Tired of the ridiculessness of rage-lance-pounce, casters let's show them how it's really done!


Advice

251 to 300 of 562 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge

Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:


Since Spell Sunder doesn't say it affects other planes, AM can't sunder my demiplane from the outside. And my demiplane is a solid block of stone, with an AM-shaped cavity he juuust fits in. So he can't move. No actions = dead AM.

Yes, that's a fairly restrictive demiplane, but why else would I make a spare one?

That still wouldn't actually work because there are no rules for using a weapon in an enclosed space. Even if you are completely encased on all sides by material, you can attack.

EDIT: Though he would be considered squeezing.

Yes, but the DC for breaking through the stone (via the wall of stone spell description, which also states that you can enclose creatures in it) is 20 + 2 per inch of thickness. Let's see...add 24 to the DC per foot of thickness, and my demiplane is a 20-foot radius around AM...I think he needs to make a DC 500 Strength check. And that's a check, not a combat maneuver, so a natural 20 doesn't automatically succeed. Still think he's getting out?


He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Also, sending AM to hell is not the best idea. You know he's just going to wreck the place the second someone pees in his cheerios.


DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:


Since Spell Sunder doesn't say it affects other planes, AM can't sunder my demiplane from the outside. And my demiplane is a solid block of stone, with an AM-shaped cavity he juuust fits in. So he can't move. No actions = dead AM.

Yes, that's a fairly restrictive demiplane, but why else would I make a spare one?

That still wouldn't actually work because there are no rules for using a weapon in an enclosed space. Even if you are completely encased on all sides by material, you can attack.

EDIT: Though he would be considered squeezing.

Yes, but the DC for breaking through the stone (via the wall of stone spell description, which also states that you can enclose creatures in it) is 20 + 2 per inch of thickness. Let's see...add 24 to the DC per foot of thickness, and my demiplane is a 20-foot radius around AM...I think he needs to make a DC 500 Strength check. And that's a check, not a combat maneuver, so a natural 20 doesn't automatically succeed. Still think he's getting out?

Yes, because he can still spell sunder with a claw and even with the squeezing penalty he could sunder your plane on a 2.

Scarab Sages RPG Superstar 2013

meabolex wrote:
The problem with disintegrate is the fortitude save. The saving throw versus a barbarian would be a "fail on a 1" type saving throw. And with a whole bunch of options for rerolls, "fail on a 1" is essentially "never fail" in practicality.

If dude is built over 20 levels to pounce with a lance, casters can get 480 points of damage or more to a high enough DC that it's not a DFU roll. Spell Perfection might make it hard to make that save.


meabolex wrote:

OK, so that means we have to get the DC up to 61.

Let's start with sorcerer:

18 base Cha + 6 from headband + 5 from levels + 5 from wishes = 34 Cha = +12 DC

You got Spell Perfection on the disintegrate, so that's 4 from Spell Focus/Greater Spell Focus.

Let's assume you have the arcane school. That gives you a bloodline arcana bonus (+1) and a spell school bonus (+2)

DC 35 = 10 base + 6 spell + 12 Int + 4 SP/(G)SF + 1 BA + 2 SS

So we have to increase the DC by 16 or lower AM's fortitude save by 16 without using a swift action or standard action. Is that possible?

Rage Prophet allows you to add Con to the save DC when raging. Grab the pit-touched eldritch heritage feat for some bonus con, go gnome for a bonus to Con and Cha, you can get a pretty crazy high save DC. Of course you are fighting raging with raging ....


perhaps not hell then. i like the idea of a highly magical plane. how about the plane of battle. it won't permanently kill him but it should keep him permanently occupied.


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
perhaps not hell then. i like the idea of a highly magical plane. how about the plane of battle. it won't permanently kill him but it should keep him permanently occupied.

AM THERE CASTYS ON PLANE OF BATTLE?


AM BARBARIAN wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
perhaps not hell then. i like the idea of a highly magical plane. how about the plane of battle. it won't permanently kill him but it should keep him permanently occupied.
AM THERE CASTYS ON PLANE OF BATTLE?

there are if you want them to be.


