How many AoOs does creature get if I cast a Ranged Spell in a threatened square?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Being a Spellcaster, if I attempt to cast a Ranged Spell i.e. Magic Missle or lets say Ray of Frost in melee range of a creature how many attacks of opportunities do I have to avoid?

1 AoO for casting a spell
1 AoO for the ranged part of the spell

(assuming the creature has Combat Reflexs, multiple AoO per round)

So a total of 2 AoOs for casting a ranged spell in melee range? I ask this question, b/c it seems a little over done and redundant.


I won't speak on Ray of Frost (because that's a subject I haven't closely studied since Pathfinder and I'd rather not risk shoving my foot in my mouth) but I will answer for Magic Missile.

MM isn't a ranged attack, it's a target spell. You designate a target and POOF it happens (unless the target has something that interferes, such as a shield spell.) The difference is the lack of an attack roll.

Therefore Magic Missile ONLY provokes for its casting.


Ah thanks Ryder,

That clears it up for MM. Target spell = 1 AoO.

I'm curious for other ray/ranged spells. So I'll wait for someone to speak on the Ray of Frost type spell in melee. 1 or 2 AoO?

Thanks again!


If the spell requires a ranged touch attack roll, I believe that provokes

no ranged attack roll, no aoo

Thats how we run it anyway


personally i would probably rule for one, but there is probably a decent argument for two. if you stop defending yourself for a few moments to go through the motions of casting the spell (not casting defensively) then you provoke. when you attempt to make your ranged touch, you have to take your attention off the enemy that threatens you once again, thus provoking another AOO.

however the fact that spellcasting and ranged touch attack occur within one standard action is why i would choose to allow only one.

couldnt speak for RAW :)


Well, the ranged attack provokes is a general rule, not specific to the Ray of Frost. Or for spells in general, for that matter.

There's a rule saying you only provoke one AoO per enemy per action, and I'm pretty sure the "Action" in this case is casting the spell, which making an attack is a part of.

So, I'd say 1.


To add onto Cheapy's statement, with that approach if you successfully cast defensively you'd still provoke when you made the ranged attack roll, but you would no longer be in danger of losing the spell (unless you got knocked out by the AoO anyway.)


Casting a spell provokes (unless done via Still or cast defensively), and then making the ranged attack also provokes. While the rules say that you only provoke 1 AoO per action, the fact is you're doing two things here - casting and making a ranged attack -- it's just that the ranged attack is thrown in as a freebee.

Of course, you can't be made to lose the spell on the AoO for the ranged attack unless you're knocked out, since you've finished casting the spell.

Think of it this way: If you decided to hold the charge 'til next round because your friend is in the way, you'd provoke both now and next round when you fire the ray -- this is the same, but in a shorter timeframe.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

A stilled spell still provokes as it requires concentration, just as a spell-like ability does. Still spell's primary benefit is ignoring armour check penalties, or casting whilst grappled or manacled etc. Supernatural abilities don't provoke as they don't require concentration.

We've always played that casting a ranged attack spell provokes twice, and I'm pretty sure someone from Paizo confirmed that, but my memory isn't what it used to be and getting the attack as a free action after casting the spell makes me wonder if it happens so quickly it doesn't provoke...


Tilnar wrote:
If you decided to hold the charge 'til next round because your friend is in the way, you'd provoke both now and next round when you fire the ray -- this is the same, but in a shorter timeframe.

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: "Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn."


So just rehashing to make sure I have this correct.

Let's say I'm a Magus and the creature does not have Combat Reflexes (so just one AoO per round).

I try to cast Ray of Frost.

If I'm successful at casting defensively, I avoid the AoO for the act of casting a spell. Does that mean the creature essentially used his AoO for that round? Or does the creature get to make an AoO for the ranged portion of that spell?

Thanks guys for all of your help!


Casting Defensively doesn't 'use' any AoO's, it avoids provoking in the first place. The only way an AoO is used (barring some weird special ability that I haven't seen that explicitly depletes AoOs) is when the character chooses to use an AoO.


Thanks Ryder!

Paizo Employee Developer

This thread from last year addresses this same question. It seems to conclude that a ranged touch attack spell provokes two attacks of opportunity. One is for the spell (and can be avoided by casting defensively), and the other is for the ranged attack.


Musin wrote:

Being a Spellcaster, if I attempt to cast a Ranged Spell i.e. Magic Missle or lets say Ray of Frost in melee range of a creature how many attacks of opportunities do I have to avoid?

1 AoO for casting a spell
1 AoO for the ranged part of the spell

(assuming the creature has Combat Reflexs, multiple AoO per round)

So a total of 2 AoOs for casting a ranged spell in melee range? I ask this question, b/c it seems a little over done and redundant.

Yes, two attacks. You can avoid one with defensive casting, but not the ranged part (unless you got a special ability that states you can).

Dark Archive

I am with the provoking 2 attacks as well.

On a side note, the magus can take the close range arcana so as to not take AAO's while making a ranged touch in melee.


"Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively. Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn. "

And also

"Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity: If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity modifier to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus."

So casting the spell and making the ranged attack each provoke a separate attack of opportunity, and if you have combat reflexes you can take both. There is no rule which states that you can only provoke one AoO per action (there is one that says you can only make one attack per AoO provoked), so the question of whether casting the spell and firing it are the same action or not is irrelevant.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How many AoOs does creature get if I cast a Ranged Spell in a threatened square? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.