| Grick |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
So, let's say a cleric drops one of his Bless spells to spontaneously use Cure Light Wounds on a teammate.
If activating his Pearl of Power, recalling that very spell slot, does he re-memorize the spell he memorized in the first place (the Bless), or the spell he actually cast (the CLW)?
Technically, I'd say neither.
"Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day."
You prepared Bless, but did not cast it. You get nothing!
However, in an actual game, I would give him back the Bless spell, which he could then convert again to CLW if he wanted to.
| Mauril |
Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast.
A good cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that she did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name).
You did not prepare Cure Light Wounds. You prepared Bless. You then expended the spell slot containing Bless and, due to a class feature, turned the power of Bless into a healing effect. When you restore that spell slot, it will regain the spell prepared into it, which was Bless.
EDIT: Actually, by RAW, Grick is probably right. I think RAI is that you get Bless back though.