
| Ulu | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            I'm sure this is written down somewhere so feel free to answer with a link. How does spell storing work with spells that do not have single targets (like cones or radii)? Is the center of the radius/source of the cone the enemy who was hit? What about ray attacks? Must you then make a ranged touch attack for the spell to hit? This came up in conversation with my group and I mentioned if you hit with a spell storing weapon I would probably let a ray attack go off as if you had made a successful touch attack. I just rolled up random loot and the big cheese for one encounter is a Flaming Burst Spell Storing Light Crossbow +1, which my party's Witch will LOVE, but now I want to make sure I get the rules right, even though I've already bent the rules by allowing a spell storing ranged weapon (I've expanded the list of special abilities for ranged weapons).

| David Thomassen | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            Strong evocation (plus aura of stored spell); CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level; Price +1 bonus.
So not Fireballs as it effects an area. "Range long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level) / Area 20-ft.-radius spread / Duration instantaneous"
Magic Missile good "Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level) / Targets up to five creatures, no two of which can be more than 15 ft. apart / Duration instantaneous"

|  Happler | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            From the way that I read it, the spell storing weapon will not normaly take area spells.
From the description for the ability:
Spell Storing: A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.
Strong evocation (plus aura of stored spell); CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level; Price +1 bonus.
It states "targeted spell of up to 3rd level" and not "any spell of up to third level". I know that this is not 100% clear, but makes the most sense to me. A fireball, for example, is a third level spell, but does not have a "target", instead it has an area.
YMMV, but that is at least my reading of it.

| DreamAtelier | 
As the above two posters pointed out, Area of Effect spells can't be put into a spell storing weapon.
As far as a spell that can have multiple targets and spell storing:
I've always seen it run that you MUST target the creature you struck with at least one of your choices. Everything else is calculated from there.
So, for instance, using spell storing and Magic Missile: One of your missiles has to target the creature you just struck with the sword. The rest of your missiles can target whoever you like, as long as they're within the appropriate range.

| Ulu | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            Thanks all for the replies about area of effect spells. Makes sense, I just failed at reading. I'm still wondering about ray attacks. Can I cast ray of frost into my Spell Storing weapon and if so must I roll again to hit? My gut says yes/no, but I have nothing to back that up.
Also DreamAtelier's example of multiple targets is interesting. Unless someone disagrees with that interpretation I think I will adopt those rules, although I feel like the target of the spell being the target of the attack explains how the spell becomes a free action.

| David Thomassen | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            "Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires."
So I would go with always hits and all effects on that one target (So no spreading of additional Magic misiles to otherwith within the 15' range)

| Jeff1964 | 
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            Strict interpretation, it says you cast the spell on the creature hit with the spell-storing weapon, so if the spell itself says roll to hit, you would need to roll. My interpretation, since you already hit once, you shouldn't be required to hit again with the spell. As far as spells with multiple targets, again the spell-storing weapon casts the spell on the creature hit with the weapon, so I would say the creature hit would be the only viable target. No specific rule to back that up, but a potion of haste, for example, hastes only the drinker, not the drinker and all his allies.

| Lifer4700 | 
From the way that I read it, the spell storing weapon will not normaly take area spells.
From the description for the ability:
Quote:Spell Storing: A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.
Strong evocation (plus aura of stored spell); CL 12th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, creator must be a caster of at least 12th level; Price +1 bonus.
It states "targeted spell of up to 3rd level" and not "any spell of up to third level". I know that this is not 100% clear, but makes the most sense to me. A fireball, for example, is a third level spell, but does not have a "target", instead it has an area.
YMMV, but that is at least my reading of it.
I agree with your reading, that is what is stated.
However, I have been having a hard time with this one. Not because of the rule, I understand it, but in its execution.
Has anyone produced a list of these "targeted" spells? It seems quite tedious to read through each and every spell description to find out if it's a "targeted" spell or not.
Here's a house rule and I've worked with, allowing any 3rd level or lower spell, even Fireball or Ray of Enfeeblement and especially all touch attack spells, for example. However, any area or range effects would be lost, effecting only the creature struck.

|  Vixeryz | 
I was gonna ask about whether a spell storing would be okay to put on a Long bow- I dont see it listed under "Ranged Weapon Special Abilities" (table 15-10 in the core book) and it doesnt say anything about it under the "Spell Storing" description. I want to use this for PFS Organized Play... So I can do things like making melee touch into ranged touch. hehe

| Cevah | 
 
	
 
                
                
              
            
            Has anyone produced a list of these "targeted" spells? It seems quite tedious to read through each and every spell description to find out if it's a "targeted" spell or not.
I used a downloaded spreadsheet of the spells. I counted 700+ (of 1600+ listed) spells, that were level 0-3, and that had something listed as a target. Many such spells have targets that are not to viable, like "potion touched".
/cevah
 
	
 
     
     
     
	
 