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
perhaps not hell then. i like the idea of a highly magical plane. how about the plane of battle. it won't permanently kill him but it should keep him permanently occupied.
AM THERE CASTYS ON PLANE OF BATTLE?
there are if you want them to be.

And sandwhiches. All the sandwhiches you can ask for.

Liberty's Edge

Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...


DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...

I wasn't taking about the rock.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
meabolex wrote:
Stuff about saves

Out of curiousity, I asked myself what is the highest a save can be pushed?

Starting with stat, I can see a 20 base (higher than your assumption, but doable), +5 to it from level, +5 inherent, +6 item, +2 profane (from a succubus!), for about 38 or a +14.

So 10 base +9 for spell level, +14 stat, +2 Spell Focus/GSF, +2 Spell Perfection on the preceeding, +2 appropriate bloodline (say, from fey or infernal on some enchantment spells), +2 for eldritch heritage with arcane bloodline.

So 41 there. Elemental spells could get another +4 from Elemental Focus/GEF/SpellPerfection (I believe), but I dont think are are any bloodlines that add to their DC, so they'd be about 43. A spellslinger can add +5 to selected spells (like disintegrate), but again, I think they lose out on bloodlines AND on elemental based bonuses, so they'd be about 44.

And this includes maximized spell level, possibly via heighten or wish. Hmm.

Anyone got any idea for higher DC's?

EDIT: Gnome Rage Prophet sounds interesting! Thats's what, another +10 if you can afford a 12 Con to start?


DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...

to go somewhere else in the same plane that has no other space large enough to contain him. Won't he take damage and be "shunted to the nearest availabe space that can contain him?"


OK here's a solution for disintegrate (and other save-based damage abilities).

4 symbols of vulnerability inscribed on the caster's robe. Each one with a trigger to go off when a creature approaches within 60 feet of the caster.

The penalty to saving throws is untyped, thus it stacks with itself.

PRD wrote:
Bonus Types: Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties—a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack.

That would reduce the saving throws of AM to a point where only a natural 20 can save him. Even with a natural 20, he could get enough rerolls to somehow roll a 20. . . .

Hmm, AM would have to move into the area as well to trigger the symbol (the casty couldn't force him to trigger the symbols).


Gnome rage prophet can add con to his save dc when raging.

Con 16 +2 gnome +6 item + 4 wish = 28
Cha 16 +2 gnome +6 item + +5 wish +5 leveling up = 34

So 31 starting, spell perfection (heighten) moves it to 40, plus 4 more for spell perfection doubling of greater spell focus, so 44, 46 if you can fit in the arcane sorceror school bonus. If you can make the elemental focus that would be another 4.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
meabolex wrote:

OK here's a solution for disintegrate (and other save-based damage abilities).

4 symbols of vulnerability inscribed on the caster's robe. Each one with a trigger to go off when a creature approaches within 60 feet of the caster.

The penalty to saving throws is untyped, thus it stacks with itself.

PRD wrote:
Bonus Types: Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties—a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack.
That would reduce the saving throws of AM to a point where only a natural 20 can save him. Even with a natural 20, he could get enough rerolls to somehow roll a 20. . . .

The 'type' of penalty in this case should be the type imposed by a Symbol of Vulnerability. In a sane world at least; you could very well be right...

Liberty's Edge

Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...

I wasn't taking about the rock.

How can you sunder an effect you can't reach?

Liberty's Edge

Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...

to go somewhere else in the same plane that has no other space large enough to contain him. Won't he take damage and be "shunted to the nearest availabe space that can contain him?"

...you're not supposed to give it away. :(


Sorcerer 20 Elemental bloodline + Draconic Bloodline.

Doing the same fireball routine I told before, with the same feat, but with ONE change:

Throw the level9 elemental bloodline ability instead of the last regular fireball, right after the quicken irresistible dance.

It will make a reflex DC of;
10base + 12int + 10ability + 10 irresistible dance = DC 42 Reflex. I don't think he can handle this.

Than he gains VULNERABILITY (Which means 50% more damages) on the choosen element.

So start again over;
Round 1: Time stop. Emp(sp) Quicken(rod) Maximized(9th level) Delayed Blast fireball (5rounds)
Round 2: QME Delayed Blast Fireball, ME Delayed Blast Fireball.
Round 3: Repeat
Round 4: Switch another rod of quicken (used three times), ME again.
Round 5: Repeat round 2.
Round 6: Time stop Ends. Quicken Irresistible Dance, Elemental Blast.

Total spell used: 8x 9th level spell + 1 8th level + 1 special ability

Damage for a single Empowered Maximize Delayed Blast Fireball:
20x6+10x3,5+20 => 120+35+20 => 175 (less than before because you loose the intense evocations from wizard schools and also loose the second +1/dice bloodline)
175 x 1,5 (vulnerability) = 262.

8x262 = 2100 + Elemental Blast (20d6 = ~70)

So between 2120 and 2220, for an average of 2170 damages

Note that all reflexes saves will be over DC40 REFLEX

Bring your evasion on, bring anything you want, I don't think AM BARBARIAN, or anyone else in this world, can survive.

I even wonder what hapenned to someone IMMUNE to element assuming Elemental Blast specify that the target gain vulnerability.

Edit: LOL for the symbol of vulnerability. Use it for this one too, you'll get a sure win.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

Caliburn101 wrote:

If AM BARBARIAN was running around a campaign world in which I played a Wizard who wanted to kill him I would expect the worst and have the following contingency setup;

1. Contingency - Teleport straight upwards max range of best long range spells. Trigger - When AM BABARIAN attacks me....
2. Be wearing a Ring of Feather Falling (at the very least....)
3. Fast cast a Maze Spell on him (no save)
4. Park my Sphere of Annihilation on the spot he dissapeared
5. Laugh maniacally when he reappears IN the same spot as the Sphere

Seriously, when playing a caster, or when dealing with a specific threat, there is always a way round it - no point restricting yourself to one method.

How about 1-2 above and then Waves of Exhaustion - no scary raging monster anymore and you can blast away to your hearts content.

1) Contingency cannot sense AM Barbarian. Divination is not part of the spell. Nor can it sense 'an attack.' It is NOT a readied action. It can sense when YOU GET HIT or MISSED.

2) Max range on teleport at L20 is what, 2000 miles? And can you even teleport to an open area of space you cannot see? Teleport is all ground to ground if beyond line of sight. You might mean Dimension Door, but that ends your actions for the round.

3) You cast the Maze spell, it gets spell turned, and you are now Mazed. Congrats. He knows just where to find you when you pop back out.

4) You always get the save to avoid the Sphere, which, being a magic item, he'll basically auto-save.

5) He's 1/day immune to exhaustion. You need at least 2, hence why people are talking about QUickened to get them on him before he reaches them. By round 2, it's too late.

In short, Fail all the way around. DO try again.

==Aelryinth


KrispyXIV wrote:
The 'type' of penalty in this case should be the type imposed by a Symbol of Vulnerability. In a sane world at least, you could very well be right...

Bah, yes, that's true. An untyped, unnamed bonus stacks with everything except itself.


DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...

I wasn't taking about the rock.
How can you sunder an effect you can't reach?

So AM isn't on the alternate plane now?

Liberty's Edge

Aelryinth wrote:
1) Contingency cannot sense AM Barbarian. Divination is not part of the spell. Nor can it sense 'an attack.' It is NOT a readied action. It can sense when YOU GET HIT or MISSED.

Your interpretation of contingency is, I think, flawed, and in disagreement with other posters' interpretation. While I agree that the spell cannot rely on a divination, there's no support for arguing that the caster's own senses cannot substitute for it. By your logic, since contingency cannot sense, it cannot ever go off, because the spell itself has no way of knowing whether anything has happened. That's patently false on the surface.

Aelryinth wrote:

In short, Fail all the way around. DO try again.

