Doubt about Invisibility


Beginner Box


Hi all,

Just received the box and wow, it's awesome! I just started reading and have my first doubt: I read on Gamemaster Guide (at the cover) that when invisible, "To attack you, a creature must pinpoint what square you are in by feeling or making a Perception check". This wording makes me think that you can ONLY attack a creature if you pinpoint its exact location, but in the Hero's Handbook, page 60, says that a creature can "attack the square it thinks you are in". In D&D 3.x, I followed that rule: if you are unable to pinpoint your enemy's exact location, then you pick up one square, and if the enemy is there, it still benefits from total concealment (50% chance). Is Pathfinder different?

Thanks!

Contributor

If you pinpoint an invisible target, you know what square it's in, and can attack that square, with the invis creature getting total concealment.

If you don't pinpoint the target's square, you don't know what square it's in, but you can still pick a square where you think it may be, and attack there. If the invis target IS there, it gets total concealment (just like you had pinpointed its square). If the invis target ISN'T there, the attack misses (there's nothing to hit). If the GM is smart, he'll roll d% whether or not the invis creature is there, so that the player doesn't know if he missed because (1) of the miss chance, or (2) because there's nothing actually there.


Thank you Sean!

Contributor

You're welcome. :)


Can spells that target foes be used on invisible targets that have been pin-pointed?, lets say a caster with the scent ability, starts his turn 5ft away from an invisible creature (Auto pin-point), takes a 5ft step away (To avoid AoO), and casts, say Hold Person on the pin pointed creature.

What happens with the save? does miss chance still come into it at all?


ProxyProxy wrote:

Can spells that target foes be used on invisible targets that have been pin-pointed?, lets say a caster with the scent ability, starts his turn 5ft away from an invisible creature (Auto pin-point), takes a 5ft step away (To avoid AoO), and casts, say Hold Person on the pin pointed creature.

What happens with the save? does miss chance still come into it at all?

I am not sure those things exist in the BB.

I would recommend making a post in the correct forum.


I think there’s a problem with using the word “pinpoint” to refer to a area.

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Pinpoint" is the term is used in the Pathfinder RPG.

In real life, you can pinpoint a person's location to a particular street, building, or room, so I don't have a problem with the game saying you "pinpoint" someone's location to a particular 5-foot-square, considering that most creatures on a 5-square-foot gridded map take up 1 square and you never need to be more precise than that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Paizo Products / Beginner Box / Doubt about Invisibility All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Beginner Box