
![]() |
RAC (Ranger 4, UMD).
If the mount, bonded animal, (improved) familiar is an outsider, casting a raise dead will not function.
Considering the intent of the spell, and the cost, I'd like to see that it functions as a limited wish solely for returning these creatures from death.
I think this is the intent of the spell. And I believe the interpretation reasonable for the cost. Could people FAQ this please for the purpose of getting a clarification?

Allia Thren |

It costs 1/5 of a raise dead with the same functionality, but is limited in who it works on.
That's the primary intent of the spell, to give a cheaper way of ressurecting an animal companion etc.
As for outsiders, don't they reform on their homeplane after being killed on the material plane? Well I guess I could see how this spell could be interpreted as calling them back again, but thats not how it works by RAW, and would need houseruling.