==Aelryinth

Most folks on the boards post in a goodhearted spirit, and try to avoid rude and insulting behavior.


meabolex wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
The 'type' of penalty in this case should be the type imposed by a Symbol of Vulnerability. In a sane world at least, you could very well be right...
Bah, yes, that's true. An untyped, unnamed bonus stacks with everything except itself.

Yes but I'd apply a single -4penalty and -10resistances to my fireball routine. That way, it would make reflexes saves between 45 and 50 and even if he get resistance, they will be lowered.

Liberty's Edge

Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...

I wasn't taking about the rock.
How can you sunder an effect you can't reach?
So AM isn't on the alternate plane now?

Of course he is. He's simply encased in 20 feet of normal rock, which keeps him from being able to reach the spell effect of the demiplane. Think of being in the center of a spherical wall of force with a 50-foot radius. If you can't reach the wall, you can't sunder it.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
DeathSpot wrote:
Of course he is. He's simply encased in 20 feet of normal rock, which keeps him from being able to reach the spell effect of the demiplane. Think of being in the center of a spherical wall of force with a 50-foot radius. If you can't reach the wall, you can't sunder it.

The demi-plane doesn't start at the floor/ground though; its the whole darned place. If you're in it, you're swimming in it, encased by it, breathing it, etc. By definition, if someone is on your plane, they can touch and interact with it; they're doing so just by being there.


DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could sunder it if it was made through create demiplane, as it is an ongoing magical effect. If it's made for this purpose, it probably was.

Nah, I already planned for that. The stone he's encased in is from repeated castings of wall of stone. That's not sunderable.

Maybe AM should start carrying a major ring of spell storing, with a greater teleport in it...

I wasn't taking about the rock.
How can you sunder an effect you can't reach?
So AM isn't on the alternate plane now?
Of course he is. He's simply encased in 20 feet of normal rock, which keeps him from being able to reach the spell effect of the demiplane. Think of being in the center of a spherical wall of force with a 50-foot radius. If you can't reach the wall, you can't sunder it.

You're saying that being inside of a plane is not being within the effect of the spell creating the plane, despite the fact that the space you are inside is a part of the plane created by the spell.

Have you considered a career in politics?


See the cat is both alive and dead .....


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Andy Ferguson wrote:
See the cat is both alive and dead .....

STABS BOX LIKE SEVEN TIMES.

BARBARIAN RESPECTFULLY DISAGREE.

Liberty's Edge

Trinam wrote:

You're saying that being inside of a plane is not being within the effect of the spell creating the plane, despite the fact that the space you are inside is a part of the plane created by the spell.

Have you considered a career in politics?

I thought about it, but it doesn't sound like fun. I'd have to wear a tie, and shine my shoes, and stuff like that. Arguing with people on the internet is way better. :)

AM is certainly within the effect area, and if he were up against the edge of the demiplane, I'd have no trouble with him sundering it. But he's encased in plain old normal rock. DC 500 strength check to get out. Then he can try the sunder.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
DeathSpot wrote:
Trinam wrote:

You're saying that being inside of a plane is not being within the effect of the spell creating the plane, despite the fact that the space you are inside is a part of the plane created by the spell.

Have you considered a career in politics?

I thought about it, but it doesn't sound like fun. I'd have to wear a tie, and shine my shoes, and stuff like that. Arguing with people on the internet is way better. :)

AM is certainly within the effect area, and if he were up against the edge of the demiplane, I'd have no trouble with him sundering it. But he's encased in plain old normal rock. DC 500 strength check to get out. Then he can try the sunder.

The spell effect is defined by cubes, solid cubes, not some sort of box or series of boxes. There is no 'box' shaped spell effect; the spell effect is the entire area. If he is within that area, he can influence it.

In this case, he can sunder it by biting down on nothing but the area of the plane itself.


Or clawing. Or if he's squeezing instead of considered swallowed whole, lancing.


KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Of course he is. He's simply encased in 20 feet of normal rock, which keeps him from being able to reach the spell effect of the demiplane. Think of being in the center of a spherical wall of force with a 50-foot radius. If you can't reach the wall, you can't sunder it.
The demi-plane doesn't start at the floor/ground though; its the whole darned place. If you're in it, you're swimming in it, encased by it, breathing it, etc. By definition, if someone is on your plane, they can touch and interact with it; they're doing so just by being there.

So what happens if you are on a plane that gets destroyed?

I am not sure you want to find out... because everything gets destroyed it should be the same affect as hugging Spheres of Annihilation... not healthy...

And btw. why shouldn't you give it the dead magic trait? Make it permanent, have it have dead magic and gate everyone you hate in there... even an Barbarian can't get out of there


Alienfreak wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Of course he is. He's simply encased in 20 feet of normal rock, which keeps him from being able to reach the spell effect of the demiplane. Think of being in the center of a spherical wall of force with a 50-foot radius. If you can't reach the wall, you can't sunder it.
The demi-plane doesn't start at the floor/ground though; its the whole darned place. If you're in it, you're swimming in it, encased by it, breathing it, etc. By definition, if someone is on your plane, they can touch and interact with it; they're doing so just by being there.

So what happens if you are on a plane that gets destroyed?

I am not sure you want to find out... because everything gets destroyed it should be the same affect as hugging Spheres of Annihilation... not healthy...

And btw. why shouldn't you give it the dead magic trait? Make it permanent, have it have dead magic and gate everyone you hate in there...

You get shunted to the nearest plane, and he can't dead magic it because then he couldn't wall of stone in it.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Alienfreak wrote:

So what happens if you are on a plane that gets destroyed?

From the spell description!

"As a standard action, you may eject a creature from your demiplane. The creature may resist with a Will saving throw. An ejected creature goes to the closest plane to your demiplane (usually the Astral Plane or the Ethereal Plane, but if you cast this spell on the Material Plane, the creature is sent to the Material Plane). When the spell ends, the plane dissolves, and all creatures in the plane are ejected in this manner with no saving throw. The plane cannot be dispelled, but a creature on the plane can destroy it by using limited wish, mage's disjunction, miracle, or wish and making a successful dispel check."

Liberty's Edge

KrispyXIV wrote:
In this case, he can sunder it by biting down on nothing but the area of the plane itself.

Huh. I just reread the spell description, and in part:

Create Demiplane wrote:

The plane cannot be dispelled, but a creature on the plane can destroy it by using limited wish, mage’s disjunction, miracle, or wish and making a successful dispel check.

(emphasis mine). So I guess AM isn't going to sunder my plane after all.

EDIT: Heh. Semi-ninja'd.


Trinam wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Of course he is. He's simply encased in 20 feet of normal rock, which keeps him from being able to reach the spell effect of the demiplane. Think of being in the center of a spherical wall of force with a 50-foot radius. If you can't reach the wall, you can't sunder it.
The demi-plane doesn't start at the floor/ground though; its the whole darned place. If you're in it, you're swimming in it, encased by it, breathing it, etc. By definition, if someone is on your plane, they can touch and interact with it; they're doing so just by being there.

So what happens if you are on a plane that gets destroyed?

I am not sure you want to find out... because everything gets destroyed it should be the same affect as hugging Spheres of Annihilation... not healthy...

And btw. why shouldn't you give it the dead magic trait? Make it permanent, have it have dead magic and gate everyone you hate in there...

You get shunted to the nearest plane, and he can't dead magic it because then he couldn't wall of stone in it.

You can still morph it? And as soon as the barbarian is in destroy the portal. Who cares about stone walls anyway as soon as he is in there for eternity. And will starve soon.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
DeathSpot wrote:

So I guess AM isn't going to sunder my plane after all.

EDIT: Heh. Semi-ninja'd.

Absolute worse case, he can supress it for a turn.

Its possibly contentious that Spell Sunder is not an attempt to dispel the spell effect, but an attempt to sunder it, and therefore the spell can be ended by it. But spell sunder also says that the spell effect is 'dispelled' if you roll well enough, which the Demiplane is semi-immune to.


He could only suppress it for 2 rounds.. Same result but you keep the plane.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Trinam wrote:
He could only suppress it for 2 rounds.. Same result but you keep the plane.

One bad thing here on close reading.

"If successful, the barbarian suppresses the effect for 1 round, or 2 rounds if she exceeded the CMD by 5 to 9."

Supress for 1 round is the best you can do with your ridiculous Sunder checks; likely irrelevant, but 2 round suppression actually requires a VERY narrow band of CMB results.

Liberty's Edge

KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:

So I guess AM isn't going to sunder my plane after all.

EDIT: Heh. Semi-ninja'd.

Absolute worse case, he can supress it for 2 turns.

I'd rule (and yeah, YMMV) that if the plane cannot be dispelled, it cannot be spell sundered at all. What if AM accidentally rolled too high on his sunder check? Would he have no effect, where a lower check would suppress the demiplane?

EDIT: Ninja'd again. Stupid job, keeping me from posting faster.


Jason Nelson wrote:


1. You ready action to cast Gate upon AM's charge when he gets to such-and-such range.
2. AM charges.
3. AM reaches such-and-such range.
4. You cast gate on a location right in front of AM.

All peachy so far. The problem is in #5, when AM's turn resumes. You are asserting that he is obligated to continue traveling forward into the gate that just opened up. That's not the case. He actually has several options.

5a. Stop, do nothing, end charge.
5b. Turn, keep flying, end charge.
5c. Make his charge attack (assuming he's moved 10 feet or more) against the gate with Spell Sunder; if the gate is sundered, keep moving in a straight line; if not sundered, stop or turn as 5a or 5b.

As to the question someone raised about "but HOW can a barbarian sunder a gate, there's

RAW on that? Where is stated that you can rechoose your actions after beginning them just because it triggered someones readied action?

And your Full Attack example was a REALLY BAD one. It is even stated that you may choose who to hit with which attack and even abort it after the first hit and thus saving you from taking a full round action.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
DeathSpot wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:

So I guess AM isn't going to sunder my plane after all.

EDIT: Heh. Semi-ninja'd.

Absolute worse case, he can supress it for 2 turns.

I'd rule (and yeah, YMMV) that if the plane cannot be dispelled, it cannot be spell sundered at all. What if AM accidentally rolled too high on his sunder check? Would he have no effect, where a lower check would suppress the demiplane?

EDIT: Ninja'd again. Stupid job, keeping me from posting faster.

Luckily, 1 round suppression is only conditional on suceeding on the check, which should mean regardless of how much you succeed by, you always get it. In theory.


KrispyXIV wrote:
Trinam wrote:
He could only suppress it for 2 rounds.. Same result but you keep the plane.

One bad thing here on close reading.

"If successful, the barbarian suppresses the effect for 1 round, or 2 rounds if she exceeded the CMD by 5 to 9."

Supress for 1 round is the best you can do with your ridiculous Sunder checks; likely irrelevant, but 2 round suppression actually requires a VERY narrow band of CMB results.

Suppressing something is actually only a weaker form of dispelling.

If something is immune to dispel and it is not stated that it will get suppressed by it (like items) you can't suppress it by dispelling. And AMs effect is clearly a dispelling effect.

Shadow Lodge

Alienfreak wrote:


And your Full Attack example was a REALLY BAD one. It is even stated that you may choose who to hit with which attack and even abort it after the first hit and thus saving you from taking a full round action.

Actually, that's a common misconception. You're still using a full-round action, just employing a clause in the full-attack rules to move up to your speed instead of taking the rest of your attacks. It doesn't become a standard and move action, it remains a full-round action.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

DeathSpot wrote:
Aelryinth wrote:
1) Contingency cannot sense AM Barbarian. Divination is not part of the spell. Nor can it sense 'an attack.' It is NOT a readied action. It can sense when YOU GET HIT or MISSED.

Your interpretation of contingency is, I think, flawed, and in disagreement with other posters' interpretation. While I agree that the spell cannot rely on a divination, there's no support for arguing that the caster's own senses cannot substitute for it. By your logic, since contingency cannot sense, it cannot ever go off, because the spell itself has no way of knowing whether anything has happened. That's patently false on the surface.

Aelryinth wrote:

In short, Fail all the way around. DO try again.

==Aelryinth

Most folks on the boards post in a goodhearted spirit, and try to avoid rude and insulting behavior.

The Spell does not say the caster's senses sub for it.

If so, it is the caster reacting to something happening, and he has to command the COntingency to activate.
The spell has a range of personal. It cannot sense anything beyond Personal Range. If it can sense anything else, you have to start putting in ranges and saves and interactions with Mind Blank and all that stuff.

None of it applies.

And I'll note that most of the Melee enthusiasts here seem to agree with my reading of the RAW, and its the mages who are constantly exceeding the limits of what the spell says it can do.
It iS NOT a readied action, and most casters seem to think it is.

==Aelryinth


KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:

So I guess AM isn't going to sunder my plane after all.

EDIT: Heh. Semi-ninja'd.

Absolute worse case, he can supress it for 2 turns.

I'd rule (and yeah, YMMV) that if the plane cannot be dispelled, it cannot be spell sundered at all. What if AM accidentally rolled too high on his sunder check? Would he have no effect, where a lower check would suppress the demiplane?

EDIT: Ninja'd again. Stupid job, keeping me from posting faster.

Luckily, 1 round suppression is only conditional on suceeding on the check, which should mean regardless of how much you succeed by, you always get it. In theory.

You are even misreading the rules:

Quote:
If successful, the barbarian suppresses the effect for 1 round, or 2 rounds if she exceeded the CMD by 5 to 9. If she exceeds the CMD by 10 or more, the effect is dispelled.

MoS: 0-4 1 Round suppression

MoS: 5-9 2 Rounds suppression
MoS 10+ dispelled

You can't choose to suppress it instead of dispelling it. So even if he could suppress it (what he can't, read above) he would need to be lucky to roll low. High rolling won't help.


"Plane closest to my demiplane" would be somewhere unpleasant (or just somewhere to keep him forever occupied) as mentioned previous.

You can't make it a null magic zone unless you A) re-cast the spell from within (which takes 6 hours) and trap yourself also. or B) it has a permanent gate.

Though I suppose in the case of the gate you could just get AM through the gate somehow then destroy the gate. Thus trapping him on a null magic plane. Not sure how spell sunder interacts with what's effectively a giant anti magic zone.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Alienfreak wrote:
And AMs effect is clearly a dispelling effect.

Only if he succeeds by 10 or more is this true.

Otherwise, its supressing the effect, which I'm not aware of anywhere being tied to dispelling, as a weaker version of it or otherwise.

Regardless, its waaaay off topic by this point, and its likely irrelevant and far too much of a corner case to hope for a real ruling on. More damage/DC discussion?

EDIT: Alienfreak, I'm not misreading anything. Your quote even shows, the only thing that 1 round suppression is contingent on is a successful roll. Degree of success is irrelevant. There is no '0-4' range listed or implied in the ability description. Only the 5-9, or 10 or greater. And you're right you can't pick in choose, but this is normally irrelevant, as dispelled is generally better than suppressed... unless the target in question happens to be immune to dispels.


TOZ wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:


And your Full Attack example was a REALLY BAD one. It is even stated that you may choose who to hit with which attack and even abort it after the first hit and thus saving you from taking a full round action.
Actually, that's a common misconception. You're still using a full-round action, just employing a clause in the full-attack rules to move up to your speed instead of taking the rest of your attacks. It doesn't become a standard and move action, it remains a full-round action.

Busted me. But this shows even more that actions you take are TAKEN and can't be reversed. Otherwise this "ultra special ruling" would make no sense at all.

1 to 50 of 562 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Tired of the ridiculessness of rage-lance-pounce, casters let's show them how it's really done! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.