Item Creation Quick Question


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

OK, I just want to make sure I got this correct...if the creator of a magic item doesn't meet the requirments he can still attempt to craft the item with a +5 to the DC?

For example a Wizard/Sorcerer could craft an item that had a prereq of insert spell here and Must be a 10th lvl Cleric.

So if he knew the spell no issue, but he's not a the cleric so add 5 to the DC? Does it increase at all if his lvl is less than 10?

If he doesn't meet either of those prereq all he does is add +10 to the craft DC?

Thanks in advance for the help!


If I'm not mistaken, the "Must be a Cleric of 10th level" type of requirements are, indeed, requirements, and cannot be bypassed by increasing the DC.


Based on the number of different potential interpretations to the Magic Item Creation section of the rules, the answer is indeterminate, and relies entirely on the particular interpretation that each GM decides to use.

There is at least one interpretation that says that the DC is increased for not knowing the spell, not being a cleric, and not being 10th level; there is at least one interpretation that says that the fact that the creator is not 10th level means that the item cannot be created; there is at least one interpretation that says that the creator cannot make the item on his own at all since he fails to meet the prerequisites and could make the item at a higher DC with the aid of a 10th level cleric who did know the spell; there is at least one interpretation that says that the creator would *not* need to use an increased DC for getting help from a 10th level Cleric who knows the spell. There are probably other combinations of interpretations that I haven't covered, but I think you see my point. :P

This issue has been a topic for debate since the Core Rules were in Beta, as I recall, and no explicit clarifications have ever been provided that I know of.

Liberty's Edge

So then what it sounds like is in the end its up to GM/DM interpretation?

What about if the spell in question is not even accesible for the creator of said item. For example lets say its a Oracle who is the crafter...the spell required is not and will never be on his spell list. All this does is increase the DC +5?

Personaly I would see that as a no go, however if the spell could be learned by the individual but the character in question just doesn't have it in his spell book or selected spells known then sure it's just a +5 DC, but for a spell they could never learn...well I just don't see that happening unless they have someone else there to cast the spell.

It would be great to get some creators of this fine game feed back on this one.


The caster Level listed at the top of the item description is not a requirement, it just sets the base DC to build the item (CL+5). As per Pearl of Power FAQ it is only a requirement if it is listed in the bottom section - requirements. eg for the Pearl:
"Construction Requirements: Craft Wondrous Item, creator must be able to cast spells of the spell level to be recalled; Cost 500 gp (1st), 2,000 gp (2nd)..."
But is not part of "Portable Hole (Aura strong conjuration; CL 12th) ... Construction Requirements:Craft Wondrous Item, plane shift; Cost 10,000 gp"

So the DC to build a Portable Hole is 17 or 22 if you cannot cast "Plane Shift"

Grand Lodge

Personally I think the DC should be raised by 5 for each prequisite you can not meet.


I don't understand the idea that these rules are unclear.

p. 549 of Core Rulebook

"Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator(although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feed, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create spell trigger and spell completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites."

Thus, if you don't have the spell, you take a +5 to the DC. If you are of the wrong class, take another +5 for a total of +10 to the DC, etc.

Of course, if you are creating a wand, staff, rod, or some other spell trigger/completion item, then you must have access to the spell to create it. If you don't have the spell, go to the city and pay a caster to provide the spell for you (see p. 163 or the Core Rulebook).


Yeah, item creation isn't as unclear as Doskious claimed, and for the most part the things that are have been clarified by the developers on these forums.

In most cases an item's caster level is not a prerequisite. As has been stated, it simply sets the base DC of the skill check. David Thomassen is correct regarding the exception to this, however: if a specific caster level is listed in an items requirements section, it must be met.

Magic item crafters must have the specified item creation feat. Similarly, the caster-level limitations on magical weapons and armor cannot be bypassed.

In general, all other crafting prerequisites can be bypassed. Each requirement that is not met imposes a +5 increase to the DC of the skill check to make the item. There are exceptions to this as well, though; potions, scrolls, staves, wands, or any other spell-trigger or spell-completion magic items cannot be created without meeting their prerequisites.


Does the DC + 5 mean you no longer need the spell, or does it mean you must find a secondary entity to cast it.


You would no longer need the spell.


Heaven's Agent wrote:

Yeah, item creation isn't as unclear as Doskious claimed, and for the most part the things that are have been clarified by the developers on these forums.

In most cases an item's caster level is not a prerequisite. As has been stated, it simply sets the base DC of the skill check. David Thomassen is correct regarding the exception to this, however: if a specific caster level is listed in an items requirements section, it must be met.

Magic item crafters must have the specified item creation feat. Similarly, the caster-level limitations on magical weapons and armor cannot be bypassed.

In general, all other crafting prerequisites can be bypassed. Each requirement that is not met imposes a +5 increase to the DC of the skill check to make the item. There are exceptions to this as well, though; potions, scrolls, staves, wands, or any other spell-trigger or spell-completion magic items cannot be created without meeting their prerequisites.

I happily admit to being somewhat pessimistic about the clarity of the Magic Item Creation rules. I would dearly love to be pointed to developer clarifications, or better yet, FAQ entries. I've seen far too many threads on this topic for it to be considered anything but "Frequently Asked"...

Don't get me wrong, I personally agree with the interpretation you've advanced. Nevertheless, I recognize that other discordant interpretations are just as logically valid. Therefore, while I have an opinion about the interpretation that I like to use, it's not the only one that's valid. Since the OP is not playing in one of my games, answering with information based on my interpretation seems of little use; contrariwise, as far as I'm aware, the RAW answer to the original question is indeterminate.

(Again, I would be positively thrilled to see links to developer clarifications and/or FAQ entries.)


Different items have different requirement, including some that cannot be bypassed with the +5 to DC.

For example, from the FAQ:

Quote:

Update: Page 549, in the Magic Item Creation rules, in the second paragraph, change the last sentence to read as follows.

In addition, you cannot create potions, scrolls, staves, wands, or any other spell-trigger or spell-completion magic item without meeting its prerequisites.


UltimaGabe wrote:
If I'm not mistaken, the "Must be a Cleric of 10th level" type of requirements are, indeed, requirements, and cannot be bypassed by increasing the DC.
PRD wrote:
The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create spell-trigger and spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.

Those are the exceptions listed in the PRD. Oddly enough, it's exactly what the book says as well. Since, at my gaming table we don't have internet connections, if Piazo isn't going to even bother updating the PRD with their rulings and corrections, we go with published sources.

Piazo did specify that, as Enevhar Aldarion quoted, "you cannot create potions, scrolls, staves, wands, or any other spell-trigger or spell-completion magic item without meeting its prerequisites."

As it stands then, the only things you don't have to have a spell ready to cast to make are weapons, armor, rods, rings and Wonderous Items, assuming that they aren't spell-trigger or spell-completion items.

Liberty's Edge

OK, what exactly is a spell completion item? Is an item that requires you 'cast' a spell to create it? Or an item that has the use of said spell?


Azoun The Sage wrote:

OK, what exactly is a spell completion item? Is an item that requires you 'cast' a spell to create it? Or an item that has the use of said spell?

Azoun The Sage wrote:

OK, what exactly is a spell completion item? Is an item that requires you 'cast' a spell to create it? Or an item that has the use of said spell?

To quote from the PRD, "Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that's left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can't already cast the spell, there's a chance he'll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action (or the spell's casting time, whichever is longer) and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does." I.E. A scroll

A spell trigger item would be, "Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity." I.E. a Wand

So a wand or a staff would be a spell trigger item. They have a specific function that is activated with a command word and they are charged. A scroll would be a spell completion item. A potion I would classify as a spell trigger for creation purposes. I added the emphasis because it seems that those are the only types of items that are listed as spell completion or trigger items within the rules (that I could find). The fact that they are all charged (potions have a single charge) is one thing they all have in common.

As for your original question:

By RAW any requirement listed for the creation of a specific item (other than the item creation feat) can be ignored by adding 5 to the creation DC.

"Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create spell-trigger and spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites."

One interesting thing I did note while reading the rules was: "The DC to create a magic item is 5 + the caster level for the item."

I hadn't noticed this previously. This adds a great way to ensure that wizards with an insane spellcraft for their level do actually have a chance of failure when creating magical items.

To use your example, a wizard wants to create an item with a CL10 that requires a specific spell on the cleric list and also requires the creator to be a 10th level cleric.

His check would be:

+10 for the base item
+5 creation DC per RAW
+5 for not being a cleric
+5 for not possessing the correct spell

The total DC would be 25. If he were able to secure the services of an outside cleric to cast the spell for him he would be able to reduce that check to 20.

Of course, all of this assumes that the crafter is attempting to create a Wonderous Item and not an enchantment on weapons or armor. Those are a whole new can of worms.

Of course Rule Zero applies here. Rule it however you feel it needs to be done.

EDIT: My spelling stinks today

Liberty's Edge

So the base DC is 5 + caster lvl for the item. So if the item said caster lvl 5 the auto DC is a 10 without adding in the additional +5's for the other prereq's not met?

Just want to make sure i'm understanding this all. :D


That is correct

Liberty's Edge

Awesome thanks for the help.


Just to make sure this is covered, the CL in creating items stands for "caster level" and not cleric.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Item Creation Quick Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions