Can I learn Extra Rogue Talent even if I haven't gotten a Rogue Talent yet.


Rules Questions


Supposing I'm a level 1 Rogue, or a level 3 Archaeologist. Can I take this feat? It still is a class feature.


Quote:
Prerequisite: Rogue talent class feature.

No, you don't have the class feature until you are of the level that you obtain it. Otherwise I could take spell perfection at level 1 because some day I will have the prerequisites.


Ya, what Abe said. Although Sean K. Reynolds believes the game would be better if you could, and I warming to that as a houserule.


not really... I never said anything about counting future metamagic feats and skill ranks. I specifically said class features.


Which don't exist till you have them same as the others.


Otherwise every Tetori Monk would grab Final Embrace at first level for the grab and constrict they don't get till 15 and 18.


By this reasoning I should be able to take horse master at level 1 if I take a level in cavalier even if I never take another level in cavalier again.


Requiring that you stay in the class until you get the feature ameliorates the class biscotti effect.


Abraham spalding wrote:
By this reasoning I should be able to take horse master at level 1 if I take a level in cavalier even if I never take another level in cavalier again.

Before you go too overboard, remember that even under Sean's preferred way of doing it, you still couldn't use the feat until you met the prereq. So taking a feat that requires a class feature you don't get until later, and then not taking enough levels to get that feature means that you have a feat which does nothing.


Bobson wrote:
Before you go too overboard, remember that even under Sean's preferred way of doing it, you still couldn't use the feat until you met the prereq. So taking a feat that requires a class feature you don't get until later, and then not taking enough levels to get that feature means that you have a feat which does nothing.

That's the only way it could work. Otherwise you'd have people taking Barbarian 1/Rogue 1/Inquisitor 1/etc 1 just to grab class features quickly by exploiting the Extra feats.

Liberty's Edge

As a rule discussion, you do not automatically have all class features at level 1. A rogue does not gain the Rogue Talent class feature until level 2, so he does not meet the prereq. This would amount to saving feats until you can use them for something higher. Your class feature list consists of everything at your level and below.

Another example is that a paladin cannot take selective channel at level 1 or 3 be cause he has not yet gained the required class feature. As a prereq dodge, this would also be like a monk taking power attack at level 1 and just not using until 2 when he meets the BAB requirement


No. But why would you want to?

Grand Lodge

Unless you go by Sean's discussion in another thread where he says (while not RaW) you can take a feat you do not meet the prereqs for but it has no effect until you do meet the prereqs. So in this case you could take it, but you couldn't use the rogue talent obtained with it until level 2.


Axl wrote:
No. But why would you want to?

1) Human with too many feats at first level

2) Dipping another class for one level of rogue for most of their class features


Wolf, the rogue talents are inherently weaker than feats. (Except for those talents that actually ARE feats.)


That's a flat out lie.


Cheapy wrote:
That's a flat out lie.

I would say it is a mistake, perhaps a talent that allowed you to reroll a diplomacy check might be in order :)

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Axl wrote:

Wolf, the rogue talents are inherently weaker than feats. (Except for those talents that actually ARE feats.)

True for some (even many) of them, but not universally true. For instance, Wall Climber grants a 20ft climb speed, which means you get a +8 bonus to climb checks, can always take 10, don't lose your DEX bonus to AC while climbing, and can move 20ft per move action instead of 5ft. Compare to Skill Focus(Climb).

Similarly, there's another one ("Strong Stroke" or something like that) which lets you roll twice and take the better one for every Swim check you ever make. Although not a numerical bonus, mathematically this will almost always be better than Skill Focus(Swim).

Additionally, some rogue talents let you do things that there are no feats to emulate. Rogue Crawl, for instance, will let you take a 5' step while prone (among other things). There's another that lets you stand as (IIRC) a free action instead of the normal move action.

So although you're right that there are some stinkers, there are also some real gems in there (even if some of them are pretty situational).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I learn Extra Rogue Talent even if I haven't gotten a Rogue Talent yet. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions