Eagle talon clarification


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Hi,

I've got a CL3 hawk (eagle) companion for a druid.

CORE RAW says that the Eagle/Roc/Hawk Animal Companion has 2 talon attack of 1d4 (rolling 2 d4's). Yet, when you look at Bestiary's "Table 3–1: Natural Attacks by Size", it shows 1d3 for a small creature using talons.

So is one of them incorrect, or am I missing something? Thanks!


druid companions are different from beastiary creatures. IMO just go with whatever is listed in the druid companion section.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Slipstream wrote:


CORE RAW says that the Eagle/Roc/Hawk Animal Companion has 2 talon attack of 1d4 (rolling 2 d4's). Yet, when you look at Bestiary's "Table 3–1: Natural Attacks by Size", it shows 1d3 for a small creature using talons.

So is one of them incorrect, or am I missing something? Thanks!

You'll notice the after base damage by size on table 3-1 there is an asterisk. Which states below the table, *Individual creatures vary from this value as appropriate. This would be a case where it varies.

Its fairly common for creatures to deviate from the table to adjust the creatures average damage per CR.


Slipstream wrote:
Eagle/Roc/Hawk Animal Companion has 2 talon attack of 1d4 (rolling 2 d4's).

This was written a little strangely, so you may already know this, but the eagle has two talon attacks, each attack is a talon that deals 1d4 damage. So the only time you will roll two d4's is when the eagle full attacks and hits with both of them. (Don't forget the bite, also)

Silver Crusade

Grick wrote:
Slipstream wrote:
Eagle/Roc/Hawk Animal Companion has 2 talon attack of 1d4 (rolling 2 d4's).

This was written a little strangely, so you may already know this, but the eagle has two talon attacks, each attack is a talon that deals 1d4 damage. So the only time you will roll two d4's is when the eagle full attacks and hits with both of them. (Don't forget the bite, also)

Yep. I knew this already. The bird can only attack with all three attacks if it can perform a full round action.

And thanks for the clarification guys.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eagle talon clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions