitar would normally be. If you wield a scimitar and you are non-proficient what would happen? Why would it not happen with something that works 'as a scimitar'?
2- A, see above. If it wasn't used like a scimitar, why would they use that text rather than just saying 'a touch attack that does X damage'?
3- Yes, see above.
4- This one I am hesitant, scimitar means no but touch attack means yes...
5- This would make it a definite yes to using finesse, but no Dex to damage.
6- I would go with A, i see it as being a weapon made purely of magic. A weapon, nonetheless.
7- Yeah, that is how I would do it.

Convoluted Character |

I did a little more searching and I found something that might apply.
In Gods and Magic pg 19 There is a spell Gozreh's trident. Basically the same wording as Flame Blade except for,
"You wield this spear-like bolt as if it were a trident (you are proficient witht he bolt)."
This seems to indicate that Flame Blade grants proficiency as well.
I'll update the OP.

Convoluted Character |

It's an immaterial touch attack delivered via spell. It functions "as a scimitar" but is not a scimitar. It is one-handed and you are considered to be casting a spell, not wielding a weapon and therefor proficiencies don't enter into it. It is not a light weapon--it is an immaterial touch attack. You cannot hold anything in the hand that is wielding a flameblade.
That clears up
1 Flame Blade does not require prodiciency because its considered a Spell
2 It has a crit of 20/x2 since its concsidered a spell not a weapon
4 It is considered a One-Handed Weapon and therefore can not be Finessed
6 It is considered a Spell and so cannot be the target of feats and affects such as Arcane Strike and Magic Weapon

![]() |

4 It is considered a One-Handed Weapon and therefore can not be Finessed
The flame blade is an "immaterial" melee touch attack. Though you, the druid caster, are wielding it "as a scimitar" it's a spell.
Additionally sunder reads, "You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent ..."
And disarm reads, "If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying ..."
Flame Blade is not an item. It's a spell.
You can't sunder or disarm a flame blade just like you can't disarm a shocking grasp or sunder mage armor.
It's an immaterial touch attack delivered via spell. It functions "as a scimitar" but is not a scimitar. It is one-handed and you are considered to be casting a spell, not wielding a weapon and therefor proficiencies don't enter into it. It is not a light weapon--it is an immaterial touch attack. You cannot hold anything in the hand that is wielding a flameblade.
Considering the two bold parts, I'd say that it can be finessed

Someoneknocking |

So if you took Weapon Focus: Touch Attack would that apply to the spell? Also would Weapon Focus: Scimitar apply? I don't think the second would because it wouldn't wield the same way an actual scimitar would, but by the rules is there anything that says it wouldn't? Lastly is it possible to make Weapon Specialization: Touch Attack?

![]() |

would Weapon Focus: Scimitar apply? I don't think the second would because it wouldn't wield the same way an actual scimitar would, but by the rules is there anything that says it wouldn't?Acutally Weapon focus scimitar does work with the flame blade.
So if you took Weapon Focus: Touch Attack would that apply to the spell?....Lastly is it possible to make Weapon Specialization: Touch Attack?
I'm not to sure if weapon focus/specialization (touch attack) would work with the flame blade as weapon focus/specialization(scimitar) does. But for other spells such as shocking grasp weapon focus/specialization (touch attack) should work.