Is a Huge Weapon available with Fame?


Pathfinder Society

The Exchange 5/5

The Titan Mauler archetype for the Barbarian caught my eye, while I was looking through Ultimate Combat. The third level ability Massive Weapons got me thinking.

I know all weapons from small to large from approved sources are always available for purchase. With enough fame could someone buy a huge weapon?


Vinyc Kettlebek wrote:

The Titan Mauler archetype for the Barbarian caught my eye, while I was looking through Ultimate Combat. The third level ability Massive Weapons got me thinking.

I know all weapons from small to large from approved sources are always available for purchase. With enough fame could someone buy a huge weapon?

I'm curious as to why you would need a huge weapon for titan mauler?

Sovereign Court

Is there are large sized weapon that is legal for purchase? IIRC only small and medium weapons can be bought.

The Exchange 5/5 RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32

Mok wrote:
Is there are large sized weapon that is legal for purchase? IIRC only small and medium weapons can be bought.

In the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play under Always Available Items. First Bullet Point lists all basic armor, gear and weapons from chapter 6 of Core Rules including small and large-sized items as available. The large items likely aimed at gearing animal companions/mounts/eidolons or weapon options for enlarged characters. Since Ranged Weapons don’t benefit from Enlarge Person.

The third level ability for Titan Mauler Massive Weapons eventually removes the penalty for using an inappropriately sized weapon. At 6th level you could use a large weapon at a 0 penalty to attack, and a huge weapon at a -2 penalty. The penalty for a huge weapon would be -1 at lvl 9 and 0 at lvl 12. The -2/-1 penalty should be worth it since the base damage for the weapon is bumped by 2 steps.

The rules already describe buying large weapons as always available. I was just trying to confirm that you would need the appropriate fame gp cap total to buy the huge weapon.


Drizzt1080 wrote:
Mok wrote:
Is there are large sized weapon that is legal for purchase? IIRC only small and medium weapons can be bought.

In the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play under Always Available Items. First Bullet Point lists all basic armor, gear and weapons from chapter 6 of Core Rules including small and large-sized items as available. The large items likely aimed at gearing animal companions/mounts/eidolons or weapon options for enlarged characters. Since Ranged Weapons don’t benefit from Enlarge Person.

The third level ability for Titan Mauler Massive Weapons eventually removes the penalty for using an inappropriately sized weapon. At 6th level you could use a large weapon at a 0 penalty to attack, and a huge weapon at a -2 penalty. The penalty for a huge weapon would be -1 at lvl 9 and 0 at lvl 12. The -2/-1 penalty should be worth it since the base damage for the weapon is bumped by 2 steps.

The rules already describe buying large weapons as always available. I was just trying to confirm that you would need the appropriate fame gp cap total to buy the huge weapon.

No, I do not believe you can buy huge weapons. You also can't even buy large versions of anything off certs unless it specifically says "large", so you will be need to be extra sure you're getting max fame rewards.

Just want to make sure you understand that titan maulers cannot use huge weapons unless it is a weapon classified as a light weapon. The largest thing (and most optimal thing) they can wield is a large bastard sword or large dwarven waraxe. Adjusting weapon size still adjusts how many hands it requires to use, and one size bump on any higher-die weapons usually pushes it to two-handed for most characters.

The Exchange 5/5

Robb Smith wrote:

No, I do not believe you can buy huge weapons. You also can't even buy large versions of anything off certs unless it specifically says "large", so you will be need to be extra sure you're getting max fame rewards.

Just want to make sure you understand that titan maulers cannot use huge weapons unless it is a weapon classified as a light weapon. The largest thing (and most optimal thing) they can wield is a large bastard sword or large dwarven waraxe. Adjusting weapon size still adjusts how many hands it requires to use, and one size bump on any higher-die weapons usually pushes it to two-handed for most characters.

Yup your right, the largest weapon a medium sized creature could wield is a large one handed. I wasn’t thinking of the handedness of the weapon for each size bump. I misinterpreted how jotungrip was explained to me, but after reading the ability it does not. Not to mention I had huge stuck in my head while looking at enlarge person and the size of the weapons available to use.

