Overhand Chop w / weapons


Rules Questions

Verdant Wheel Manager - Bell's Comic and Trading cards

I just want a little clarification, I already sifted through the back log of info on the Overhand chop class ability of the Two-handed fighter.

My question is: Does overhand chop only work with Melee weapons in the Two Handed weapon category?

I believe it only applies to that category of weapons, and not to when ever you wield a weapon in two hands.

Thanks for time

sorry to bring up another question about this ability.

~Kastle


Quote:
Overhand Chop (Ex): At 3rd level, when a two-handed fighter makes a single attack (with the attack action or a charge) with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls. This ability replaces armor training 1.

By RAW, it only applied when using a two-handed weapon. It doesn't matter how many hands you are wielding your weapon with, Overhand Chop doesn't apply unless it is classified as a two-handed weapon.

I think RAI is probably more along the the lines of "When wielding a weapon in two hands..."

Dark Archive

Mauril wrote:
Quote:
Overhand Chop (Ex): At 3rd level, when a two-handed fighter makes a single attack (with the attack action or a charge) with a two-handed weapon, he adds double his Strength bonus on damage rolls. This ability replaces armor training 1.

By RAW, it only applied when using a two-handed weapon. It doesn't matter how many hands you are wielding your weapon with, Overhand Chop doesn't apply unless it is classified as a two-handed weapon.

I think RAI is probably more along the the lines of "When wielding a weapon in two hands..."

Mauril, I am not sure I agree with you on this. This is an ability of the Two-Handed Fighter... who, for example, can only use his Weapon Training on two-handed melee weapons. As such, I believe the intent was definitely to limit only to two-handed melee weapons, not opening it to any weapon wielded with two hands.


If I have a player who wants to take this archetype and then specialize in two-handing a longsword (or battleaxe), I'd let him. He's taking an inferior option for his chosen weapon, that is, if he wanted to two-hand consistently, he should have just picked up a two-handed weapon, as the versatility of a one-handed weapon is lost by using both hands and the additional damage is only sort of mitigated (at lower levels where the actual weapon makes a difference).

Maybe my RAI should really be RAIWAT (Rules As I Would Apply Them).


More to the point, what happens if I have a Titan Mauler Barb/Two-Handed Fighter. Titan Maulers can wield two-handers in one hand as per Jotungrip, so do they still get the benefit of Overhand Chop when making a single attack? And what happens if I'm dual wielding Great Swords, can I use Overhand Chop with both swords on a charge?


Luke O'Brien wrote:
Titan Maulers can wield two-handers in one hand as per Jotungrip, so do they still get the benefit of Overhand Chop when making a single attack?

The Jotungripped weapon is treated as one-handed when determining the effect of Power Attack, Strength bonus to damage, and the like. I would include Overhand Chop in that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Overhand Chop w / weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions