Many important rules questions.


Rules Questions


1) Can the ring of delayed postpone:
death effects?
Banishing and similiar enchantment?
Blindness deafness?
2) Holy vindicator
The stigmata are functional even if you wear a periapt of wound closure? In this way, a PC can activate the stigmata all the day without stopping the bonuses.
Vindicator's shield: the shield must be bracing to give the sacred bonus of the number of dice of the PC's channel energy? Or can a PC channel into it, put it behind and have only the channel bonus to AC, without bracing it?
3) Can an true neutral eidolon enter in a magic circle area or a protection from alignement area?
4) Give "grant the initiative" power of tactis inquisition again the wisdom bonus to a inquisitor AC?
5) A PC can start a grapple maneuver with creature of any size smaller or greater than his own? If yes, an halfling can immobilize a dragon!
6) Bestiary 2.
Grant the carnivourus blob's absorb flesh ability to deal COS damage when the blob make a slam attack?
"it devours living flesh with a voracious speed by dealing Constitution drain on creatures it slams or constricts."
But the COS damage are only indicated to the constrict attack! Is it an error?
7) If a life oracle use the energy body revelation and pass through a living allied creature’s square at that moment is fightning, what happens?
8) When a PC uses the shield of swings feat, it reduces only the weapon dice + STR bonuses, or reduces also the channel smite damage, enhancement bonuses and similiar damage?
9) Can be used channel allignment on a true neutral outsider? And on a native outsider?


Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
1) Can the ring of delayed postpone: death effects? Banishing and similiar enchantment? Blindness deafness?

Ring of Delayed Doom works against any harmful effect that allows a saving throw to resist or mitigate it.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:


2) Holy vindicator
The stigmata are functional even if you wear a periapt of wound closure?

Periapt of Wound Closure: "Hit point damage caused by bleeding is negated for the wearer of the periapt"

Stigmata (Su): "Activating stigmata causes bleed damage equal to half the vindicator's class level, and this bleed damage is not halted by curative magic."

RAW: looks like it works, assuming that "halted" means cessation of the bleeding effect rather than 'made irrelevant'.
RAI: certainly not.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:


Vindicator's shield: the shield must be bracing to give the sacred bonus of the number of dice of the PC's channel energy? Or can a PC channel into it, put it behind and have only the channel bonus to AC, without bracing it?

Vindicator's Shield (Su): "when worn, the shield gives the vindicator a sacred bonus..."

The shield must be worn in order to provide the bonus.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
3) Can an true neutral eidolon enter in a magic circle area or a protection from alignement area?

Eidolon: "due to its tie to its summoner, an eidolon can touch and attack creatures warded by protection from evil and similar effects that prevent contact with summoned creatures"

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
4) Give "grant the initiative" power of tactis inquisition again the wisdom bonus to a inquisitor AC?

Grant the Initiative (Ex): "At 8th level, you and all allies within 30 feet may add your Wisdom bonus to your initiative checks."

It has nothing to do with AC. It lets you add your Wisdom bonus to your initiative and that of your allies. You probably already add your Wis bonus to your init, but this grants the ability to your friends as well. You do not add the bonus twice.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
5) A PC can start a grapple maneuver with creature of any size smaller or greater than his own? If yes, an halfling can immobilize a dragon!

There is no size restriction on the grapple combat maneuver. There may be a restriction if you are using a special ability like Grab. Yes, it's possible for a halfling to grapple a dragon.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:

6) Bestiary 2.

Grant the carnivourus blob's absorb flesh ability to deal COS damage when the blob make a slam attack?
"it devours living flesh with a voracious speed by dealing Constitution drain on creatures it slams or constricts."
But the COS damage are only indicated to the constrict attack! Is it an error?

Not sure.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
7) If a life oracle use the energy body revelation and pass through a living allied creature’s square at that moment is fightning, what happens?

Energy Body (Su): "Once per round, if you pass through a living allied creature's square or the ally passes through your square, it heals 1d6 hit points + 1 per oracle level."

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
8) When a PC uses the shield of swings feat, it reduces only the weapon dice + STR bonuses, or reduces also the channel smite damage, enhancement bonuses and similiar damage?

I would assume Shield of Swings reduces the entire damage dealt by the attack, barring extra dice.

Strength, enhancement, power attack, any other source of static damage, reduced by half.

Sneak Attack, Flaming, etc, not reduced. Basically the same thing (yet opposite) of a critical hit.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
9) Can be used channel allignment on a true neutral outsider? And on a native outsider?

When you use Alignment Channel you must choose an alignment subtype (chaos, evil, good, or law). When you do so, it has no effect on creatures that are not outsiders of the chosen alignment subtype.


3) Can an true neutral eidolon enter in a magic circle area or a protection from alignement area?

-Yes, twice.