You are incorrect however about the large items not being available for purchase. In the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, under the Always Available section in Buying Gear. First bullet point lists all basic armor, gear, items, and weapons from chapter 6 of core rulebook, including small and large-sized items.

The Exchange 5/5 RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

As a Pathfinder Society GM, I've seen a half-dozen summoners with Large eidolons weilding weapons. If those weapons aren't available for general purchase, should I be disallowing them?

The Exchange 5/5

Chris Mortika wrote:
As a Pathfinder Society GM, I've seen a half-dozen summoners with Large eidolons weilding weapons. If those weapons aren't available for general purchase, should I be disallowing them?

Large Weapons are buyable according to Society rules

The Exchange 5/5 RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

What about weapons for a summoner's Huge eidolon?


Chris Mortika wrote:
What about weapons for a summoner's Huge eidolon?

It seems patently silly (and an artifact of living campaigns) that a mundane huge weapon would not be purchasable.

You can commission the crafting of magic weapons whose value is in the thousands, but not a mundane weapon that's value is perhaps a 100gp??

The core rules include large weapons, but I don't think the intent was to restrict but rather didn't think it necessary to include others.

-James

Dark Archive 4/5

Chris Mortika wrote:
What about weapons for a summoner's Huge eidolon?

How is an Eidelon getting huge when the requirement for both the evolution and the spell evolution surge require the summoner to be 13th level?

The Exchange 5/5 RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Todd Morgan wrote:
How is an Eidelon getting huge when the requirement for both the evolution and the spell evolution surge require the summoner to be 13th level?

Good question, Todd.

Aside from some future feat or race or trait or archetype providing a loophole ... by being at least 13th level.

If I want to play a Pathfinder module for PFS credit, I should make a legal PFS character of a level apropriate to the module. "Tomb of the Iron Medusa" (14th level) and "Academy of Secrets" (13th level) would both allow a Huge eidolon. So, by PFS rules, can the summoner provide a sword for his eidolon?

Grand Lodge 2/5

Chris Mortika wrote:
If I want to play a Pathfinder module for PFS credit, I should make a legal PFS character of a level apropriate to the module. "Tomb of the Iron Medusa" (14th level) and "Academy of Secrets" (13th level) would both allow a Huge eidolon. So, by PFS rules, can the summoner provide a sword for his eidolon?

Huge creatures will not fit inside the Tomb nor the Academy. Problem solved :)

Dark Archive 4/5

Mark Garringer wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:
If I want to play a Pathfinder module for PFS credit, I should make a legal PFS character of a level apropriate to the module. "Tomb of the Iron Medusa" (14th level) and "Academy of Secrets" (13th level) would both allow a Huge eidolon. So, by PFS rules, can the summoner provide a sword for his eidolon?
Huge creatures will not fit inside the Tomb nor the Academy. Problem solved :)

So does that mean that Kyle Baird's Ego cannot play these two modules?

Grand Lodge 5/5 *

Chris Mortika wrote:
Todd Morgan wrote:
How is an Eidelon getting huge when the requirement for both the evolution and the spell evolution surge require the summoner to be 13th level?

Good question, Todd.

Aside from some future feat or race or trait or archetype providing a loophole ... by being at least 13th level.

If I want to play a Pathfinder module for PFS credit, I should make a legal PFS character of a level apropriate to the module. "Tomb of the Iron Medusa" (14th level) and "Academy of Secrets" (13th level) would both allow a Huge eidolon. So, by PFS rules, can the summoner provide a sword for his eidolon?

The rules for purchasing equipment when playing a module for PFS credit are not the same as the rules in the Guide To Organised Play. For Academy of Secrets, for example, the purchasing rules are as follows;

'A player may also create a new 13th-level Pathfinder
Society character for use in the module. A PC created
in this manner has wealth equivalent to 140,000 gp, but
no single item may cost more than 70,000 gp. Newly
created 13th-level characters have no Prestige.'

And that's that. So Huge weapons, whatever, you can buy the lot.


I have to agree with James. I dont see a reason why a mundane weapon could not be made. Logically it just doesnt make sense. Other thought is technically from reading the last sentence in the section "Spoils of War and Buying Equipment" it seems you should be able to upgrade sizes on weapons...

Also once you get prestige points wouldnt you be able to do this anyway?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Drizzt1080 wrote:
The third level ability for Titan Mauler Massive Weapons eventually removes the penalty for using an inappropriately sized weapon.
Yes, and be careful to distinguish "inappropriate" from illegal-sized weapons. I.e., a large bastardsword is inappropriate sized; a large greatsword cannot be used by a normal-sized creature at all -- Titan Mauler does not contradict the core rules in this regard.
Quote:
At 6th level you could use a large weapon at a 0 penalty to attack, and a huge weapon at a -2 penalty.

This is incorrect: Titan Mauler nowhere permits the use of huge weapons (unless we're talking huge light-weapons used as two-handed weapons at penalty -- like a huge kukri, which a normal character can use two-handed and a Titan Mauler can use one-handed).

Titan Mauler, despite the "flavor text" of its various bits and pieces, nowhere comes out and flatly states that you are now able to wield a weapon bigger than the "two-handed" category for your size. It may seem retarded that it'll let you now use a large bastardsword in one hand, but not go out of its way to state a more obvious "Yes, you can now use a large greatsword in two hands!" -- but that's the way it is until the (inevitable) errata.

Titan Mauler discussion in progress elsewhere.

The Exchange 2/5

Chris Mortika wrote:
Todd Morgan wrote:
How is an Eidelon getting huge when the requirement for both the evolution and the spell evolution surge require the summoner to be 13th level?

Good question, Todd.

Aside from some future feat or race or trait or archetype providing a loophole ... by being at least 13th level.

If I want to play a Pathfinder module for PFS credit, I should make a legal PFS character of a level apropriate to the module. "Tomb of the Iron Medusa" (14th level) and "Academy of Secrets" (13th level) would both allow a Huge eidolon. So, by PFS rules, can the summoner provide a sword for his eidolon?

You can also cast enlarge person on a large sized eidolon to make it huge, since you can cast any spell castable on yourself on your eidolon, regardless of whether it would normally affect a creature of its type or not.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
teribithia9 wrote:


You can also cast enlarge person on a large sized eidolon to make it huge, since you can cast any spell castable on yourself on your eidolon, regardless of whether it would normally affect a creature of its type or not.

I would have agreed with that until it was FAQ otherwise. Only works with spells that have a Target of "You" and Enlarge Person does not.

FAQ

FAQ wrote:

Summoner: Can a synthesist (page 80) use spells on himself that don't affect outsiders, such as enlarge person?

No. The archetype says he counts as his type and as an outsider, whichever is worse, which means that the outsider type prevents the enlarge person from working because that spell only works on humanoids. Note that even the share spells class ability doesn't allow this to work because that ability only works on spells with "Target: you," and enlarge person is "Target: one humanoid creature" and thus does not qualify. (Example "Target: you" spells are blink, disguise self, and expeditious retreat.)

The Exchange 2/5

Dragnmoon wrote:
teribithia9 wrote:


You can also cast enlarge person on a large sized eidolon to make it huge, since you can cast any spell castable on yourself on your eidolon, regardless of whether it would normally affect a creature of its type or not.

I would have agreed with that until it was FAQ otherwise. Only works with spells that have a Target of "You" and Enlarge Person does not.

FAQ

FAQ wrote:

Summoner: Can a synthesist (page 80) use spells on himself that don't affect outsiders, such as enlarge person?

No. The archetype says he counts as his type and as an outsider, whichever is worse, which means that the outsider type prevents the enlarge person from working because that spell only works on humanoids. Note that even the share spells class ability doesn't allow this to work because that ability only works on spells with "Target: you," and enlarge person is "Target: one humanoid creature" and thus does not qualify. (Example "Target: you" spells are blink, disguise self, and expeditious retreat.)

