Burning Spell and Elemental Body


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If I were to cast a burning spell elemental body IV to turn into a fire elemental, would my slam attacks deal an addition 14 fire damage? After all, the damage is from the spell (I wouldn't be able to make flaming slam attacks without it).


Burning Spell cannot be used with Elemental Body as the feat states it needs to have the Acid or Fire Descriptors while the spell in question has the Polymorph Spell Descriptor.

Dark Archive

This question prompted me to discover another change between 3.X and PF. Summoning an air, earth, fire or water creature no longer makes the summon monster or summon nature's ally spell count as a spell with that descriptor.

If Burning Spell were applied to the 3.X version of summon monster, in theory**, the extra damage would apply to the Burn damage inflicted by a summoned fire elemental, as summoning a fire elemental made the 3.X version of summon spells into a [fire] spell.

**I could see arguments against that, since the fire damage is coming from the creature summoned by the spell, and not specifically from the spell itself, but, as I said, in theory.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Dolanar wrote:
Burning Spell cannot be used with Elemental Body as the feat states it needs to have the Acid or Fire Descriptors while the spell in question has the Polymorph Spell Descriptor.

Burning Spell (Metamagic):

You cause creatures to take extra damage when you affect them with a spell that has the acid or fire descriptor.

Benefit: The acid or fire effects of the affected spell adhere to the creature, causing more damage the next round. When a creature takes acid or fire damage from the affected spell, that creature takes damage equal to 2× the spell's actual level at the start of its next turn. The damage is acid or fire, as determined by the spell's descriptor. If a burning spell has both the fire and acid descriptor, the caster chooses what kind of damage is dealt by the burning spell effect. A burning spell uses up a slot two levels higher than the spell's actual level.

Oh? Mind pointing it out? I don't see where it says the spell HAS TO HAVE the acid or fire descriptor.


Summon Nature's Ally wrote:
When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type.


The Very first line of your Quote

"You cause creatures to take extra damage when you affect them with a spell that has the acid or fire descriptor."

this is where it says the spell must have the Acid or Fire Descriptor

Sizik: I am unsure if Polymorph spells act the same as Summoning spells in that nature, though I could be wrong,

Dark Archive

Sizik wrote:
Summon Nature's Ally wrote:
When you use a summoning spell to summon a creature with an alignment or elemental subtype, it is a spell of that type.

Hot patooties, I looked at the 3.5 book, which listed out 'air, chaos, blah, blah' and then the summon monster one just said 'alignment' and my eyes glossed right over the 'or elemental' after it!

Thanks for pointing that out!


However is the same rule held for Polymorph spells? If this is the case, the feat would be a go, however I cannot find anything in any of the Polymorph information that indicates the spell changes descriptors when changed into an Elemental, if you have a source please share it with us.


Quote:
You cause creatures to take extra damage when you affect them with a spell that has the acid or fire descriptor.

I'd say that when you cast elemental body you affect yourself with the spell and not those who you slam whith your shapeshifted appendage so in this case no, no Burning Spell damage bonus.


That is another reason, but I thought the Fire descriptor would be enough of a reason that the combo would not work.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That's what I get for not reading anything before the Effects line (which is usually just ignorable flavor text anyways).

I figured you'd point out that the bonus damage was determined by the descriptor, which in itself is not a requirement for a descriptor.

Oh well. I've lost this one it seems.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Burning Spell and Elemental Body All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions