Clarification question.


Rules Questions


Assuming SKR or someone in the office ahs time,

the divine bound for the emperyal knight.

does it just make the change to the mount or does it force the arctype to take the mount??


Everybody would love an answer from SKR, JJ or JB.
Empyreal Knight

"Divine Bond (Su)

At 5th level, an empyreal knight forms a bond with a mount, as the standard paladin ability. Her mount gains the celestial template at 8th level. At 12th level, her mount sprouts wings if it cannot already fly, and gains a fly speed of twice its land speed and good maneuverability. If the mount could already fly, its fly speed and maneuverability improve to at least this level.

This ability otherwise functions as the paladin ability of the same name."

Looks like the Archetype is forced to take the Mount over the Weapon, as it replaces the Paladin "Divine Bond" and does not mention a weapon.


if that is the case, I have to ask for them to errata a copy of this into the eratta that allows for the weapon for those of us that dont go for mounted combat..

Silver Crusade

Sorry for the necro, but I was wondering about this as well. In my opinion, it seems you can still get the weapon version. If you look at it, it modifies the ability, not replaces it. It says at the top "forms a bond with a mount, as the standard paladin ability". This means it has the same conditions as it normally would, including the choice condition. Paired with "this ability otherwise functions as the paladin ability of the same name" makes it sound like it's only changing the portion that it's specifically addressing (the mount) and everything else (the weapon) is untouched.

Although this is a little word twisty, it's still technically RAW but I think it fits better with what I perceive the RAI to be.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.