Musin's page

Organized Play Member. 5 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Now, I realize we cannot use scrolls in conjunction with spell combat, since one must have a free hand. Since a scroll requires somatic components (specifically, holding the scroll in your hand). Specifics regarding this issue can be found here: Spellstrike and Scroll

However, would I be able to use the cantrip: prestidigitation to help hold my scroll so my non-weapon wielding weapon hand is free?

In short, would the use of prestigitation allow me to use a scroll with spell combat feature, since I now have a free hand to use spell combat?

Prestidigitation
Casting time: 1 standard action
Duration: 1 Hour
Description: Prestidigitations are minor tricks that novice spellcasters use for practice. Once cast, a prestidigitation spell enables you to perform simple magical effects for 1 hour. The effects are minor and have severe limitations. A prestidigitation can slowly lift 1 pound of material. It can color, clean, or soil items in a 1-foot cube each round. It can chill, warm, or flavor 1 pound of nonliving material.


Thanks Ryder!


So just rehashing to make sure I have this correct.

Let's say I'm a Magus and the creature does not have Combat Reflexes (so just one AoO per round).

I try to cast Ray of Frost.

If I'm successful at casting defensively, I avoid the AoO for the act of casting a spell. Does that mean the creature essentially used his AoO for that round? Or does the creature get to make an AoO for the ranged portion of that spell?

Thanks guys for all of your help!


Ah thanks Ryder,

That clears it up for MM. Target spell = 1 AoO.

I'm curious for other ray/ranged spells. So I'll wait for someone to speak on the Ray of Frost type spell in melee. 1 or 2 AoO?

Thanks again!


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Being a Spellcaster, if I attempt to cast a Ranged Spell i.e. Magic Missle or lets say Ray of Frost in melee range of a creature how many attacks of opportunities do I have to avoid?

1 AoO for casting a spell
1 AoO for the ranged part of the spell

(assuming the creature has Combat Reflexs, multiple AoO per round)

So a total of 2 AoOs for casting a ranged spell in melee range? I ask this question, b/c it seems a little over done and redundant.