
Jadd |

Hex Magus feature says the hex is resolved as if the magus levels were witch levels and specifically "that hex".
Will a hex granted by Hex Arcana be considered as 0 levels as far as save DC, effect, etc... are concerned?
If this question has already been answered(or included in errata), I apologize. I have spent the past hour or so browsing everything including "Hexcrafter" in the title within the rules questions board and not noticed anything regarding the question. So I have decided to put it up.

DreamAtelier |
The reason you're not seeing anything in hexcrafter on this issue is because it's a function of how hexes work in general (which is described in the Witch entry).
Most hexes, unless they specifically state otherwise, determine their DC by adding 10 + 1/2 the witch's level + the witch's int modifier. So, if the hex magus' levels are treated as witch levels for his hexes, then his hexes will determine their DC based on 10 + 1/2 his magus levels + his int modifier.
Similarly, the effect of his hexes (such as whether evil eye provides a -2 or -4 penalty, or how long misfortune lasts), will be determined by checking the text of the hex and comparing the references to "if a witch is level X or higher" (and similar phrasing) to his magus levels.

Will Black |

While we're on the subject, is there any clarification on this line in the Hexcrafter entry in Ultimate Magic?
Hex Arcana: A hexcrafter gains access to the following magus arcana, or may select any witch hex in place of a magus arcana. At 12th level, the hexcrafter may select a hex or major hex in place of a magus arcana. At 20th level, a hexcrafter can select a hex, major hex, or grand hex in place of a magus arcana. He cannot select any hex or arcana more than once.
Magi don't gain a Magus Arcana at level 20.

![]() |

While we're on the subject, is there any clarification on this line in the Hexcrafter entry in Ultimate Magic?
Hex Arcana: A hexcrafter gains access to the following magus arcana, or may select any witch hex in place of a magus arcana. At 12th level, the hexcrafter may select a hex or major hex in place of a magus arcana. At 20th level, a hexcrafter can select a hex, major hex, or grand hex in place of a magus arcana. He cannot select any hex or arcana more than once.
Magi don't gain a Magus Arcana at level 20.
My guess here is so that you can take them using the Extra Arcana feat at higher than 20th level.

![]() |

While we're on the subject, is there any clarification on this line in the Hexcrafter entry in Ultimate Magic?
Hex Arcana: A hexcrafter gains access to the following magus arcana, or may select any witch hex in place of a magus arcana. At 12th level, the hexcrafter may select a hex or major hex in place of a magus arcana. At 20th level, a hexcrafter can select a hex, major hex, or grand hex in place of a magus arcana. He cannot select any hex or arcana more than once.
Magi don't gain a Magus Arcana at level 20.
Yes there has been clarification. That is a typo and should read:
At 18th level, a hexcrafter can select a hex, major hex, or grand hex in place of a magus arcana.

Jadd |

Great answer DreamAtelier, but I guess my question was a bit off. So my bad.
Hex Magus states "He gains the benefit and uses of that hex as if he were a witch of a level equal to his magus level."
I am a bit worried that the magus level only applies to the one hex picked at fourth level in place of spell recall. Since in the Magus Arcana feature it says nothing about using magus levels instead for all the hexes picked in place of arcana.

![]() |

Doing some thread necro:
1) Can a hexcrafter magus who is high enough to get a major hex take the spell hex feat?
2) Is there any way for a hexcrafter to get split hex (it only states witch 10th level as prereq. Most likely a hexcrafter doesn't fulfill that requirement, or does he?
1) Nope, hexcrafters don't get the "Major Hex" class feature.
2) Nope.