Huh. I hadn't seen that. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.


Dragnmoon wrote:


I would have agreed with that until it was FAQ otherwise. Only works with spells that have a Target of "You" and Enlarge Person does not.

You are misunderstanding the FAQ as it relates only to merged variant summoners.

For normal summoners you have:

Quote:


The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself. A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon’s type (outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the summoner spell list.

While the first sentence does not apply to Enlarge Person.. the second sentence DOES.

-James

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
james maissen wrote:
Dragnmoon wrote:


I would have agreed with that until it was FAQ otherwise. Only works with spells that have a Target of "You" and Enlarge Person does not.

You are misunderstanding the FAQ as it relates only to merged variant summoners.

For normal summoners you have:

Quote:


The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself. A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon’s type (outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the summoner spell list.

While the first sentence does not apply to Enlarge Person.. the second sentence DOES.

-James

Tell SKR that not me, He clearly states that Enlarge Person would not even Normally not work with Share Spells even normally Which is the rule we are talking about.

Liberty's Edge 4/5

Dragnmoon wrote:
james maissen wrote:
Dragnmoon wrote:


I would have agreed with that until it was FAQ otherwise. Only works with spells that have a Target of "You" and Enlarge Person does not.

You are misunderstanding the FAQ as it relates only to merged variant summoners.

For normal summoners you have:

Quote:


The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself. A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon’s type (outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the summoner spell list.

While the first sentence does not apply to Enlarge Person.. the second sentence DOES.

-James

Tell SKR that not me, He clearly states that Enlarge Person would not even Normally not work with Share Spells even normally Which is the rule we are talking about.

Huh?

James is not posting about Enlarge Person working through Share SPells, it won't, which is what James said.

James pointed out that each of the three sentences is, more or less, standalone.

1) A Summoner can cast a spell on his eiodolon that has a target of You, just like a Druid could cast a spell of the same type on their animal companion.

2) A Summoner can affect his eidolon with a spell that normally won't work on its type (outsider).

3) In either case, it has to be a spell that is on the SUmmoner spell list, not something that the Summoner used UMD to cast off a scroll or some such.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Callarek wrote:


1) A Summoner can cast a spell on his eiodolon that has a target of You, just like a Druid could cast a spell of the same type on their animal companion.

2) A Summoner can affect his eidolon with a spell that normally won't work on its type (outsider).

3) In either case, it has to be a spell that is on the SUmmoner spell list, not something that the Summoner used UMD to cast off a scroll or some such.

Which all fall under Shared Spell Which SKR says does not work.

Edit: I am not saying SKR is Right, I am saying that SKR is saying Shared Spells does not allow you to use Enlarge Person, and all those are part of Shared Spells. He does not say this line of shared spells does not work he says Shared Spells does not let it work. Convince him he is wrong, not me.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

Todd Morgan wrote:
Mark Garringer wrote:
Huge creatures will not fit inside the Tomb nor the Academy. Problem solved :)
So does that mean that Kyle Baird's Ego cannot play these two modules?

Ouch Todd, that hurts!

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Dragnmoon wrote:
Callarek wrote:


1) A Summoner can cast a spell on his eiodolon that has a target of You, just like a Druid could cast a spell of the same type on their animal companion.

2) A Summoner can affect his eidolon with a spell that normally won't work on its type (outsider).

3) In either case, it has to be a spell that is on the SUmmoner spell list, not something that the Summoner used UMD to cast off a scroll or some such.

Which all fall under Shared Spell Which SKR says does not work.

Edit: I am not saying SKR is Right, I am saying that SKR is saying Shared Spells does not allow you to use Enlarge Person, and all those are part of Shared Spells. He does not say this line of shared spells does not work he says Shared Spells does not let it work. Convince him he is wrong, not me.

SKR is already re looking at that FAQ, so there may be changes.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Is a Huge Weapon available with Fame? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society
Red Mantis Archetype