Question about disarming while unarmed


Rules Questions


Simple question if you have improved disarm but you do not have improved unarmed strike and you attempt to grab a weapon out of someones hand do you provoke an attack of opportunity.

It states if you are unarmed you suffer a -4 penalty to your CMB, which would imply that you can do it without the AOO because if you have improved unarmed strike you are not considered unarmed.

I have a player that want to know this. Thank you.


Grifter wrote:

Simple question if you have improved disarm but you do not have improved unarmed strike and you attempt to grab a weapon out of someones hand do you provoke an attack of opportunity.

It states if you are unarmed you suffer a -4 penalty to your CMB, which would imply that you can do it without the AOO because if you have improved unarmed strike you are not considered unarmed.

I have a player that want to know this. Thank you.

No. Improved Disarm states that in the first line. In this case your doing a combat maneuver and not stiking unarmed to do damage. You do not generate AoO's when disarming opponents. Doing it bare handed is just less effective than doing it with a weapon.

Grand Lodge

Yes you will provoke, not because you're making a disarm, but because you're attacking unarmed, and you don't have improved unarmed strike.


Combat - Disarm

Disarm:
You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands). If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by 10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both hands (maximum two items if the target has more than two hands). If your attack fails by 10 or more, you drop the weapon that you were using to attempt the disarm. If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.


Improved Disarm Feat
Improved Disarm:
You are skilled at knocking weapons from a foe's grasp.

Prerequisite: Int 13, Combat Expertise.

Benefit: You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing a disarm combat maneuver. In addition, you receive a +2 bonus on checks made to disarm a foe. You also receive a +2 bonus to your Combat Maneuver Defense whenever an opponent tries to disarm you.

Normal: You provoke an attack of opportunity when performing a disarm combat maneuver.

Its the lack of "Improved Disarm Feat" that causes the AOO, not the lack of weapon. So you are golden and do not provoke the attack when performing a Disarm with out a weapon or Improved Unarmed Strike, but with Improved Disarm Feat.


I believe you can drop said wepon as a swift action. (I'm away from my books, so don't quote me on that.)

Which is important for whatever that one monk ki-pool bonus this is actually called.


LazarX wrote:
Yes you will provoke, not because you're making a disarm, but because you're attacking unarmed, and you don't have improved unarmed strike.

This is not correct. Disarm is a Combat Maneuver. It has nothing to do with IUS.


Grifter wrote:

Simple question if you have improved disarm but you do not have improved unarmed strike and you attempt to grab a weapon out of someones hand do you provoke an attack of opportunity.

It states if you are unarmed you suffer a -4 penalty to your CMB, which would imply that you can do it without the AOO because if you have improved unarmed strike you are not considered unarmed.

I have a player that want to know this. Thank you.

No, you will not provoke an attack of opportunity. A Combat Maneuver attempt is not the same as an Attack.

Performing a combat maneuver without the proper feats (see: Improved Disarm) will always provoke an Attack of Opportunity - regardless of the weapon you choose to make the maneuver or if you are Unarmed.

With regard to Disarm: the -4 penalty is unique to disarm and applies to being Unarmed. However, if you have Improved Unarmed Strike you are considered "armed" even when others would be Unarmed.

Combat maneuvers have their own rules such as these that work in conjunction with the basics and it is not limited to disarm. You take a -4 to a grapple attempt if you don't have two hands available to grab.

Making an Attack while Unarmed will provoke an Attack of Opportunity, this can also be negated with Improved Unarmed Strike.

The Exchange

Quote:


No, you will not provoke an attack of opportunity. A Combat Maneuver attempt is not the same as an Attack.

A combat maneuver is a kind of attack. However you don't provoke because the first line of improved disarm specifically says you do not provoke while making an attack to disarm.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about disarming while unarmed All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions