Bonus spells clarification


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Hey guys, something came up in our game today which made me think we've been treating this rule wrong all along.

Can a spellcaster with a high primary stat (WIS, INT, CHR) use the bonus spell slot to fill it with a lower level spell even if she can't cast spells of that level yet? eg - first level cleric has 18 WIS granting a bonus 1st, 2nd and 3rd level spells. Can she just fill the 2nd and 3rd level bonus slots with 1st level spells since she can't cast 2nd or 3rd level spells as yet?

If yes/no can you tell me where the rule governing that is please?

Reebo


The short answer is "No".

"In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level."
- Pathfinder Core, "Abilities and Spellcasters" page 16, top left.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Blueluck wrote:

The short answer is "No".

"In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level."
- Pathfinder Core, "Abilities and Spellcasters" page 16, top left.

Oh I understand that. I just wonder if they can fill their higher level bonus spell slots with lower level spells they can cast. I was just wondering if there was text stating that the higher level bonus slots cannot be accessed until the character is high enough level to actually gain a spell splot of that level.


Just wanted to say that is how I run it. Don't forget, if you are the GM the rules don't really matter if you want to do it.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I've never run it that way, but the question has intrigued me enough to FAQ it.


From what I read, you don't even get the slots unless your level progression is high enough to give you a numerical value of 'Spells per day'.

Yes, an entry of '0' counts (see Paladin or Ranger progression).
AN entry of '-', on the other hand, doesn't.


From the FAQ:

Bonus Spells from a High Ability Score: Can I use these (page 17) even if my spellcasting class level isn't high enough to give me access to those spell levels?

"No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't even use them for lower-level spells. See page 16, Abilities and Spellcasters section: "In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. "

For example, a 1st-level wizard with 18 Intelligence has (according to table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells) 1 bonus spell at spell levels 1, 2, and 3. However, he can only use the 1st-level bonus spell because as a 1st-level wizard he only has access to 1st-level spells (his class-based number of 2nd- and 3rd-level spells per day are "—", meaning "no access to spells of this level"). As soon as he becomes a 3rd-level wizard, he gains access to his 2nd-level spell slots and can use that bonus 2nd-level spell slot from his high Intelligence, and likewise for 3rd-level spells and bonus spells at wizard level 5.

Basically, ignore the columns for higher-level spells on table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells until your class grants you access to those spell levels.

—Sean K Reynolds, 07/21/11"

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Grick wrote:

From the FAQ:

Bonus Spells from a High Ability Score: Can I use these (page 17) even if my spellcasting class level isn't high enough to give me access to those spell levels?

"No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't even use them for lower-level spells. See page 16, Abilities and Spellcasters section: "In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. "

For example, a 1st-level wizard with 18 Intelligence has (according to table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells) 1 bonus spell at spell levels 1, 2, and 3. However, he can only use the 1st-level bonus spell because as a 1st-level wizard he only has access to 1st-level spells (his class-based number of 2nd- and 3rd-level spells per day are "—", meaning "no access to spells of this level"). As soon as he becomes a 3rd-level wizard, he gains access to his 2nd-level spell slots and can use that bonus 2nd-level spell slot from his high Intelligence, and likewise for 3rd-level spells and bonus spells at wizard level 5.

Basically, ignore the columns for higher-level spells on table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells until your class grants you access to those spell levels.

—Sean K Reynolds, 07/21/11"

Thanks Grick!


lol that reminds me of a player i played with once. he was 2nd lev sorc and tryed that, he (tryed to) casted some 4th level. We all laughed, he was sierous. He was a "RAW lawer" he argued and argued... he didn't show for the next session.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bonus spells clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.