As long as an eidelon is there on the summoners regular summons, he is immune to magic circles as per the summoners class feature. (if he comes back extra times per day he may not be but...) The eidolon has easy pass because its soul is meshed up with the summoners.

In addition, due to its tie to its summoner, an eidolon can touch and attack creatures warded by protection from evil and similar effects that prevent contact with summoned creatures.

Magic circles no longer protect against all outsiders. True neutral outsiders are immune to all of the circles. Since some summoned monsters take your alignment, even when celestial or fiendish, many things a true neutral character summons can hokey pokey through the circle all they want.

5) A PC can start a grapple maneuver with creature of any size smaller or greater than his own? If yes, an halfling can immobilize a dragon!

Yup. There are no longer any size restrictions on grappling. Your halfling monk can pin a dragon. If you're playing at that level the extraordinary feats of "ordinary" beings is to be expected.


If the ediolon is summoned by summon eidolon?

If I can channel 5d6 and put a channel energy into my buckler then I keep it tied back, i lose only the +1 buckler, not the +5 bonus fron channel to AC. Right?
If not and I wear a buckler and attack with the weapon in the buclker's hand, lose I the buclker bonus but not the channel bonus to AC?


Is considered harmful a death effect if I will use a ring of delayed doom?


I am fairly certain that The intent of the Holy vindicator is that they will be holding the shield in hand.

I disagree with Grick that Grant the Initiative won't add wis mod to your initiative again if you already add it. It specifically says "you and your allies" and the bonus is untyped. It stacks.

Owner - House of Books and Games LLC

As a side comment, I usually skip threads titled "several questions," "a lot of questions," "many questions," etc.

I may be alone here, but I'd rather see threads focused on one question rather than grab bag threads covering several (or 9!) unrelated questions.

In addition, I can then tell by the thread title whether I have anything to contribute or whether the discussion will be of value to me. In general, with the thousands of threads around here, I just skip "lots o'question" threads.


Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:

If the ediolon is summoned by summon eidolon?

If I can channel 5d6 and put a channel energy into my buckler then I keep it tied back, i lose only the +1 buckler, not the +5 bonus fron channel to AC. Right?
If not and I wear a buckler and attack with the weapon in the buclker's hand, lose I the buclker bonus but not the channel bonus to AC?

When referring to a shield, the term worn means on your arm, not your back. That would be carried. You would not lose the sacred bonus for losing the shield bonus I don't think.


If the ediolon is summoned by summon eidolon?

Then it can still walk through protection from X, because there is no protection from "meh, i don't care"


A death effect is considered harmless for the if i will use the ring of delayed doom?

Grand Lodge

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
A death effect is considered harmless for the if i will use the ring of delayed doom?

If an effect is harmless, it's not harmful, so you can't use the ring to delay it. If death is harmful to your body and/or mind, you can choose to use the ring on it, but you don't have to if you want to take the effect and save your ring for later.

If you use one of the gems on an effect that qualifies, the effect is delayed for one minute, then it affects you.


If an oracle with energy body passes through an ally's square, takes it an attack of oppurtunity? Can the ally fight normally?

How many creatures can grapple a carnivourus blob?
Can the blob survive into a lake?


Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
If an oracle with energy body passes through an ally's square, takes it an attack of oppurtunity? Can the ally fight normally?

Passes through means it doesn't end it's turn sharing the space. It just moves through the space. If the oracle leaves a threatened square, the threatening creature may choose to make an attack of opportunity. In the case of an ally, the ally is probably not going to hit the oracle for moving through his square. If something else threatens him, then he may provoke from them.

The ally is not hampered in any way. You do not have to stop fighting just because an ally moved through your space.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
How many creatures can grapple a carnivourus blob?

A Carnivorous Blob is Colossal, which is 30' space (6 squares to a side). This means there are 28 adjacent squares. 28 medium creatures could grapple it, or fewer large creatures, or far more tiny creatures if they are sharing space with each other.

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
Can the blob survive into a lake?

For a time. It's an ooze, and an ooze still needs to breathe.


Well, the ooze can grapple 28 medium creatures. Right?


The oracle takes an attack of opportunity by the opponet if he pass in an ally space and the ally in fighting. Right?


Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
The oracle takes an attack of opportunity by the opponet if he pass in an ally space and the ally in fighting. Right?

No. The oracle provokes an attack of opportunity from any opponent that is threatening the ally's square the oracle is passing through.

Grand Lodge

Just remember that while a halfling may ATTEMPT to grapple a dragon... the pile of minuses to the attempt, plus the fact the GM may disallow a result he deems impossible pretty much insures that very few would be stupid enough to try to trip an Ancient Colossal specimen.

Grand Lodge

Alex_UNLIMITED wrote:
Well, the ooze can grapple 28 medium creatures. Right?

Probably, on the assumption that it can form a new pseudopod instantly for each slam and if it takes a -20 to each grapple check. Otherwise one.


Yeah, i have think it.
Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Many important rules questions. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.