Strife2002
|
| 7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
If a sorcerer with the earth elemental bloodline were to scribe a scroll of his 3rd level bonus spell, a special version of scorching ray, would it produce the special version of it? That is, would a spell read from that scroll produce a ray attack of earthen fury (instead of fiery)? Since the spell is still called "scorching ray" would a wizard be able to learn that spell from said scroll?
I'm guessing that the scroll would still produce the same effect, but a wizard wouldn't be able to learn it (even though it bears the same name).
I suppose a clever GM could name each individual spell from the various elemental bloodlines something different as a means of distinguishing them for this purpose (ie: scorching ray becomes tempest ray, earthen ray, and spraying ray)
| wraithstrike |
If a sorcerer with the earth elemental bloodline were to scribe a scroll of his 3rd level bonus spell, a special version of scorching ray, would it produce the special version of it? That is, would a spell read from that scroll produce a ray attack of earthen fury (instead of fiery)? Since the spell is still called "scorching ray" would a wizard be able to learn that spell from said scroll?
I'm guessing that the scroll would still produce the same effect, but a wizard wouldn't be able to learn it (even though it bears the same name).
I suppose a clever GM could name each individual spell from the various elemental bloodlines something different as a means of distinguishing them for this purpose (ie: scorching ray becomes tempest ray, earthen ray, and spraying ray)
I think for a wizard it would work like the normal version, since the only reason it changes for the sorcerer is his bloodline. I will also add that this is probably one of those things the devs did not think of, and is more in GM territory than a rule, but if you want an official ruling pressing the FAQ button would be the way to go. There is no way to determine how long it will be before an answer is given though.
| Bascaria |
If a sorcerer with the earth elemental bloodline were to scribe a scroll of his 3rd level bonus spell, a special version of scorching ray, would it produce the special version of it? That is, would a spell read from that scroll produce a ray attack of earthen fury (instead of fiery)? Since the spell is still called "scorching ray" would a wizard be able to learn that spell from said scroll?
I'm guessing that the scroll would still produce the same effect, but a wizard wouldn't be able to learn it (even though it bears the same name).
I suppose a clever GM could name each individual spell from the various elemental bloodlines something different as a means of distinguishing them for this purpose (ie: scorching ray becomes tempest ray, earthen ray, and spraying ray)
My guess would be that it is just a normal scroll of scorching ray (or burning hands at level 1). I would use Spell Focus, and Augment Summons as the precedent for this (and the various other subsequent _________ Summons feats), which is to say an effect modifying existing spells without metamagic not modifying those spells when they come from a spell-completion or spell-trigger item created by a caster with those feats. So, if you make a scroll of Scorching Ray* it turns out to just be a scroll of Scorching Ray.
* which deals acid damage and has the [acid] descriptor.
On the other hand, since the descriptor is being changed, you could argue that Scorching Ray* is in fact a distinct spell. If cast from a scroll it would deal acid damage and have the [acid] descriptor. However, Scorching Ray* is on no class's spell list, except for the appropriate elemental sorceror, and so anyone trying to cast it from a scroll would need to make an appropriate UMD check and no wizard could scribe it into their book without researching the spell themselves.
| Quandary |
I don´t see it as a Class Ability modifying when Burning Hands is cast, and changing it.
You can still learn Burning Hands normally and cast it normally.
It´s just a Bonus Spell Known, i.e. you know this spell that works like Burning Hands but different.
I would treat it as a unique spell researched by the Sorceror.
As such, it´s still a Sorceror/Wizard spell, that a Wizard could hypothetically cast.
Burning Hands (altered) has all the properties of Burning Hands except as modified.
The Class Spell Lists it is on is a property of Burning Hands.
Whether or not you treat the mundane existence of the spell as known by X Bloodline Sorcerors as a reason to state that the ´modified´ version should be mundanely available (via scroll, etc) to any Caster is your GM call, I guess. I guess that question would be nice to be officially known from Paizo re: Golarion (and PFS).
LazarX
|
If a sorcerer with the earth elemental bloodline were to scribe a scroll of his 3rd level bonus spell, a special version of scorching ray, would it produce the special version of it? That is, would a spell read from that scroll produce a ray attack of earthen fury (instead of fiery)? Since the spell is still called "scorching ray" would a wizard be able to learn that spell from said scroll?
I'm guessing that the scroll would still produce the same effect, but a wizard wouldn't be able to learn it (even though it bears the same name).
I suppose a clever GM could name each individual spell from the various elemental bloodlines something different as a means of distinguishing them for this purpose (ie: scorching ray becomes tempest ray, earthen ray, and spraying ray)
No. the sorcerer can't put his special casting techniques into a scroll.
IF this sorcerer made a scroll of scorching ray, it would act as a normal spell cast of scorching ray regardless who used it, whether a wizard, or the example sorcerer himself.
It's one of the reasons that sorcerers generally don't take this feat. It does squat for them.
Strife2002
|
No. the sorcerer can't put his special casting techniques into a scroll.IF this sorcerer made a scroll of scorching ray, it would act as a normal spell cast of scorching ray regardless who used it, whether a wizard, or the example sorcerer himself.
It's one of the reasons that sorcerers generally don't take this feat. It does squat for them.
You seem pretty sure, and I'm willing to believe you, but would you mind citing some supporting rules text for this claim?
| Midnight_Angel |
Hmm... I'd merrily let him scribe (using Air as example) a scroll of Electrified Burning Hands, as well as a scroll of Electrified Fireball (the difference being that the former is a bonus spell he cannot cast without resorting to lightning, the latter, being a non-bloodline spell, can be cast both ways).
Basically, I treat these scrolls as being written forms of the base spells, metamagicked by the Energy Substitution feat (yeah, I know it's officially not there in PF)
Casting from such a scroll yields the meta'ed spell.
Learning from such a scroll nets you with the normal, non-meta spell.
LazarX
|
LazarX wrote:You seem pretty sure, and I'm willing to believe you, but would you mind citing some supporting rules text for this claim?
No. the sorcerer can't put his special casting techniques into a scroll.IF this sorcerer made a scroll of scorching ray, it would act as a normal spell cast of scorching ray regardless who used it, whether a wizard, or the example sorcerer himself.
It's one of the reasons that sorcerers generally don't take this feat. It does squat for them.
I can't prove the negative. but if you check the rules for scribing scrolls, you won't see any support for putting in class casting features. It's your problem, YOU do the work of research. :)
| Ughbash |
Here is a way to look at it.
Can the sorceror use one of his NON FREE slots to learn a regualr burning hands?
If yes then the Acid hands is just a spell and a wizard could learn it, and another sorceror who saw him cast it cold learn it, and it would work normally on a scroll.
If no, then it is a modification of the spell by his bloodline power, and a regualr wizard could not learn the spell, and a scroll he wrote would work like a regular burning hands in anyone elses hands.
Looking at their ability their arcana lets them change the spell to match when they cast. To me it is nto a differnt spell but just something they alter on the fly in a manner SIMILAr to meta magic. So I would say No.